Keep on the Shadowfell (DnD 4e)

Tell us how you are using our gaming tools and how your sessions are going.

Moderator: Azhrei

versatek
Kobold

Keep on the Shadowfell (DnD 4e)

Post by versatek »

I have recently been running two Keep on the Shadowfell (DnD4e) campaigns with two different groups of players. I'm new to this toolset and forum, so forgive me if my post isn't very well written. I think I'll just break it down into outline form so you can see how i've been dealing with the various elements of running a 4e campaign on maptool.

I. Configuration
- A friend I met on these forums (thanks DRAKE!!!) did most of the heavy lifting here. I used his 4e config file and modified it slightly to fit my style. He also created a special rule set for NPC characters with simplified stats that only show for the DM. I've pasted it below: (you should modify this in whichever way suits you. I don't pretend to think this is the best config).

----PC:----

Level
HLM
Strength (STR)
STRMod
Constitution (CON)
CONMod
Dexterity (DEX)
DEXMod
Intelligence (INT)
INTMod
Wiisdom (WIS)
WISMod
Charisma (CHA)
CHAMod
*HitPoints (HP)
*ArmorClass (AC)
*FortitudeDefense (FORT)
*ReflexDefense (REF)
*WillDefense (WILL)
*Movement (Move)
*ActionPoints
*HealingSurges
*Surges_Left
SurgeValue
*Initiative (Init)
Acrobatics
Arcana
Athletics
Bluff
Diplomacy
Dungeoneering
Endurance
Healing
History
Insight
Intimidate
Nature
Perception
Religion
Stealth
Streetwise
Thievery
XP

---NPC:---

*#HP
*#AC
*#Init
*#Movement (Mov)
*#Fort
*#Ref
*#Will

II. PCs and NPCs
- I took the NPCs and monsters from the campaign book and created tokens with macros and stats for all of them and saved them to a resource library. This makes it very easy to set up the encounters for each session with a minimum of prep time. If the party goes in a direction i wasn't anticipating, it doesnt take long to quickly drop the monsters on the map and sketch up a quick area map on the fly.