RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:13 pm 






Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
User avatar  Offline
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
 
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject: Tool: Desktop Exporter
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 1:37 am 
With iCon coming up quickly, it was discussed that it would be cool to have a little tool that would periodically take a screencap of a section of screen and post it to an ftp site.

That way they could have a web page that had "What's happening now" images of all games and demos in progress.

The idea being to emulate the concept of a convention floor walker, just browsing around, seeing what's cool.

So I threw one together really quick. I think it turned out pretty well. It lets you pick a section of the screen and when ready click a button to cap it. The capture is then automatically uploaded to a ftp server and saved locally, depending on how you set up your project.

If MapTool didn't have built in screencap capability, this would be really useful for pbp and other similar things. (actually I'm tempted to leave it up and running and put up a "What's on my desktop now" web page)

Anyway, check it out, I've uploaded it to:

http://rptools.net/tools/desktopexporter.jar

Just download it and double click it. Then click the right hand icon (Properties), the rest should just kind make sense.

Note: This is a quick hack, expect bugs, and there is very little input validation (What's that, you want a "abc" x "sdd" constrained image ? OK)

_________________
Dreaming of a 1.3 release


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 9:01 pm
Posts: 800
Location: Beneath the Aurora Borealis
 Post subject: Re: Tool: Desktop Exporter
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 3:25 am 
trevor wrote:
...actually I'm tempted to leave it up and running and put up a "What's on my desktop now" web page...


It would be cool that along with the possible Maptool server/meetup area, have a matching screencap of the game before you join it...

Imagine coming to the lobby and "seeing" the games that are going on... :)

Would make people want to play... ;)

_________________
Game On!
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
 
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 7:56 am 
That would be cool

_________________
Dreaming of a 1.3 release


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
RPTools Team
 
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:05 pm
Posts: 5538
Location: Buffalo, NY
 Post subject: Re: Tool: Desktop Exporter
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 7:59 am 
trevor wrote:
Anyway, check it out, I've uploaded it to:

http://rptools.net/tools/desktopexporter.jar

Just download it and double click it. Then click the right hand icon (Properties), the rest should just kind make sense.


Um I downloaded it - it is a ZIP file and when I unzip it, I get a Meta-INF and NET folder along with .classpath and .project files.

Nothing to double click.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
RPTools Team
 
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:05 pm
Posts: 5538
Location: Buffalo, NY
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:01 am 
Oooohhhhh.

I renamed the .zip to a .jar and it worked.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:37 am
Posts: 627
Location: Brockton, MA
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:11 am 
dorpond wrote:
Oooohhhhh.

I renamed the .zip to a .jar and it worked.


Stop using IE and you would not have that problem Image

_________________
--
Big Mac


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
RPTools Team
 
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:05 pm
Posts: 5538
Location: Buffalo, NY
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:20 am 
Yeah right Mac Attack! ;)

Hey Trevor, silly question but would you also want the option for the files to overwrite themselves in the preferences? Currently it increments the file name (file1, file2, etc)(which I also like btw). I would imagine that the amount of images will grow fast and some might not want that.

Just a thought - I am just imagining 50 demos each snapping like crazy and ftp server space going bye-bye quickly.

Very cool app though! I like it and can find many uses for it!


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
 
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:40 am 
Actually, in the first pass, the local copies are full quality and increment in numbers, the remote version is constrained by the size you specify and overwrites with the same name. I imagine these could be parameterized.

The idea with the incrementing values is that you could easily create a timelapse movie of you game/whatever.

Currently if you restart the app and use the same name, it will overwrite the existing incremental files

_________________
Dreaming of a 1.3 release


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman