Multiple Java Errors. AutoSave Failed and a Warning

Confirmed bugs should get a single post here. Check the READ ME FIRST sticky thread for the format.

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei, giliath, jay, Mr.Ice, MapTool BugReport Manager

Forum rules
Posts that do not conform to the READ ME FIRST sticky thread are subject to deletion.
Post Reply
Lucius Dawnstar
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:47 am

Multiple Java Errors. AutoSave Failed and a Warning

Post by Lucius Dawnstar »

java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space

Before that one appeared, there was a Warning. It was much longer with more details, but before I could copy/paste it, it was covered by the un-closeable, "java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space" errors, which warped the screen image if you tried to move them. I could not close out the program normally either.

Windows Task Manager claims it was Running. I had to close it out by Ending Program, as it wouldn't close or even line down.

This is the 2nd day in a row this has happened. If it happens again, I'll try to be quicker to get the information in the Warning for you to read, rather than cussing about losing data. :oops:

User avatar
wolph42
Winter Wolph
Posts: 9999
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:40 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Multiple Java Errors. AutoSave Failed and a Warning

Post by wolph42 »

Check the log there's the lot. See debug link in sig for more info.

What's more important: when did this happen.
Also : can you provide us with the debug info, it's under the help menu.

Lucius Dawnstar
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:47 am

Re: Multiple Java Errors. AutoSave Failed and a Warning

Post by Lucius Dawnstar »

I tried looking at your Wiki Debugging Tutorial, and Wiki Avoiding Stack Overflow. However those both apply to making Macros. I was not making a Macro, to be honest, I've been using MapTool for about 2 1/2 weeks now, and haven't learned how to do that yet, so I don't have any Macros period.

The Out of Memory, Stack Overflow, AutoSave Failed, and I forget the name of the Warning occurred while I was creating a town map in advance for future play on a large touch screen projector board. I can't remember if I was moving or adding something at the times the errors occured.

Here's the Info from Debug. My real name and IP Address being redacted.

==== MapTool Information ====
MapTool Version: 1.3.b89
MapTool Home...: C:\Users\Name\.maptool
Max mem avail..: 247M
Max mem used...: 247M

==== Java Information ====
Java Vendor.: Oracle Corporation
Java Home...: C:\Program Files\Java\jre7
Java Version: 1.7.0_25
Result of executing 'java -version':
............: Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_25-b17)
............: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 23.25-b01, mixed mode, sharing)


==== OS Information ====
OS Name........: Windows Vista
OS Version.....: 6.0
OS Architecture: x86
PATH...........: C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin;C:\Windows\Sun\Java\bin;C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Common;C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\system32\wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0;C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTSystem;.
Number of Procs: 3

==== User Information ====
User Name: Name
User Home: C:\Users\Name
User Dir.: C:\Users\Name\Downloads\maptool-1.3.b89

==== Network Interfaces ====
Display Name..: Software Loopback Interface 1
Interface Name: lo
Address...: 127.0.0.1
Address...: 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1

Display Name..: Linksys Wireless-G USB Network Adapter with SpeedBooster v2
Interface Name: net3
Address...: 192.168.1.5
Address...: fe80:0:0:0:48f7:fb8:700d:1856%11

Display Name..: Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Interface Name: net4
Address...: 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:10d3:221d:3f57:fefa
Address...: fe80:0:0:0:10d3:221d:3f57:fefa%12

Host Address...: Removed
Default Gateway: Removed

==== Locale Information ====
Country.: United States
Language: English
Locale..: English (United States)
Variant.:

==== Display Information ====
Number of Displays: 1
Display 1: 1024x768(32)

==== Internet Gateway Devices ====
No IGDs Found!

User avatar
Full Bleed
Demigod
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Location: FL

Re: Multiple Java Errors. AutoSave Failed and a Warning

Post by Full Bleed »

Lucius Dawnstar wrote: Max mem avail..: 247M
Max mem used...: 247M
You're using too little memory.

Create a .bat file in your MT directory with the following settings and use it to run MT:
set STACK=4M
set MAXMEM=1024M
set JAVA=javaw
set VERS=1.3.b89

start "MapTool" %JAVA% -Xmx%MAXMEM% -Xss%STACK% -jar maptool-%VERS%.jar run
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."

Lucius Dawnstar
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:47 am

Re: Multiple Java Errors. AutoSave Failed and a Warning

Post by Lucius Dawnstar »

Okay, I created the file.

Right away I can see, at least from the Debug Menu, that there's been a change.

Went from using the max of 247M to...

Max mem avail..: 989M
Max mem used...: 387M

I'm guessing I made the town a little large and detailed. :oops:

User avatar
Full Bleed
Demigod
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Location: FL

Re: Multiple Java Errors. AutoSave Failed and a Warning

Post by Full Bleed »

Lucius Dawnstar wrote:I'm guessing I made the town a little large and detailed. :oops:
You didn't go too large. The default 256m is just too small for most normal use in this day and age. In 2007 it was ok. Not so much now. ;)

But keep an eye on your memory usage in the bottom right hand corner of MT and pay attention ot the size of the graphics you are using. No reason to use a uber high resolution door, for example, when something much smaller will suffice.

Also, keep in mind that if you move to a 64 bit OS, you can install the 64 bit version of Java and increase your Mem Max even more (as well as receive performance benefits just from running 64 bit.) With a 32 bit OS, I would not go above 1.3gigs (the bat above set you at 1 gig.)
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."

Lucius Dawnstar
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:47 am

Re: Multiple Java Errors. AutoSave Failed and a Warning

Post by Lucius Dawnstar »

In a related question...

I save my campaign to my Jump drive and take my campaign to another place to play it with a Pathfinder group which uses a large projector screen. The problem I've been running into is that I'm experiencing the same errors, locking up, and crashing when attempting to play this campaign, as the laptop attached to the projector screen runs Windows 8, where as my home PC is Vista. We've tried creating the .bat file on that PC, but it just brings up lines of code when clicked on instead of opening Maptool like it does on my computer.

How would I go about fixing this problem on Windows 8, or could we be doing something wrong when we created the .bat file on the laptop?

User avatar
wolph42
Winter Wolph
Posts: 9999
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:40 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Multiple Java Errors. AutoSave Failed and a Warning

Post by wolph42 »

I use mt on win8 so thats not it. Most likely its a path issue. My advise would be to move onto b90 (stablest version so far) which also has a launcher, making life a lot easier. (Link in sig)

Post Reply

Return to “Bug Reports”