RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 10:58 am 






Reply to topic  [ 190 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
User avatar  Offline
Cave Troll
 
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 11:50 am
Posts: 95
Location: Washington, DC
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:20 pm 
Azhrei wrote:
I don't have all of the fixes I waint in b88 there yet, but I think I'm going to release it anyway. There's enough in it for people to test it out and it solves a bunch of the UPNP and Java 7 issues folks are having. I'll try to get this done RSN ("Real Soon Now").


Awesome. Many thanks from a longtime lurker (I reckon one of many) who appreciates your continued work on perfecting 1.3.

_________________
& So Forth a blog about dungeons & dragons & so forth. With a particular eye for virtual table-top play, 5e, and OSR themes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:37 pm
Posts: 358
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 8:44 pm 
cubeblue wrote:
Azhrei wrote:
I don't have all of the fixes I waint in b88 there yet, but I think I'm going to release it anyway. There's enough in it for people to test it out and it solves a bunch of the UPNP and Java 7 issues folks are having. I'll try to get this done RSN ("Real Soon Now").


Awesome. Many thanks from a longtime lurker (I reckon one of many) who appreciates your continued work on perfecting 1.3.


+1000!!


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7969
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 9:25 pm 
Elorebaen wrote:
cubeblue wrote:
Azhrei wrote:
I don't have all of the fixes I waint in b88 there yet, but I think I'm going to release it anyway. There's enough in it for people to test it out and it solves a bunch of the UPNP and Java 7 issues folks are having. I'll try to get this done RSN ("Real Soon Now").


Awesome. Many thanks from a longtime lurker (I reckon one of many) who appreciates your continued work on perfecting 1.3.


+1000!!

Just keeping the sentiment alive. Looking forward some of the already done fixes.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Site Admin
 
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:20 pm
Posts: 12103
Location: Tampa, FL
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 2:33 am 
Yeah, sorry for the delay. RL has been hectic. And I just inherited a gig from an instructor who canceled at the last minute; this new gig consists of four weeks before mid-March and completely fills out my business calendar. Only trouble is that the course materials are only partially done so I've been breaking my back trying to pump out lecture notes and hands-on labs for the last week or so.

I'll get a little bit of a break in a couple weekends so I hope to get the build done then. At this point it's been so long I almost don't remember what the process is. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7969
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 6:28 pm 
Me and the players are having horrible times with java memory errors. Unable to allocate thread and out of memory type errors.

Is there anything special that needs to be done with a windows 7 64bit machine with 4gb of memory. He's knocked down his mem to 1400 but he should be able to use more. I'm "fairly" sure he installed the correct java. I think I read something about putting the path to javaw instead of using "javaw".

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9427
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 6:58 pm 
aliasmask wrote:
Me and the players are having horrible times with java memory errors. Unable to allocate thread and out of memory type errors.

Is there anything special that needs to be done with a windows 7 64bit machine with 4gb of memory. He's knocked down his mem to 1400 but he should be able to use more. I'm "fairly" sure he installed the correct java. I think I read something about putting the path to javaw instead of using "javaw".


you indeed need to add the path in mt.cfg file to point to the 64 version of java:
JVM=C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\javaw

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 3782
Location: MD
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 11:35 pm 
Meant to quote this post and somehow edited it... :/

But, in a nutshell, I was just commenting on the fact that Win7 64 should have no problems running the 32bit or 64 bit JVM with MT.

_________________
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."


Last edited by Full Bleed on Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:47 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7969
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 4:56 am 
Thanks wolf42, we'll see if that makes a difference. He has a clean install and he shouldn't be having these troubles.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9427
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:11 am 
aliasmask wrote:
Thanks wolf42, we'll see if that makes a difference. He has a clean install and he shouldn't be having these troubles.


well... the difference on my machine was an increase of speed of about 1.5 :shock:

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 3782
Location: MD
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:50 pm 
Wolph42 wrote:
you indeed need to add the path in mt.cfg file to point to the 64 version of java:
JVM=C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\javaw
Full Bleed wrote:
If this is necessary to use the 64 bit version of Java with MT would there be a way for MT to build the .cfg file with that in it if the 64 bit version is detected?


As a followup to this... I went ahead and updated my java 32 install and installed the 64 version as well (on Win7 64.) I really didn't see a difference in MT when using the 64 JVM (after adding the line to the .cfg file as noted by Wolph)... but I went ahead and checked out what my PCGen would use as well and it had automatically defaulted to the 64bit JVM without needing to manually set or change anything.

This would probably be a nice feature in MT as well.

_________________
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7969
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 5:24 pm 
Azhrei wrote:
I'll get a little bit of a break in a couple weekends so I hope to get the build done then. At this point it's been so long I almost don't remember what the process is. ;)

build 88?

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7969
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 9:02 pm 
I mentioned this before, but I can't find the previous post, but there is a bug that prevents one of my players from using any macros that creates a frame. He uses a mac and the frame top appears off screen so he can't move it (or close it?). If I recall, b88 has fixed this problem by having the frame window appear centered.

I would really appreciate it if we can get b88 released soon for this reason alone. There are some other updates applied that I know will be useful as well.

PS: I'll even take a dev build I can redistribute to my players.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:37 am
Posts: 3108
Location: Germany
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:27 am 
There is a workaround that your player can use - you can move the frame in "Spaces", a desktop overview he can activate. Im not sure if this works still under lion though.

_________________
HELP: GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC.

most complete list of my maptool stuff


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 6:03 am
Posts: 515
Location: Blagnac, France
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:53 am 
CoveredInFish wrote:
There is a workaround that your player can use - you can move the frame in "Spaces", a desktop overview he can activate. Im not sure if this works still under lion though.

I should have think of it (face palm) :D
Works perfectly well in Snow Leopard. Don't know for Lion.

Thanks CiF.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Site Admin
 
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:20 pm
Posts: 12103
Location: Tampa, FL
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:16 am 
Yeah, I've been trying to get things together to do b88 for awhile now. :( I'll try to get the build out in the next day or two. It won't have all of the fixes in it that I want (which means there may be a b89), but at least it'll fix some of the common stuff (this issue, UPNP, Java 7 compatibility, etc).

I've finally got some virtual machines setup so that I can test on Windows and Linux, but RL has just gotten crazy busy. I might be doing some travel to Asia this year, but at least that will give me a lot of "quality time" with my laptop on the plane. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 190 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest





cron

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman