RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:03 pm 






Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 9:02 pm
Posts: 4
 Post subject: hero lab to mt
PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 9:16 pm 
im am new and i am looking for a good way to bring my hero lab info over into maptools i dont know anything about coding so im just looking for a ready made way and my head is spinning from the forums


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 3698
Location: MD
 Post subject: Re: hero lab to mt
PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 11:00 pm 
karrel wrote:
im am new and i am looking for a good way to bring my hero lab info over into maptools i dont know anything about coding so im just looking for a ready made way and my head is spinning from the forums

Someone built a Hero Labs Pathfinder to Maptool converter a while back, but I don't know how good it is, whether it's compatible with newer versions of Hero Labs, or how useful it would be to someone who isn't all that familiar with Maptools. Further, the macros it uses/supports may or may not offer the functionality you're looking for... and figuring out how to use them could be more challenging than it's worth.

To begin with, when you say "bring my hero lab info into maptools" the degree and functionality of such a thing would span a massive spectrum of possibilities. You would really have to define what that means. If you want MT to do everything Hero Labs does, I suspect you would be sorely disappointed. Hero Labs is a commercial, specialized character sheet/tool for system specific mechanics. Maptool is a fairly agnostic Virtual Table Top with a powerful scripting system. Two very different things. Like holding a physical character sheet in one hand and looking at a table with miniatures on it and trying to figure out how you're going to make them work with one another.

Truth is, if you're not a coder and not familiar with MT, you should start by using it just like you would use miniatures on a table. Deploy tokens on maps, give then some vision, and move them around to illustrate what's happening. Let your players manage their characters in Hero Labs. In time, as you get more comfortable with what MT can do and how to set things up, you'll be able to expand that functionality. For example, one of the first things you might want to learn how to do after learning how to use the virtual table is track hit points on character tokens. And learning how to do that simple task will open all sorts of doors. But, first, learn how to use it as a Virtual Table before you try to do all the other things it can do.

_________________
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 9:02 pm
Posts: 4
 Post subject: Re: hero lab to mt
PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 1:03 am 
thank you for the reply, and i guess i am what they say jumping in over my head. I think i will just use it for the mapping aspects. Time to slow down and see what i can do with MT


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9375
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: hero lab to mt
PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 3:25 am 
Check out the first link in my sig.

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:59 am
Posts: 1659
Location: Chicagoland
 Post subject: Re: hero lab to mt
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2016 10:41 am 
Which game system? For Pathfinder, using LM's framework there is a "Statblock" importer. So in HL via File menu, you get the "statblock" and paste it into a macro, it parses it and builds the properties for the token.

It gets you mostly there.

In reality, HL -> MapTool is more of a HL -> Framework, as each framework can use different properties (and prop names) and may use more or less than other frameworks. ie one may just use HP, Attributes and AC. Another may also add in weapons, DR, spells, etc. Depends on how involved you want to get.

A more direct HL importer is on the roadmap though, although no committed dates yet. I use HL for Pathfinder quite a lot so it's something I'm personally invested in...

_________________
-Jamz
____________________
Custom MapTool 1.4.x.x Fork: maptool.nerps.net
More information here: MapTool Nerps! Fork | TokenTool Nerps! Fork
Custom TokenTool (version 1.0b33): TokenTool.exe


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman