MapTool 1.3 Development Build 54

New build announcements plus site news and changes.

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei, Craig

Post Reply
User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

MapTool 1.3 Development Build 54

Post by trevor »

The "I can see the finish line from here" build

Almost entirely bug fixes and polish:

Build 54 (3/30/09)
* Tool->Zoom Lock toggle, prevents mouse wheel zooming
* Increase default stack size for launch scripts in the zip version to 512k
* Remove tooltip from Edit Macro Button dialog command field
* Spanish translation update (Contributed by Patricio)
* New table properties: Visible to players and Player executable (Contributed by Applekor)
* Revert inet addy lookup (doesn't work well with virtual nats) (Contributed by azhrei)
* Change "Broken" image to red X to differentiate from "Loading" question mark image
* Remove "(GM Only)" distinction from "Autoshow Fog" Preference
* Only PC tokens will autoshow fog, NPC tokens must be explicitly exposed
* Fix bug: Possible exception when trying to edit properties of new stamp (Contributed by Luca)
* Fix bug: Exception when performing undo when the map isn't visible to players
* Fix bug: Exception when rotating token
* Fix bug: Exception when mousing over a macro button when the player has no current map
* Fix bug: launching after MT had been on a secondary (projector) leaves the frame offscreen
* Fix bug: Exception when trying to show lights on a token that has an undefined light type
* Fix bug: Exception trying to set light source opacity to a negative number
* Fix bug: personal light (e.g. Darkvision) trumps all other light
* Fix bug: cut and copy on TokenPopupMenu does not work
* Fix bug: MT doesn't handle missing library directories gracefully
* Fix bug: token names are visible to player over the fog
* Fix bug: remote image repository index parser can't handle extra space or blank lines
* Fix bug: dropped rptoks are not uploading their images
* Fix bug: specifying an illegal format in light definitions throws an error
* Fix bug: tokens with auras cause a critical error when moving into the Vision Blocking Layer
* Fix bug: map selection popup list can pop off the screen
* Fix bug: possible exception when trying to move a token that someone else deleted

Contributed by applekor
* New table properties: Visible to players and Player executable
* BugFix: Disable Macro tab in the token editor dialog.
* BugFix: Propagate campaign macro changes to clients in realtime.
-Removed warning message to GM about the campaign needing to be reloaded following campaign macro changes.
-Removed checkbox in application preferences to hide/show warning message.
* BugFix: Macro affect halo artifact caused by aborted drag-and-drop operation.
* BugFix: [Prior to b54 release] "Show Table to Players" functionality was reversed.
* Cleanup: Player macro editing capabilities.
-Players now only have the "Run for Each Selected" option when right-clicking a campaign macro.
-Players no longer get a popup menu when right-clicking on a button group within the campaign macro panel.
-Added player macro editing default checkbox to application preferences. This determines whether or not new macros are player editable by default.

Contributed by Azhrei
* Revert inet addy lookup (doesn't work well with virtual nats)
* Changed the zoom level display in the statusbar to be editable; a percentage value can be entered in order to jump to a particular zoom level
* Fixed search of the I18N properties for all tools
* Fixed Rename Map's use of parameterized string from I18N
* Added beginning of chat log autosave implementation (currently non-functional) (two fields added to Edit->Preferences; added tooltips on some other fields)
* Add FileFilter for saving maps
* Fixed some NullPointerExceptions in the InitiativePanel
* Parameterized some strings that were hard-coded in InitiativePanel
* Fixed double-click on token in InitiativePanel not forcing players to same view when that mode is on (more work to do on this one)
* Added missing options to instruction strings in i18n.properties
* Updated French translation by forum user 'Natha'
* Fixed "asset://" URL handler so they will work within Swing components properly
* Modified the various messages for server starting/connecting so they were unique and could help identify which path the code had taken.
* Modified "portforward.com" messages to refer to the RPTools HOWTO forum instead.

Contributed by Craig W
* moveTokenToMap(ids, map, x, y, zorder) - Moves tokens from current map to specified map.
* moveTokenFrom(ids, map, x, y, zorder) - Moves tokens from specified map to current map.
In both cases ids can be either a single token id or a JSON list of tokens.
* getMatchingProperties(pattern, delim, id) - gets the names of the properties that match pattern from the token.
* getMatchingLibProperties(pattern, lib, delim, id) - gets the names of the properties that match pattern from the lib:token.
* All Strings for macro function errors, roll options, variable prompting etc have been extracted to the language property file so
that they can be translated into other languages.
* Token Properties now match variables and Default Properties in that they are no longer case sensitive
* Fix bug: json.sort now sorts objects of arrays sensibly instead of haphazardly, you can specify the fields to sort by after the direction.
* Fix bug: Token properties should now always be case insensitive, instead of the "some times they are some times they aren't" of previous versions.
* Fix bug: A few null pointer errors fixed in rare conditions in the json.* macro functions
* Fix bug: Several error messages tided up
* Fix bug: A couple of "unlikely to occur" errors that were being ignored or printed to console in MapToolLineParser are now being logged.
* Fix bug: fix an error in json.merge where it can not recognize objects correctly.
* Lights/Auras "repainted" correctly from macros where they need to be
* Fix a null pointer error when calling unknown macros on tokens
* getMacroButtonIndex() function corrected to return number
* Ouput from macro calls are formatted correctly if there is only rolls contained in the output.
* Fix problem with json.type on non json objects.
* copyToken accepts a JSON object in optional argument that allows changing of new token values
* raised limit for loops

A HUGE thank you to all the contributors. If I haven't gotten to your patch yet, don't worry, it's in the queue and there's still a couple 1.3 builds left.

If you find bugs in this release please post them in the MapTool->Bug Report forum.

Questions about functionality or clarifications should be posted directly to this thread.
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

User avatar
Hawke
Great Wyrm
Posts: 2261
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 12:12 am
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: MapTool 1.3 Development Build 54

Post by Hawke »

Loaded the b53 campaign just fine - few features I tested worked as expected. Good job, team! Will post any issues.

Taragnor
Cave Troll
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 6:18 pm

Re: MapTool 1.3 Development Build 54

Post by Taragnor »

How do you put in an autosave for the chat logs? There seems to be a function for it in preferences, but whenever i put in a log filename, it just erases it, so I'm not sure what the format is for that.

User avatar
palmer
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1367
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 7:54 pm

Re: MapTool 1.3 Development Build 54

Post by palmer »

Taragnor wrote:How do you put in an autosave for the chat logs?
tevor wrote:Added beginning of chat log autosave implementation (currently non-functional)

User avatar
Veggiesama
Dragon
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 1:18 am

Re: MapTool 1.3 Development Build 54

Post by Veggiesama »

Played around with light for a little bit. Glad to see all the problems are (so far) eliminated! Excellent build.
My D&D 4e Campaign FrameworkMy Shadowrun 4e Campaign Framework
RPGA#: 5223846427 — Skype: Veggiesama — Fear the ferret.

User avatar
Natha
Dragon
Posts: 733
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:37 am
Location: Limoges/Guéret, France
Contact:

Re: MapTool 1.3 Development Build 54

Post by Natha »

Yay to b54 !
So proud to have my name in the patch note :cry: :lol:
ImageImageImageImage

Cweord
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1343
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:49 am
Location: Midsomer Norton, (Near Bath), UK
Contact:

Re: MapTool 1.3 Development Build 54

Post by Cweord »

found one "glitch" bug is a bit of a strong term

On update, your layout settings all return to default - really agrivating if you spent ages getting the perfect layout.

Panes on a second monitor are still blank till you resize them.

and a new one - If you move tables to the second monitor, when you next open MT it resets the layout . . . .
Cweord

This message has been spell checked by Freudcheck - any mistakes are purley a figment of your imagination.
-------
My Tokens Directory
http://gallery.rptools.net/v/contrib/Cw ... er_Tokens/

User avatar
lmarkus001
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1867
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 12:30 am
Location: Layfayette Hill, PA

Re: MapTool 1.3 Development Build 54

Post by lmarkus001 »

Awesome list of fixes, thanks again and again!!!

New issue:

The window layout is no longer preserved. Every time I load MT I get the default layout.

Cweord
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1343
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:49 am
Location: Midsomer Norton, (Near Bath), UK
Contact:

Re: MapTool 1.3 Development Build 54

Post by Cweord »

Have you tried setting it with out having the tables window?

I found that was causing the issue for me.
Cweord

This message has been spell checked by Freudcheck - any mistakes are purley a figment of your imagination.
-------
My Tokens Directory
http://gallery.rptools.net/v/contrib/Cw ... er_Tokens/

User avatar
Rumble
Deity
Posts: 6235
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:48 pm

Re: MapTool 1.3 Development Build 54

Post by Rumble »

I can't get version B54 to start - it throws an NPE at the splash screen, and halts. This is my work computer (just wanted to see it, really) so it may be some sort of restriction on the machine, but here's the exception text:

Code: Select all

java.lang.NullPointerException
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.AppSetup.install(AppSetup.java:34)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.MapTool.initialize(MapTool.java:317)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.MapTool.access$2(MapTool.java:312)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.MapTool$6.run(MapTool.java:900)
	at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.swing.MapToolEventQueue.dispatchEvent(MapToolEventQueue.java:24)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
I have tried starting it from Windows launcher, and straight from the JAR (the .bat files don't work on this machine, so it may be that the above error is a result of the Java version or something).

1.3.b53 does run on this machine.

As a note, 1.3.b53 works fine on this system.

Edit: or at least, it did. I recently tried to restart 1.3.b53 and now it throws the same error. Hrm.
Last edited by Rumble on Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

raleel
Kobold
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:04 pm

Re: MapTool 1.3 Development Build 54

Post by raleel »

the LaunchMapTool-OSX.command needs a

perl -pi -e 's/\r\n/\n/g' LaunchMapTool-OSX.command

run on it before it will work. It also extracts as mode 644, and probably really should be 755.

User avatar
Rumble
Deity
Posts: 6235
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:48 pm

Re: MapTool 1.3 Development Build 54

Post by Rumble »

Okay, rapid follow up: apparently there was some sort of conflict or unfriendliness happening in the .maptool folder after I tried to run version b54. I deleted the .maptool folder and b54 started fine. Will let you know more as I find out more!


Edit: problem seems to have disappeared. No idea what happened. There are some even older versions on this machine (back to b48, I think). Maybe it was just a fluke, a file got corrupted or something.
Last edited by Rumble on Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
Posts: 11311
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Re: MapTool 1.3 Development Build 54

Post by trevor »

Rumble, that's odd. The line of code definitely has to do with the .maptool directory being readable. Not sure why it would have changed between the two versions. Might be related to the layouts reverting.
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

User avatar
simonutp
Giant
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:03 am
Location: Colmar, France

Re: MapTool 1.3 Development Build 54

Post by simonutp »

I played with colored vision in 1.3b54...Using a darkvision PC...
Here is the setting :
Image
Top left PC has a torch light source, (6m bright light, 12m shadowy) and a cone aura (detect magic)
Top right PC has a cone light source (18m bright, 36m shadowy) and a round 3m aura (Paladin)
Bottom PC has darkvision 18m (half Orc)
When put in place everything works.

First test : top left pc moves 2 cases down, BING! colored light is broken.
Image

Second test : Top right PCs changes facing of its cone shaped light : BING! again
Image

Third test : Top right PCs changes back the facing of its cone shaped light : Colored light is partially restored
Image

A manual screen shot, showing the visible areas of bottom token
Image

The cmpgn file
Last edited by simonutp on Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Rumble
Deity
Posts: 6235
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:48 pm

Re: MapTool 1.3 Development Build 54

Post by Rumble »

trevor wrote:Rumble, that's odd. The line of code definitely has to do with the .maptool directory being readable. Not sure why it would have changed between the two versions. Might be related to the layouts reverting.
Could be - like I said, it's gone now. I'll see if it happens on my home PC too, when I get home tonight.

Post Reply

Return to “Announcements”