Using [g:] problems

Doc requests, organization, and submissions

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

Post Reply
User avatar
skester
Giant
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 3:44 pm

Using [g:] problems

Post by skester »

Hey all,

I'm having some trouble with these...
[s: ] - only display to self
[g: ] - only display to GM
[w("name"): ] - only display to specific player
[st: ] - only display tooltip to self
[gt: ] - only display tooltip to GM
I dunno if my situation is unique or not, but the macro's I'm using usually rely on "impersonated" due to my players wanting to not worry about having their guy selected. They are usually called from a dialog box. The outpu is "all" and that's probably what is doing it.

I noticed this doesn't work with [g:]. I wanted to have a note displayed to me but not the players, but got some wacky stuff.

Just making a regular macro, this works.

Code: Select all

[h: Line1="How is it"]
[h: Line2="going today"]
[h: Line3="you bastard"]
[h: Line4="?"]

[r: Line1]
[r: Line2]
[g: Line3]
[r: Line4]
For the players it displays
"How is it going today ?"

for me

"How is it going today you bastard ?" with "you bastard" having a tooltip showing "line 3"

But when I try in my macro I get...

How is it going today gLine3 = you bastardyou bastard«  ?
Attacks with Longsword
Attack Roll: Critical Failure
Damage Roll: 11  »

For both myself and the player.


The macro in question is called by a form

Code: Select all

[h: FormAction = macroLinkText( getMacroName()+"@"+getMacroLocation(), "all") ]

Code: Select all

[if(NoAttack==0): evalMacro('[Macro("_NewAttack@lib:tome"):AttackCondition]')]
Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Skester

kbielefe
Kobold
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:56 pm

Re: Using [g:] problems

Post by kbielefe »

I'm not sure I completely understood the problem, but I believe you want to add an [r:] roll option both to the [g:] and to the [if:] lines (i.e. [r,g: "whatever"])

User avatar
skester
Giant
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 3:44 pm

Re: Using [g:] problems

Post by skester »

I tried using [r,g:] Still didn't work.

Too bad. May have to do that it's in a trusted macro as well.

Skester

kbielefe
Kobold
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:56 pm

Re: Using [g:] problems

Post by kbielefe »

Hmm, maybe also an r,Macro on the one inside the evalMacro? I've been having a few quirks with this myself, like when trying to combine it with a for loop or other CODE blocks, so maybe your situation just plain doesn't work yet, either. Still trying to pin it down enough to make a bug report.

User avatar
skester
Giant
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 3:44 pm

Re: Using [g:] problems

Post by skester »

Thank you!

Code: Select all

[r,if(NoAttack==0): evalMacro('[Macro("_NewAttack@lib:tome"):AttackCondition]')]
Now it's working great! And that also gets rid of those annoying macro tooltips as well, which is really nice.

Appreciate it.
Skester

Post Reply

Return to “Documentation Requests/Discussion”