MapTool 1.3 Final, patch01 (build 84)

New build announcements plus site news and changes.

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei, Craig

michaelheggen
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 3:23 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch01 (build 84)

Post by michaelheggen »

Okay, now that is a good answer.

Thanks!

-Mike

User avatar
Jshock
Dragon
Posts: 311
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: West Warwick, RI
Contact:

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch01 (build 84)

Post by Jshock »

Hey, kept getting this error in b84 while I was playing tonight. Is this stack overflow, or something else? Did it get fixed?

Code: Select all

java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: unable to create new native thread
	at java.lang.Thread.start0(Native Method)
	at java.lang.Thread.start(Unknown Source)
	at net.rptools.clientserver.simple.client.ClientConnection.start(ClientConnection.java:56)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.MapTool.createConnection(MapTool.java:959)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.MapTool.startPersonalServer(MapTool.java:943)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.AppActions.disconnectFromServer(AppActions.java:1881)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.AppActions$53.execute(AppActions.java:1871)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.AppActions$ClientAction.actionPerformed(AppActions.java:2652)
	at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.AbstractButton.doClick(Unknown Source)
	at de.muntjak.tinylookandfeel.TinyMenuItemUI.doClick(TinyMenuItemUI.java:571)
	at de.muntjak.tinylookandfeel.TinyMenuItemUI$MouseInputHandler.mouseReleased(TinyMenuItemUI.java:421)
	at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.access$000(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(Unknown Source)
	at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
	at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
	at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(Unknown Source)
	at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
	at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.swing.MapToolEventQueue.dispatchEvent(MapToolEventQueue.java:25)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)

User avatar
mfrizzell
Dragon
Posts: 762
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 2:35 am
Location: California

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch01 (build 84)

Post by mfrizzell »

I've seen that before. You ran out of memory and java could not open a new thread.

I think the answer was your stack size is to high. But a search of the forum will turn up the original thread.

Not a bug for sure.
DCI/RPGA# 7208328396 Skype ID mfrizzell77
Characters:
Strabor - Dwarf Avenger 5th Level
Tikkanan - Human Warlock 2nd Level
----------------------------------------------------
"People are more violently opposed to fur than leather because it's safer to harass rich women than motorcycle gangs."

FerretDave
Kobold
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 7:02 pm

Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch01 (build 84)

Post by FerretDave »

Sorry for such an old response, but I realise now that I never replied to thank you.
It was video card drivers in the end...Thanks for the advice.
jfrazierjr wrote:
FerretDave wrote:Greetings,
Only recently discovered this tool, and really like it...

I have a problem though - when I try to resize the window I can crash maptool every time - in the right conditions at least.

I have an extended desktop - TV, LCD Monitor and a projector, all fed from one machine with the desktop extended across all 3 - a geeky RPG setup I admit, the monitor is the refs screen, and will run a server instance of maptools, the projector is straight down onto the table top and runs the players (client) instance, and the TV is there for pictures of monsters/scenes (or general media playing when not roleplaying!)

TV is the primary display, and maptools starts on there ok, and can be resized, but if I drag the window down onto my LCD display, I can get it full screen with control+alt+enter, but any other attempt to resize the window (drag or max button) gives me a crash, that then appears to repeat every few seconds and I have to kill from the taskbar. The error repeating means I dont have time to copy the full error, but it starts:

ava.lang.IllegalStateException: Buffers have not been created
at sun.awt.windows.WComponentPeer.getBackBuffer(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component$FlipBufferStrategy.getBackBuffer(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component$FlipBufferStrategy.updateInternalBuffers(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component$FlipBufferStrategy.revalidate(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component$FlipBufferStrategy.revalidate(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component$FlipBufferStrategy.getDrawGraphics(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.BufferStrategyPaintManager.prepare(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.BufferStrategyPaintManager.paint(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.RepaintManager.paint(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent._paintImmediately(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent.paintImmediately(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.RepaintManager.paintDirtyRegions(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.RepaintManager.paintDirtyRegions(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.RepaintManager.seqPaintDirtyRegions(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.SystemEventQueueUtilities$ComponentWorkRequest.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivileg


This is windows XP SP3, with maptool 1.3b84 and java 6 update 24
Running with two graphics cards - radeon firemv 2250 and a radeon 9200 pro.

Just checked - this only happens on the monitor (which is hooked up to the 9200 pro card, on the other two displays (both off the firemv, which is the primary display card) it works ok.
Could this be something about screen resolution/buffering that is only accounting for the primary video card? Does that even make sense?

Cheers
Dave
well.. this is a windows/java thing. You "COULD" try updating your video drivers as well as installing/updating the drivers for the monitor in question. My guess thought is that java might have an issue with dual video cards. You could probably google for something like "java error multiple video cards" and see what you get. based upon the stack trace, java is asking the OS to do something that ultimately it does not like. Note the "Native Method" thing in the second to last entry of the stack trace. Also note that it's coming from java.security, which indicates it's trying to do something that is normally restricted.

Post Reply

Return to “Announcements”