RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:09 pm 






Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:51 am
Posts: 166
Location: Stouffville, Ontario, Canada
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 80 (1.3-RC3)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:33 am 
LaserWolf wrote:
...but I have experienced an issue with b80 in which players report that all tokens will disappear from a map until they click on the map to force a refresh.

I have seen this too... on more than one machine. Though we are still using build 76. Agreed it is a "phantom bug", as I have no idea how to reproduce it. It just happens once and a while on map loads. Zooming resolves it.

On a side note: Awesome awesome tool. It has changed our game night for the better. Thank you.

--==EDIT==--
Oops, LaserWolf is on top of things. Good stuff.
LaserWolf wrote:
Scratch that, I was able to reproduce the issue! It looks like a player has to have a token selected for the problem to show up....


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 7:56 pm
Posts: 6300
Location: Las Cruces, NM
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 80 (1.3-RC3)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:50 am 
LaserWolf wrote:
[1]Start a server with all options enabled and have a client connect as a player
[2]On the player/client end, select one of the PC tokens (except "Rhyd'ley", which is not owned by All Players)

So you have a server running with Strict Token Ownership, Individual Views and Individual Fog but then you have the tokens set to be owned by all (except one). Not that there might not be a bug related to this usage but what's the point of enabling the server options just to counter them by setting the tokens to owned by all?

_________________
Call me, Hex Boy.

Visit http://www.darkisle.com for photos of castles, cairns, standing stones, and other ancient sites in the British Isles.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:39 pm
Posts: 196
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 80 (1.3-RC3)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:54 pm 
Ahzrei,
How are things looking for B81? I foolishly updated my campaign to B79 and did a load of work in B79 for my upcoming game this weekend. So I am praying that the issue is resolved before the weekend :)

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 7:53 pm
Posts: 178
Location: Wgtn, New Zealand
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 80 (1.3-RC3)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:17 pm 
jsharen wrote:
Ahzrei,
How are things looking for B81? I foolishly updated my campaign to B79 and did a load of work in B79 for my upcoming game this weekend. So I am praying that the issue is resolved before the weekend :)

Cheers


Yeah, I opted to not upgrade, I have a 24 hour game this weekend and didnt want MPtools to die, lol

_________________
---
Glock-9mm (Wgtn, NZ)
Shooting from the hip... Never the lip!


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:12 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Durham, NC, USA
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 80 (1.3-RC3)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:24 pm 
Phergus wrote:
So you have a server running with Strict Token Ownership, Individual Views and Individual Fog but then you have the tokens set to be owned by all (except one). Not that there might not be a bug related to this usage but what's the point of enabling the server options just to counter them by setting the tokens to owned by all?


I only started using Strict Token Ownership a few months ago. The players switched to communal token ownership recently so they could trade macro ideas back and forth (I don't use a framework). Frankly, I forgot about it when I started trying out Individual Fog, and nobody mentioned it.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:12 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Durham, NC, USA
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 80 (1.3-RC3)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:34 pm 
Deadolus wrote:
It just happens once and a while on map loads. Zooming resolves it.


Yeah I've seen that issue, but I think this one is a little different. It doesn't show up on map load, it shows up repeatedly (though not every time?) when an NPC token is moved or runs a macro. I've only noticed it this once, but I can't say for certain that it's unique to this build.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 1:37 pm
Posts: 8
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 80 (1.3-RC3)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 7:31 pm 
Is anyone having an issue like mine?

First issue is that stuff in the chat window gets extremely blurry, but only in certain areas that stretch across the chat horizontally. Notice the line where the blur stops in the attached screenshot. Number two is that when windows pop up, like to edit a macro, etc., the whole Maptool window and/or the popup window blacks out. The buttons and input fields are revealed when moused over, but for obvious reasons this makes things near impossible to use.

I'm not sure if this is a MT-specific issue or not. I first noticed it after switching to b77, it's still around in b80 and it happened when I rolled back to b76. For the record, in between the last well-functioning session and the session where this started happening, I updated Java to Build 6 Update 23 and I updated my ATI graphics card drivers to the Catalyst 10.12 Windows 7 Preview. I doubt it's Java itself, and I haven't tried rolling back to older drivers yet, but that's the next step.

Any thoughts??


Maptool Blackout.png
Maptool Blackout.png [ 69.16 KiB | Viewed 2668 times ]
Blurry Chatbox.png
Blurry Chatbox.png [ 127.38 KiB | Viewed 2668 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 7:56 pm
Posts: 6300
Location: Las Cruces, NM
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 80 (1.3-RC3)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:35 pm 
LaserWolf wrote:
I only started using Strict Token Ownership a few months ago. The players switched to communal token ownership recently so they could trade macro ideas back and forth (I don't use a framework). Frankly, I forgot about it when I started trying out Individual Fog, and nobody mentioned it.

Ahh. Well I would say then that you can avoid the issue by just not using Individual Views or at least not using Individual Fog.

The use case you described is certainly nothing I thought about during testing. Will have to see if someone on the dev team can reproduce it and then determine if it is needed as a fix for 1.3 or can wait till 1.4.

_________________
Call me, Hex Boy.

Visit http://www.darkisle.com for photos of castles, cairns, standing stones, and other ancient sites in the British Isles.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Site Admin
 
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:20 pm
Posts: 12102
Location: Tampa, FL
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 80 (1.3-RC3)
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:14 am 
jsharen wrote:
How are things looking for B81?

I'm going to bed now (~2AM here) and I've got a full day tomorrow, but I'll try to get the build out tomorrow evening after dinner.

hortator37 wrote:
Is anyone having an issue like mine?

Don't use bleeding edge drivers like the Catalyst 10.12. If you do, you'll likely get artifacts such as you're seeing. I suggest going back to the last "stable" build, which I believe is 10.10 for Windows (it's 10.11 for Linux, I think, as I just grabbed new drivers a week or two ago).


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 2
 Post subject: Bug: Library token duplication
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:10 am 
The bug itself has already been reported.

As far as I can see, a library token is duplicated from its origin map onto the current map whenever the setLibProperty() function is used.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Site Admin
 
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:20 pm
Posts: 12102
Location: Tampa, FL
 Post subject: Re: Bug: Library token duplication
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:39 pm 
The Schnibble wrote:
As far as I can see, a library token is duplicated from its origin map onto the current map whenever the setLibProperty() function is used.

The bug is actually that the "current token" is duplicated whenever the properties of the token are changed as part of the onCampaignLoad macro execution. This could mean the macro calls a token macro which then changes the properties of that token -- it would be duplicated as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 8:31 pm
Posts: 249
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 80 (1.3-RC3)
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:16 pm 
lmarkus001 wrote:
The new colors for buttons are not working correctly.

Specifically, for button color; darkgray is lighter than gray but not as light as lightgray

This is, sadly, correct for the HTML colors. It's an artifact of the evolving colorset in early computer graphics, and the changing nature of the gammas of monitors at that time, and the eventual fusion of multiple, previously independent colorsets.

DarkGray is A9A9A9 (66%)
LightGray is D3D3D3 (83%)
Gray is 808080 (50%)


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 5:10 pm
Posts: 439
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 80 (1.3-RC3)
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 1:56 am 
I am having the same problem as Wolph.

Code:
2011-01-06 19:52:35,254 [swing.MapToolEventQueue:27] ERROR - java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: unable to create new native thread
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: unable to create new native thread
   at java.lang.Thread.start0(Native Method)
   at java.lang.Thread.start(Unknown Source)
   at net.rptools.lib.TaskBarFlasher.flash(TaskBarFlasher.java:51)
   at net.rptools.maptool.client.MapTool.addServerMessage(MapTool.java:589)
   at net.rptools.maptool.client.ClientMethodHandler$1.run(ClientMethodHandler.java:373)
   at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
   at net.rptools.maptool.client.swing.MapToolEventQueue.dispatchEvent(MapToolEventQueue.java:25)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Dialog$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Dialog$3.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at java.awt.Dialog.show(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Component.show(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Component.setVisible(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Window.setVisible(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Dialog.setVisible(Unknown Source)
   at net.rptools.maptool.client.swing.GenericDialog.showDialog(GenericDialog.java:86)
   at net.rptools.maptool.client.ui.token.EditTokenDialog.showDialog(EditTokenDialog.java:140)
   at net.rptools.maptool.client.tool.PointerTool.mousePressed(PointerTool.java:419)
   at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.mousePressed(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
   at net.rptools.maptool.client.swing.MapToolEventQueue.dispatchEvent(MapToolEventQueue.java:25)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)


It does indeed appear to be linked to the autosave. During my session, there were several times when I could not access the Connection Information menu item. It would error out sometimes on macros. It even got to one point where every time I tried to type, it would pop up an empty window for every character. Shutting down, restarting and turning off Autosave features seemed to correct the problem for the most part. After that I got one last Out of Memory error and it failed to execute a macro.

Note that it only started occurring when my server had connected clients. I ran for several days while coding and testing macros with no problems whatsoever. None of the clients had issues. Just the server.

Hopefully this information will help.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9380
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 80 (1.3-RC3)
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 4:16 am 
nolgroth wrote:
I am having the same problem as Wolph.

Code:
2011-01-06 19:52:35,254 [swing.MapToolEventQueue:27] ERROR - java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: unable to create new native thread
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: unable to create new native thread
   at java.lang.Thread.start0(Native Method)
   at java.lang.Thread.start(Unknown Source)
   at net.rptools.lib.TaskBarFlasher.flash(TaskBarFlasher.java:51)
   at net.rptools.maptool.client.MapTool.addServerMessage(MapTool.java:589)
   at net.rptools.maptool.client.ClientMethodHandler$1.run(ClientMethodHandler.java:373)
   at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
   at net.rptools.maptool.client.swing.MapToolEventQueue.dispatchEvent(MapToolEventQueue.java:25)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Dialog$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Dialog$3.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at java.awt.Dialog.show(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Component.show(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Component.setVisible(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Window.setVisible(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Dialog.setVisible(Unknown Source)
   at net.rptools.maptool.client.swing.GenericDialog.showDialog(GenericDialog.java:86)
   at net.rptools.maptool.client.ui.token.EditTokenDialog.showDialog(EditTokenDialog.java:140)
   at net.rptools.maptool.client.tool.PointerTool.mousePressed(PointerTool.java:419)
   at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.mousePressed(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
   at net.rptools.maptool.client.swing.MapToolEventQueue.dispatchEvent(MapToolEventQueue.java:25)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)


It does indeed appear to be linked to the autosave. During my session, there were several times when I could not access the Connection Information menu item. It would error out sometimes on macros. It even got to one point where every time I tried to type, it would pop up an empty window for every character. Shutting down, restarting and turning off Autosave features seemed to correct the problem for the most part. After that I got one last Out of Memory error and it failed to execute a macro.

Note that it only started occurring when my server had connected clients. I ran for several days while coding and testing macros with no problems whatsoever. None of the clients had issues. Just the server.

Hopefully this information will help.


Interesting, I was running a stand-alone version (no clients).

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 2
 Post subject: Re: Bug: Library token duplication
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 7:05 am 
Azhrei wrote:
... as part of the onCampaignLoad macro execution.


Or at any other time?

I tried typing [setLibProperty("MyProp",1,"Lib:MyLib")] in the chat window while positioned on another map than the one my test library was located, and it duplicated too. The phenomenon seems not to be related to the onLoadCampaign macro.

I only tried library tokens, though, so I didn't know that it happened with any token.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman