MapTool 1.3 Development Build 48

New build announcements plus site news and changes.

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei, Craig

Post Reply
User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

MapTool 1.3 Development Build 48

Post by trevor »

The "Macros can do what ?!" build

Build 48 (12/2/08)
* Fix bug: memory usage explodes when zooming into tokens with image based health bar or statuses
* Fix bug: labels on tokens that aren't currently visible are showing up on mouse over on player view
* Replace vision auto toggle with Map->Vision Off/Day/Night (off ignores VBL, day mode ignores light sources, night is normal mode)
* Handle locale specific number parsing in the light preferences
* Update French translation (Contributed by Pierre Simonutti)

Contributed by Lindharin
* Fix bug: the minWidth property in campaign panel macros
* Fix bug: campaign macros overwriting each other under rare conditions
* tweaked the panel insets slightly
* Allow '=' on right hand side of assignment

Contributed by Applekor
* Minor Feature: Added "Clear Group" action to macro panel popup menus. This deletes all macros from the group on which the popup was initiated.
* Minor Feature: Added "Clear Panel" action to macro panel popup menus. Used in the Campaign, Global, or Impersonate panels, this deletes all macros in the active panel. Used in the Selection panel, this deletes all macros from the token in which the popup was initiated.
* Fix bug: loading campaigns with remote repositories can throw exceptions

Contributed by Craig Wisniewski
* Macro Mega Patch (Details linked below)

A special thanks goes out to all the contributors, and testers (especially Dorpond).

Notes:
* Please post bugs directly to this post, questions about functionality, features requests, and build related discussions should be in a new post
* Vision "Off" mode will still show the line of sight lines, but won't hide any tokens. I'm curious whether anyone thinks this is a useful idea, or if it should turn all vbl off

Thanks for your patience as we iron out 1.3
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

jimb
Kobold
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 5:46 pm

Post by jimb »

No prob, i'll be checking out all the new macro functions.

And thanks!!! downloads just fine :)

jimb
Kobold
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 5:46 pm

Post by jimb »

There does appear to be one bug so far. It appears as if you can only impersonate the first token placed on a map. I am doing some more testing to see if there are other conditions.

It is definitely order dependent. You can place five tokens of mixed PC and NPC type and place them both inside of and outside of the FOW. You can select any token and when you impersonate that token the first token that was placed is impersonated. If you delete that token then the second one placed is the one that is impersonated and so on...

User avatar
RPTroll
TheBard
Posts: 3159
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 7:26 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by RPTroll »

This is the best birthday present ever!

User avatar
Orchard
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1852
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 10:45 am
Location: Doylestown PA
Contact:

Post by Orchard »

so what CAN the macros do?
0+0=1, for very unstable CPUs.

Craig
Great Wyrm
Posts: 2107
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Craig »

Orchard wrote:so what CAN the macros do?
There is some doco on the new macro functions at http://forums.rptools.net/viewtopic.php?t=6097

Its all reference (i.e. what it is and does) at the moment.

I am writing howto/mini tutorial like documentation too and will post it as I get each section done (there is a lot of writing done).

User avatar
mmbutter
Cave Troll
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 4:29 pm
Location: Huntersville, NC
Contact:

Post by mmbutter »

Apparently you can't use encode()/decode() for the "key" string in Property strings.

Code: Select all

[h:Skills=";"] [h:key=encode("Engineering (Electronics)")] [h:val=encode("IQ+1")] [Skills=setStrProp(Skills,key,val)]

Hero:
Engineering+%28Electronics%29=IQ%2B1 ; 

[decode(indexKeyStrProp(Skills,0))]

Hero:
29


Lindharin
Dragon
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 4:51 pm

Post by Lindharin »

mmbutter wrote:Apparently you can't use encode()/decode() for the "key" string in Property strings.
I happen to have been looking at the code for how string properties are parsed last week, so I know what is going on there.

The regular expression that parses string properties only allows alphanumerics on the key (left) side of the equal sign. The regular expression looks for 1 or more alphanumerics followed by the equal sign, and the value is then anything up to first semi-colon.

So in your example, the key portion of the expression will not match anything prior to the last % in the key, so the key is just what's left after the last percent sign. That's why the key is showing as 29.

The regular expression could be changed to allow the key to include additional non-alphanumeric characters that are used by the encoding process, as long as they do not include equals or semi-colons.

User avatar
Orchard
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1852
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 10:45 am
Location: Doylestown PA
Contact:

Post by Orchard »

RPTroll wrote:This is the best birthday present ever!
It is a good birthday present...but it's a few days early for me....strange, normally my presents are late (Stupid December b-days getting combined with Christmas...ugh).
0+0=1, for very unstable CPUs.

User avatar
Rumble
Deity
Posts: 6235
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:48 pm

Post by Rumble »

WOO!

This is very exciting. I am doing great things with macros right now.

User avatar
BigO
Dragon
Posts: 558
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 12:23 pm
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Contact:

Post by BigO »

Woo Hoo!

You know what time it is? Time to dance!!!
--O

I am a small and fragile flower.
http://maptool.rocks.andyousuck.com

User avatar
lmarkus001
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1867
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 12:30 am
Location: Layfayette Hill, PA

Post by lmarkus001 »

Keep up the great work!

And thanks for finally stomping that zooming bug!!!


Outstanding build issues leftover from B46/7:

It looks like Knizia.fan's changes are not getting incorporated...

Missing fixes.

The following items have threads where the developers stated they have submitted fixes but they have not made it in to this build.

1) Scroll bar for the input() dialog.
http://forums.rptools.net/viewtopic.php ... c&start=51

2) listGet() only works for a small set of delimiters.
http://forums.rptools.net/viewtopic.php ... &start=127

3) Graphics in listbox in input() function do no show the first time the input() is called but do on subsequent calls (and an error goes to the java console).
http://forums.rptools.net/viewtopic.php ... t&start=70

jimb
Kobold
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 5:46 pm

Post by jimb »

One more bug: setLibProperty(name, value [, lib]) throws an error if the lib is defaulted. However, getLibProperty(name [, lib]) seems to work properly.

jimb
Kobold
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 5:46 pm

Post by jimb »

Clear Group in the Campaign Macros panel only clears one macro from the group.

User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Post by trevor »

lmarkus001 wrote: It looks like Knizia.fan's changes are not getting incorporated...
Hmmm, I've applied all the patches from k.fan that I know of.

k.fan can you send me a patch with the items lmarkus is referring to ?
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

Post Reply

Return to “Announcements”