RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:45 pm 






This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 94 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
User avatar  Offline
Site Admin
 
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:20 pm
Posts: 12103
Location: Tampa, FL
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 12:27 pm 
Daeger wrote:
Not to mention the fact it doesn't even work at all for some of us.

And I have no clue why that would be. I was hoping some of the Windows gurus here could try it and investigate the issue more. Since there's nothing in the log and nothing is displayed on the console, someone with some knowledge of how Java runs on the platform is going to need to take a look. Maybe perusing the ChangeLog would give a clue as to what the issue might be...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 9:44 am
Posts: 1
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:16 pm 
With Java 7 I had the colour picker ArrayIndexOutOfBounds exception. Then I rolled back to Java 6.31 and b88 worked fine. Windows 7 here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 6:01 am
Posts: 260
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)
PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 1:13 pm 
Jox wrote:
With Java 7 I had the colour picker ArrayIndexOutOfBounds exception. Then I rolled back to Java 6.31 and b88 worked fine. Windows 7 here.


I admit that I have submitted the patch that causes this aggrevation. To my defense I must say that this is a very curious situation. You may try the work-around you describe (roll back Java), use the old rplib.jar or apply the patch included (if you know how to do that). There are several guesses as to why this happens: Java 7 changed the look&feel compared to Java 6. The people experiencing the problem have changed their look&feel themselves. Or TinyLAF (a quite old library in MT) finally gives up. The patch provided implements a workaround. I would be interested in a screenshot of the PaintChooser from the people that have this problem, either when using the old rplib or Java 6.

I'm sorry but this effect of the patch included in b88 could not be conjectured. To be honest, I would like to debug this more closely, but I can't reproduce this. Some technical notes follow for those with a knack for diving into code, because I will not have time for this during the next three weeks:
Look into the PaintChooser.java from rplib. The ArrayIndexOutOfBounds happens, because the method createHueColorChooser returns a colorchooser with no (sub-chooser) panels. That can only happen if javax.swing.colorchooser.DefaultHSBChooserPanel was not instantiated. This in turn means that (a) Java decided to kick this class, (b) The LAF decided to kick it, (c) the user (inadvertently) decided to kick it. I have also found some notes on changes from Java 6 to Java 7 concerning the color choosers here: http://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/ ... ooserpanel => "Creating a Custom Chooser Panel", which might explain this problem. That wouldn't justify incompatible changes on Oracle's side though. (But the MT code is quite strange at that point and needs to stretch "compatibility" quite a bit.)


paintChooser.txt [1.37 KiB]
Downloaded 108 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 6:01 am
Posts: 260
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)
PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 3:58 pm 
aliasmask wrote:
b88 and b87 seem pretty compatible for saving and loading, so I've been doing my map editing in b87 but game playing in b88 because of the frame popup fix.


You can even connect with a b86 as GM to a b88 running. This way you can circumvent the problem that objects on the background cannot be sized in b88. Not that this is a comfortable solution.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7947
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)
PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 4:05 pm 
username wrote:
aliasmask wrote:
b88 and b87 seem pretty compatible for saving and loading, so I've been doing my map editing in b87 but game playing in b88 because of the frame popup fix.


You can even connect with a b86 as GM to a b88 running. This way you can circumvent the problem that objects on the background cannot be sized in b88. Not that this is a comfortable solution.

Are you saying I can run a game with b88 and run an instance of b86 (b87?) and connect to b88 game and not have to worry about resize and drop problem through b86 instance?

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
TheBard
 
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 7:26 pm
Posts: 3483
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)
PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 4:06 pm 
Can we pull out this patch and release a b89?

_________________
ImageImage ImageImageImageImage
Support RPTools by shopping
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 6:01 am
Posts: 260
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)
PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 6:02 pm 
aliasmask wrote:
username wrote:
aliasmask wrote:
b88 and b87 seem pretty compatible for saving and loading, so I've been doing my map editing in b87 but game playing in b88 because of the frame popup fix.


You can even connect with a b86 as GM to a b88 running. This way you can circumvent the problem that objects on the background cannot be sized in b88. Not that this is a comfortable solution.

Are you saying I can run a game with b88 and run an instance of b86 (b87?) and connect to b88 game and not have to worry about resize and drop problem through b86 instance?


You can resize/rotate in the b86(b87 should work as well) instance. That gets propagated to the b88. (Needs a redraw nudge once in a while.) Whether this has anything to do with the drop issue I don't know, meaning I haven't reproduced the problem yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 6:01 am
Posts: 260
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 10:40 am 
Here's a patch for people eager to test. It resolves (or rather should resolve) the issue that you can't drop a second token. Problem is that during subsequent drag-n-drop an unmodifiable list was cleared. This caused all drag-n-drops from then on to fail when the drop occured and later stages would just assume the activity happend on the previous item.

(Side note: this is the announcement forum. Maybe it is not appropriate to post patches to the "general public", but the issue was brought up here and may be urgent enough for some people to try out patches. Where else should this go? CC'd to Azhrei anyway.)


CantDropASecondToken.txt [865 Bytes]
Downloaded 109 times
Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 5412
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 10:59 am 
username wrote:
Here's a patch for people eager to test. It resolves (or rather should resolve) the issue that you can't drop a second token. Problem is that during subsequent drag-n-drop an unmodifiable list was cleared. This caused all drag-n-drops from then on to fail when the drop occured and later stages would just assume the activity happend on the previous item.

(Side note: this is the announcement forum. Maybe it is not appropriate to post patches to the "general public", but the issue was brought up here and may be urgent enough for some people to try out patches. Where else should this go? CC'd to Azhrei anyway.)


Testers Forum...

_________________
I save all my Campaign Files to DropBox. Not only can I access a campaign file from pretty much any OS that will run Maptool(Win,OSX, linux), but each file is versioned, so if something goes crazy wild, I can always roll back to a previous version of the same file.

Get your Dropbox 2GB via my referral link, and as a bonus, I get an extra 250 MB of space. Even if you don't don't use my link, I still enthusiastically recommend Dropbox..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 8:28 pm
Posts: 337
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 12:58 pm 
So, should us users apply this patch or wait till b89?


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
TheBard
 
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 7:26 pm
Posts: 3483
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 3:07 pm 
ziltmilt wrote:
So, should us users apply this patch or wait till b89?


Unless you want to compile the code yourself, you'll need to wait for b89

_________________
ImageImage ImageImageImageImage
Support RPTools by shopping
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Site Admin
 
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:20 pm
Posts: 12103
Location: Tampa, FL
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:33 pm 
I don't want to produce another build until we have this working -- we're getting too close to a three-digit build and I don't know if that's going to screw things up but I don't want to risk it. :roll:

So when the Testers forum has had a couple people try it out, then I'll do the build. I have some time at the end of the week to do another build if we get some confirmation on this.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Online
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9419
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:50 pm 
Is the resize issue resolved already, or is this inherent to the other issue?

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 6:01 am
Posts: 260
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 2:49 pm 
wolph42 wrote:
Is the resize issue resolved already, or is this inherent to the other issue?

Resize issue has a patch out in the testers' forum since... like two minutes. It's unrelated to both startup-crash and drop-token issues.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:29 pm
Posts: 1
 Post subject: Re: MapTool 1.3 Final, patch05 (build 88)
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:44 pm 
Is there a workaround for this bug because it just hit me out of nowhere and no matter what I do I cant defeat the token replace bug!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 94 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman