RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:02 pm 






Reply to topic  [ 87 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 7:56 pm
Posts: 6300
Location: Las Cruces, NM
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Bugfix Build 74
PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:29 am 
aliasmask wrote:
That seems to be a problem in b70 as well. If I have a light source on one token, then light sources from other locations do not show up. Setting one of the tokens with normal vision and no light source then the other light source is shown correctly.

This is working correctly in b74. Two tokens with smallish light sources some distance apart can see the tokens within the radius of those light sources assuming all are within the max distance for the map and any distance settings applied to the tokens vision.

aliasmask wrote:
Also, the preferences for new map vision distance doesn't seem to do anything anymore. Before, if a npc token was beyond that distance, it would not be seen with vision turned off (I think, it may have been a daylight limit despite set token vision). Now it is shown.

I believe the intent was that with Map Vision set to Off then the max vision limit didn't apply. If set to Day or Night then the max limit does apply. This is how it is working in b74.

My understanding of the Vision Distance map setting is that it has two purposes. First to limit how much a token can see and so limit the CPU load on vision calcs. The second is to provide an in-game effect of limited range of vision due to terrain (heavy brush) or weather (rain, fog).

_________________
Call me, Hex Boy.

Visit http://www.darkisle.com for photos of castles, cairns, standing stones, and other ancient sites in the British Isles.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 5410
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Bugfix Build 74
PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 2:08 pm 
Zandel wrote:
Hrmm that's how it was default, I haven't changed it, doesn't the x2 mean its double the 22.5 for 45? And shouldn't they be able to see because of each others light sources?


Yep. And as mentioned before, the defaulted vision distance was the bug(it should default based on the distance entered on the "new map" window(or what you set manually in the Sight settings)) that was fixed a few builds ago. If you started with a fresh campaign file in b74, you will see it works correctly. Also, as GM, make use of the vision lines on hover over a token, thats what they are there for!!! I can't tell you how many times during my coding I thought I had something right only the check the vision lines and found out I broke something... :roll:

_________________
I save all my Campaign Files to DropBox. Not only can I access a campaign file from pretty much any OS that will run Maptool(Win,OSX, linux), but each file is versioned, so if something goes crazy wild, I can always roll back to a previous version of the same file.

Get your Dropbox 2GB via my referral link, and as a bonus, I get an extra 250 MB of space. Even if you don't don't use my link, I still enthusiastically recommend Dropbox..


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 5410
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Bugfix Build 74
PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 2:14 pm 
Azhrei wrote:
jfrazierjr wrote:
From what I recall, the only thing that needs to be "fixed" when you build a local copy is the build.number file right? I assume nothing is uploaded anywhere correct?

Yes, that's correct. If I do any commits to SVN it will pick up the build.number change and add that to SVN but that's not a huge deal. I also typically turn off the autobuild in Eclipse and clean the project so that there is not a version.txt in the bin/ directory in my maptool project hierarchy.


Yea, I typically have to exclude the build.number when doing patches as well as a few other files depending on how many balls I have in the air at that time.


Azhrei wrote:
Quote:
So, how about you do the build, make it available in a limited membership forum for the testers to check out for a few days and if it's good, move to the correct places for the zip and jnlp files. If problems that have to be fixed come up, just svn revert the build.number file, apply patches and redo.

Is that something that is possible with your current build process?

Sounds fine to me. The Java Developers group on the forum is an optional group that users can add themselves to; I could put the files in the General > Developer Notes > Java Programming Info forum where those people who are in the Java Developer group would see it. Does that work for you?

Would you want to see a ZIP file identical to the current build setup or just the maptool/rplib/parser JAR files? If we go with full files I would likely turn on attachment pruning for that forum so that old attachments that are 18MB+ are eventually deleted...

Otherwise, I could create a new group and make you the group administrator. Group membership would be "by request" and you would need to approve those requests, then that group could have access to a separate subforum under General > Developer Notes (or somewhere else that you think is appropriate).


Personally, I would rather have a new location set up and give membership explicitly so we know just who exactly is doing the testing. Would you just upload to a specific location link or could you create a directory with directory list access based on the forum usernames?

I would rather see the full thing. Full Maptool zip file. I know thats big, but they can be prunned once the release is final.

_________________
I save all my Campaign Files to DropBox. Not only can I access a campaign file from pretty much any OS that will run Maptool(Win,OSX, linux), but each file is versioned, so if something goes crazy wild, I can always roll back to a previous version of the same file.

Get your Dropbox 2GB via my referral link, and as a bonus, I get an extra 250 MB of space. Even if you don't don't use my link, I still enthusiastically recommend Dropbox..


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 5410
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Bugfix Build 74
PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 2:26 pm 
Phergus wrote:
aliasmask wrote:
That seems to be a problem in b70 as well. If I have a light source on one token, then light sources from other locations do not show up. Setting one of the tokens with normal vision and no light source then the other light source is shown correctly.

This is working correctly in b74. Two tokens with smallish light sources some distance apart can see the tokens within the radius of those light sources assuming all are within the max distance for the map and any distance settings applied to the tokens vision.


Exactly.

Phergus wrote:
My understanding of the Vision Distance map setting is that it has two purposes. First to limit how much a token can see and so limit the CPU load on vision calcs. The second is to provide an in-game effect of limited range of vision due to terrain (heavy brush) or weather (rain, fog).


yep.. The original intent of having a max distance on the map was for performance when zoomed way out to "try" to limit calcs. I added in the per vision settings (which inherited from the map IF not explicitly set) to help simulate in game effects, namely blindness, etc.

_________________
I save all my Campaign Files to DropBox. Not only can I access a campaign file from pretty much any OS that will run Maptool(Win,OSX, linux), but each file is versioned, so if something goes crazy wild, I can always roll back to a previous version of the same file.

Get your Dropbox 2GB via my referral link, and as a bonus, I get an extra 250 MB of space. Even if you don't don't use my link, I still enthusiastically recommend Dropbox..


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 5410
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Bugfix Build 74
PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 5:22 pm 
Azhrei wrote:
jfrazierjr wrote:
From what I recall, the only thing that needs to be "fixed" when you build a local copy is the build.number file right? I assume nothing is uploaded anywhere correct?

Yes, that's correct. If I do any commits to SVN it will pick up the build.number change and add that to SVN but that's not a huge deal. I also typically turn off the autobuild in Eclipse and clean the project so that there is not a version.txt in the bin/ directory in my maptool project hierarchy.


Ok.. so from what I can tell, ANT has a series of commands for using SVN. Perhaps add a new target that does the default build process and then reverts the build.number file. Then updated the generated maptool jar for testing. When testing is completed, just run the standard build target for the 'release' version.

_________________
I save all my Campaign Files to DropBox. Not only can I access a campaign file from pretty much any OS that will run Maptool(Win,OSX, linux), but each file is versioned, so if something goes crazy wild, I can always roll back to a previous version of the same file.

Get your Dropbox 2GB via my referral link, and as a bonus, I get an extra 250 MB of space. Even if you don't don't use my link, I still enthusiastically recommend Dropbox..


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 5410
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Bugfix Build 74
PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 5:31 pm 
Azhrei wrote:
It might be something to do with dynamic modification of the Abeille form too.

I don't have the problem at all on OSX which makes it seem like something that might be JVM-related, possibly some race condition which is less likely to occur on OSX.

If someone wants to try adding a repaint() and see if that fixes it on Windows, go for it. If it works, we can add that fix to SVN.


Hmmm... that is so weird... I went looking for this bug and was not able to reproduce it(well, it shows the vision for a quarter second, but then gets right). I also had b74 downloaded, and was not able to reproduce it with that version either....

EDIT: this was Ubuntu linux in case that makes a difference. My Windows install is wonky and I have not had time to fix it yet.

_________________
I save all my Campaign Files to DropBox. Not only can I access a campaign file from pretty much any OS that will run Maptool(Win,OSX, linux), but each file is versioned, so if something goes crazy wild, I can always roll back to a previous version of the same file.

Get your Dropbox 2GB via my referral link, and as a bonus, I get an extra 250 MB of space. Even if you don't don't use my link, I still enthusiastically recommend Dropbox..


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 7:56 pm
Posts: 6300
Location: Las Cruces, NM
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Bugfix Build 74
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 7:40 am 
Az - It's time to just disable the Test Connection functionality.

Or just pop up a dialog that tells the user how to use canyouseeme.org.

_________________
Call me, Hex Boy.

Visit http://www.darkisle.com for photos of castles, cairns, standing stones, and other ancient sites in the British Isles.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Site Admin
 
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:20 pm
Posts: 12102
Location: Tampa, FL
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Bugfix Build 74
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 3:45 pm 
Good point. Consider it done.

I just tested the server-side code on my web site and the hosting service there is also blocking outbound connections so it looks like no other good options... :|


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
RPTools Team
 
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:05 pm
Posts: 5538
Location: Buffalo, NY
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Bugfix Build 74
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:41 am 
Which is a shame because the test connection button is a great way of testing, when it works.. :(

_________________
How to use my bundled artwork (MT1.3B60+): http://forums.rptools.net/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=11759


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Site Admin
 
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:20 pm
Posts: 12102
Location: Tampa, FL
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Bugfix Build 74
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:59 am 
People will now be directed to the NFAQ thread in the HowTo subforum. I've edited the first paragraph to say, "If you've been directed here by MapTool..." with an explanation of how to use the NFAQ. And the NFAQ already has a section on using CanYouSeeMe.org for testing.

In the future I plan to put a database on the RPTools web site that can be queried by MT. The response will be a list of URLs for site that MT can use to test. Each URL will have an accompanying piece of code (maybe just a regular expression?) that knows how to check for success/failure. MT will put this list up in a dialog box and ask the user which one to try. The use will select one and the test will be performed. If it fails, they can always try a different one (test server might be down, for instance).

But this is a distraction from other development efforts so I haven't given it high priority. It might be good to add before we call 1.3 done though. If anyone wants to work on such a tool, PM me and I'll give you some implementation ideas.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 4:33 pm
Posts: 8
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Bugfix Build 74
PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:13 am 
Quote:
In the future I plan to put a database on the RPTools web site that can be queried by MT


Bumping this thread up please. Any update if that has been rolled out?


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 8:27 am
Posts: 1169
Location: Bristol, UK
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Bugfix Build 74
PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 9:02 am 
You seem to be responding to very old threads. Did you miss the first one in this forum? Maptool Build 1.4.0


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 87 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman