[B91-1.4.1.8, Nerps] Macro Writing Starter Kit

Discuss macro implementations, ask for macro help (to share your creations, see User Creations, probably either Campaign Frameworks or Drop-in Resources).

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei, giliath, jay, Mr.Ice

aliasmask
RPTools Team

[B91-1.4.1.8, Nerps] Macro Writing Starter Kit

Post by aliasmask »

I've put together some files and tokens to help those interested in writing their own macros. I've been writing macros for many years and I still use all of these resources in each project.

VIDEO EXAMPLE OF HOW TO USE

Last Updates:
  • 11-25-18 - OP page rewrite
  • 12-01-18 - Minor config.xml update
  • 5-23-19 - MISSING APIs Folder (1:50 of video): The newer version 7.6.6 has an "autoComplete" folder under Notepad++ folder. Put maptool.xml there instead.
Notepad++
I like writing macros in my own text editor (notepad++) so I edit multiple macros at once. I put together some files in a zip to modify notepad++ to include function descriptions, special coloring and code collapsing. The config files include all the functions from the wiki including the nerps only functions up to 11-25-18. Those are listed as 1.4.1.9 and 1.4.2.0 in the wiki.
notepad++ example.jpg
notepad++ example.jpg (39.5 KiB) Viewed 10752 times
Starter - Notepad++ Config Files 12-01-18.zip
(37.9 KiB) Downloaded 776 times
README - Notepad++ Config Files

Code: Select all

After extracting the Notepad++ Config Files to a new folder,

copy files to these locations:

C:\Users\[YOUR NAME]\AppData\Roaming\Notepad++
    AppData.Roaming.Notepad++ files, not folder

Files Included:
   config.xml (optional) - has my common settings
   functionList.xml (optional) - contains regex to display function list for Notepad++ feature
   shortcuts.xml - Has Ctrl-Shift-C macro for copying a function block from Notepad++ to RPEdit
   userDefineLang.xml (required) - contains the color coding of functions and variables for MapTool