RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Thu Jul 27, 2017 11:34 pm 






Reply to topic  [ 190 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
User avatar  Offline
TheBard
 
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 7:26 pm
Posts: 3467
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:41 am 
I wrote two novels doing that.

_________________
ImageImage ImageImageImageImage
MapTool/Savage Worlds Blog
Free SW/MT Modules
SW Framework for MT


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7751
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:27 pm 
Yeah, that trip is always fun... 16+ hours of fun going to Ho Chi Minh. And that's the quick flight. There's a couple with big layovers. Weather is nice over there now. Just don't go to flooding areas.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7751
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:44 pm 
CoveredInFish wrote:
There is a workaround that your player can use - you can move the frame in "Spaces", a desktop overview he can activate. Im not sure if this works still under lion though.

Thanks for that. My player said it works for him.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7751
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 10:11 am 
Azhrei wrote:
Yeah, I've been trying to get things together to do b88 for awhile now. :( I'll try to get the build out in the next day or two. It won't have all of the fixes in it that I want (which means there may be a b89), but at least it'll fix some of the common stuff (this issue, UPNP, Java 7 compatibility, etc).

I've finally got some virtual machines setup so that I can test on Windows and Linux, but RL has just gotten crazy busy. I might be doing some travel to Asia this year, but at least that will give me a lot of "quality time" with my laptop on the plane. ;)

+1

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Site Admin
 
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:20 pm
Posts: 12070
Location: Tampa, FL
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:40 am 
I'm still working too much. :(

I've got a class I'm teaching next week that I haven't finished writing yet. So in addition to teaching last week, I spent about 20 hours doing course development. Then another 10 hours so far this weekend. And I still have at least another 10 to do. Class starts on Tuesday. :|

Anyway, I'll get to b88 at some point. I'm not going to say when because that seems to jinx it! So everyone will just have to be pleasantly surprised when it happens. 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7751
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:53 am 
Oh okay. Resorting to the Blizzard release schedule. It's done when it's done.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Cave Troll
 
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 6:41 pm
Posts: 35
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 2:27 pm 
"Blizzard release schedule" is more like "it's done when it's done in 13 years".


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 5410
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 6:18 pm 
Well.. so far it's far ahead of the Duke Nukeem release schedule time lapse...likely one of the longest ever!!!

_________________
I save all my Campaign Files to DropBox. Not only can I access a campaign file from pretty much any OS that will run Maptool(Win,OSX, linux), but each file is versioned, so if something goes crazy wild, I can always roll back to a previous version of the same file.

Get your Dropbox 2GB via my referral link, and as a bonus, I get an extra 250 MB of space. Even if you don't don't use my link, I still enthusiastically recommend Dropbox..


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7751
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 4:09 pm 
I just got a new player who is using Mac with lion, so no "spaces"(??) to fix the frame popup issue mentioned above. Are there any more solutions out there before b88 comes out? Is there a similar solution using another tool or process so he can move his frames around?

PS. I have very little mac experience other than tear down/build up and replacing component parts. Sort of like being able to fix a car without having ever learned to drive.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Cave Troll
 
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:35 pm
Posts: 30
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 12:25 am 
aliasmask wrote:
I just got a new player who is using Mac with lion, so no "spaces"(??) to fix the frame popup issue mentioned above. Are there any more solutions out there before b88 comes out? Is there a similar solution using another tool or process so he can move his frames around?

PS. I have very little mac experience other than tear down/build up and replacing component parts. Sort of like being able to fix a car without having ever learned to drive.



I run Lion as well and suffer from the same Frame issue. I"ve not yet found a workaround to allow me to get hold of that frame. I've tried just about everything I can think of. So I'm left waiting for b88.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 1:50 pm
Posts: 123
Location: Maine
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 5:40 pm 
Helvegr wrote:
aliasmask wrote:
I just got a new player who is using Mac with lion, so no "spaces"(??) to fix the frame popup issue mentioned above. Are there any more solutions out there before b88 comes out? Is there a similar solution using another tool or process so he can move his frames around?

PS. I have very little mac experience other than tear down/build up and replacing component parts. Sort of like being able to fix a car without having ever learned to drive.



I run Lion as well and suffer from the same Frame issue. I"ve not yet found a workaround to allow me to get hold of that frame. I've tried just about everything I can think of. So I'm left waiting for b88.



Folks, honestly, ... Spaces has not been "removed" - it has been integrated and turned into what's now known as "Mission Control", which is an improvement over Spaces, if you ask me, once you get used to it:

Tell your users to go to Apple Menu (top left) -> System Preferences -> Mission Control

and make sure that either one of the "Active Corners" or one the Function Keys can call up Mission Control.
Then you can call up your spaces with it if need be, and the Mission Control overview shows you all your open windows and frames on all your open "spaces", and screens, et c.
If Mission Control is set to just one space, call it up, click the "+" button at the top right, and voila, you got your first additional space back; you can have as many as you like, each with a different background screen even, if you want.

Hope that helps, :wink:

Leo


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7751
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 5:50 pm 
Thank Leo, I'll pass that along to the user.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 1:50 pm
Posts: 123
Location: Maine
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 8:49 pm 
aliasmask wrote:
Thank Leo, I'll pass that along to the user.


Hi alias,
just checked my own advice and noticed that the "+" sign for a new space in Mission Control actually only pops up if you move the mouse up there.
So that's a caveat: If your user tells you "I went to that mission control thang, and there ain't no plus sign for an additional space" - you can tell them to move the mouse to the top right corner and it just pops up. It's magic! :wink:

(The difference between Space and Mission Control is really that Spaces were set up in rows and columns, and Mission Control sets them up in a horizontal bar, and gives you an overview over all spaces simultaneously.)

Cheers

Leo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Cave Troll
 
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:35 pm
Posts: 30
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 10:26 pm 
LeopoldVonRanke wrote:
aliasmask wrote:
Thank Leo, I'll pass that along to the user.


Hi alias,
just checked my own advice and noticed that the "+" sign for a new space in Mission Control actually only pops up if you move the mouse up there.
So that's a caveat: If your user tells you "I went to that mission control thang, and there ain't no plus sign for an additional space" - you can tell them to move the mouse to the top right corner and it just pops up. It's magic! :wink:

(The difference between Space and Mission Control is really that Spaces were set up in rows and columns, and Mission Control sets them up in a horizontal bar, and gives you an overview over all spaces simultaneously.)

Cheers

Leo


Accessing Mission Control has never been the problem for me. The problem has been that I can't grab that individual frame in MapTools and move it. At least for me, it sees it just as part of the MapTools application so I can only select it as a whole, which brings with it the frame that is off the screen.

Here is a screen snippet. You can see how it selects the entire application, not the little frame I need to move.


Screen Shot 2012-03-08 at 7.23.49 PM.png
Screen Shot 2012-03-08 at 7.23.49 PM.png [ 419.94 KiB | Viewed 1472 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 1:50 pm
Posts: 123
Location: Maine
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch04 (build 87)
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:00 pm 
Helvegr wrote:
Accessing Mission Control has never been the problem for me. The problem has been that I can't grab that individual frame in MapTools and move it. At least for me, it sees it just as part of the MapTools application so I can only select it as a whole, which brings with it the frame that is off the screen.

Here is a screen snippet. You can see how it selects the entire application, not the little frame I need to move.


Hmm, you're right: that is because MapTool is running within a Java VM, and Lion sees the entire JavaVM as one app; its subframes are merely "drawings", rather than OS-registered windows.
Which means, MapTool is moved as a whole if you move it through Mission Control, correct?
Was that different in Spaces though?

It seems to me the frame you are opening is opened through a script. Any chance to access the script to move the window frame? Just a thought. On the same note, MapTool stores the screen coordinate data for the position of that frame somewhere when it shuts down, because it remembers it next time when it starts up.
It should therefore be possible to access that entry and change it in some storage file, if the frame should have gone offscreen.
Can anybody help with that?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 190 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman