RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:00 am 






Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:49 pm
Posts: 495
Location: Somewhere between Heaven and Hell
 Post subject: [macro.return] and frames
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:58 pm 
I'm having trouble using a macro.return function in a frame. Basically, I have a frame that takes player input. I send that information to another macro to be calculated. What I'd like that to do, is use a macro.return function to then display that information at the bottom of the same frame. It seems, though, that macro.return isn't working <form action***>.

A, is this even possible?
B, if not, is there some workaround? Perhaps reloading the same frame from the same calling macro with new jsons?

_________________
"An arrogant person considers himself perfect. This is the chief harm of arrogance. It interferes with a person's main task in life - becoming a better person." - Leo Tolstoy

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9427
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: [macro.return] and frames
PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:21 am 
its possible, but not with macro.return. a different method is required: Forms tutorial

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:49 pm
Posts: 495
Location: Somewhere between Heaven and Hell
 Post subject: Re: [macro.return] and frames
PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 1:52 pm 
Not exactly what I was looking for - I used that tutorial to build my onChange~ character sheet. However, I just used a workaround like I mentioned above where the sheet is simply re-opened with the rolled information in place. Didn't want to do that, because it's a lot trickier, but since a simple macro.return wouldn't work, I guess I had no choice.

Thanks for the response, Wolph!

_________________
"An arrogant person considers himself perfect. This is the chief harm of arrogance. It interferes with a person's main task in life - becoming a better person." - Leo Tolstoy

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7969
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: [macro.return] and frames
PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:03 pm 
Yeah, there's no javascript so any changes made require the form to be redrawn. It's usually called a call back from another function. So, the macro you call needs call the callback to redraw the frame.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:59 am
Posts: 1722
Location: Chicagoland
 Post subject: Re: [macro.return] and frames
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:10 am 
FYI there is some javascript support in the dev version and my fork, although I have not played with it at all... Do a search and you should find some info?

Again, not sure if it will help you in this situation though, it's mostly an alternative way of doing macro logic AFAIK.

_________________
-Jamz
____________________
Custom MapTool 1.4.x.x Fork: maptool.nerps.net
Custom TokenTool 2.0 Fork: tokentool.nerps.net
More information here: MapTool Nerps! Fork


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:49 pm
Posts: 495
Location: Somewhere between Heaven and Hell
 Post subject: Re: [macro.return] and frames
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:43 am 
I know absolutely nothing about javascript, and pretty much any html I use, I just use w3schools to tell me what I'm doing XD.

I just used the normal method of [openFrame] macro, [theSheet], and refreshing it all through macro.args. I was honestly just looking for a shortcut to that process, but it is what it is, and I'll get the job done one way or the other!

Thanks though, Jamz.

_________________
"An arrogant person considers himself perfect. This is the chief harm of arrogance. It interferes with a person's main task in life - becoming a better person." - Leo Tolstoy

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:59 am
Posts: 1722
Location: Chicagoland
 Post subject: Re: [macro.return] and frames
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 11:36 am 
No problem, definitely stick with what you are doing then! :)

_________________
-Jamz
____________________
Custom MapTool 1.4.x.x Fork: maptool.nerps.net
Custom TokenTool 2.0 Fork: tokentool.nerps.net
More information here: MapTool Nerps! Fork


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 1 guest





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman