RuneLords Hook Mountain Massacre

Tell us how you are using our gaming tools and how your sessions are going.

Moderator: Azhrei

Paradox
Dragon

RuneLords Hook Mountain Massacre

Post by Paradox »

At long last, I actually restarted my face to face campaign using MapTools, just last night. I emphasize the 'at long last' because I have haunted these boards for a long time without actually running a game.

Not being a programmer, I was daunted for a long time, believing that advanced programming skills were necessary. I received the (good) suggestion to start small and simple and just build up my familiarity with MapTools. However, I didn't take that advice in the strictest sense. For me, I needed a certain amount of functionality, or it just wouldn't seem like a proper game to me. The compromise that I arrived at was learning a campaign framework and being happy with the level of automation that it provided, and know and understand where I had to do things the 'old fashined way'.

So how did it go?

It went great. Not without some problems, but overall it went just fine.

The big problem actually had nothing to do with MapTools. One player could just not get Ventrilo to work on his Desktop. He could hear everyone else, but either his microphone was bad, or there was a software conflict between his soundcard and Ventrilo (he was getting errors that reported a problem with CaptureBuffering in the inbound (whatever the hell that means). Basically he could hear all of us just fine, but could not speak. We played anyway, and he relied on the chat window so that his character could speak and communicate his actions. Again, from a design and development perspective, this was not MapTools' problem.