Rp tools for android based OS

We are always looking for new tools to create to help facilitate the table top gaming experience. Let us know if you have an idea for a new gaming tool you'd like to see. (Note: this is NOT for feature requests on existing tools!)

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

KilKidd
Kobold

Rp tools for android based OS

Post by KilKidd »

I think that a RP tools for android would greatly improve many players games, as this will not only allow a portable map, even if they are not using maptools, they can still use the other functionality of the other tools, such as dice and character tools. Also, this would be fairly easy to port if RP tools is written in JAVA. Also, if there is a project that has been started like this, I would be willing to join in, as I am a fairly advanced JAVA/Android programmer already.

edit:: this would mostly be designed for tablet based androids, but would work just as well on phones.

Azhrei
Site Admin

Re: Rp tools for android based OS

Post by Azhrei »

KilKidd wrote:Also, this would be fairly easy to port if RP tools is written in JAVA.
It is (written in Java), but it won't be that easy a port. The Java available on Android is a version of Java ME (IIRC) and there are plenty of missing libraries compared to Java SE (what MapTool uses).

In any case, I would be happy to consult on such a product. I don't have an Android-based device myself, but I can still get excited about such a project. :)

Btw, there is MaPnakotic for the iPhone (not Java). Search the forums for threads by gandreas if you're interested.

KilKidd
Kobold

Post by KilKidd »

eh, any JAVA is easy to port to android (imo), we'd just have to fix the missing libraries (android pretty much re-wrote JACA anyway). Don't know much about iphone, and apple development, don't want to get that license. In the case that nearly any code cannot be reused, this project would be fairly large in scope.

Azhrei
Site Admin

Post by Azhrei »