Maptool keeps crashing on me

Confirmed bugs should get a single post here. Check the READ ME FIRST sticky thread for the format.

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei, giliath, jay, Mr.Ice, MapTool BugReport Manager

Forum rules
Posts that do not conform to the READ ME FIRST sticky thread are subject to deletion.
Post Reply
pandapentium94
Kobold
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 7:00 pm

Maptool keeps crashing on me

Post by pandapentium94 »

I really need some ones help to fix this. I've been working on a pretty massive map and I cant keep working on it because this keeps popping up

java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
at java.awt.image.DataBufferInt.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.image.Raster.createPackedRaster(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.image.DirectColorModel.createCompatibleWritableRaster(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.image.BufferedImage.<init>(Unknown Source)
at net.rptools.maptool.client.ui.zone.ZoneRenderer.renderTokens(ZoneRenderer.java:2483)
at net.rptools.maptool.client.ui.zone.ZoneRenderer.renderZone(ZoneRenderer.java:1037)
at net.rptools.maptool.client.ui.zone.ZoneRenderer.paintComponent(ZoneRenderer.java:685)
at javax.swing.JComponent.paint(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent.paint(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent.paintToOffscreen(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.RepaintManager$PaintManager.paintDoubleBuffered(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.RepaintManager$PaintManager.paint(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.RepaintManager.paint(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent._paintImmediately(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent.paintImmediately(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.RepaintManager$4.run(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.RepaintManager$4.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.RepaintManager.paintDirtyRegions(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.RepaintManager.paintDirtyRegions(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.RepaintManager.prePaintDirtyRegions(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.RepaintManager.access$1300(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.RepaintManager$ProcessingRunnable.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$500(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)

User avatar
Full Bleed
Demigod
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Location: FL

Re: Maptool keeps crashing on me

Post by Full Bleed »

pandapentium94 wrote:I really need some ones help to fix this. I've been working on a pretty massive map and I cant keep working on it because this keeps popping up

java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
1) Post your Help>Gather Debug Information so we know what your memory configuration is.

2) Are you using 64 Bit Java?
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."

User avatar
aliasmask
RPTools Team
Posts: 9024
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: Maptool keeps crashing on me

Post by aliasmask »

If you have a 64bit system with at least 4 gigs, I recommend installing the 64bit java version and using 2048 for max mem and 3 for stack. If I recall min mem is 64 and shouldn't be any higher.

You can also try connecting with a .bat file:

Code: Select all

javaw -Xmx1024M -Xss3M -jar maptool-1.3.b91.jar
or for 64bit

Code: Select all

javaw -Xmx2048M -Xss3M -jar maptool-1.3.b91.jar
I recommend removing all java installs and re-installing if you don't have the 64-bit version and can use it.

pandapentium94
Kobold
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 7:00 pm

Re: Maptool keeps crashing on me

Post by pandapentium94 »

==== MapTool Information ====
MapTool Version: 1.3.b91
MapTool Home...: C:\Users\Jeremiah\.maptool
Max mem avail..: 247M
Max mem used...: 74M

==== Java Information ====
Java Vendor.: Oracle Corporation
Java Home...: C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.8.0_45
Java Version: 1.8.0_45
Result of executing 'java -version':
............: Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_45-b14)
............: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 25.45-b02, mixed mode, sharing)


==== OS Information ====
OS Name........: Windows 7
OS Version.....: 6.1
OS Architecture: x86
PATH...........: C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.8.0_45\bin;C:\Windows\Sun\Java\bin;C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Common;C:\ProgramData\Oracle\Java\javapath;C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;C:\Program Files\7-Zip;C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin;.
Number of Procs: 4

==== User Information ====
User Name: Jeremiah
User Home: C:\Users\Jeremiah
User Dir.: F:\TableTop Games Stuff\Tools\MapTool

==== Network Interfaces ====
Display Name..: Software Loopback Interface 1
Interface Name: lo
Address...: 127.0.0.1
Address...: 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1

Display Name..: Belkin USB Wireless Adaptor
Interface Name: wlan3
Address...: 192.168.1.100
Address...: fe80:0:0:0:857d:14f5:7a80:d9d1%wlan3

Display Name..: Hamachi Network Interface
Interface Name: eth5
Address...: 25.116.60.106
Address...: 2620:9b:0:0:0:0:1974:3c6a
Address...: fe80:0:0:0:65b1:c9d2:64fc:83e6%eth5

Display Name..: Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Interface Name: net5
Address...: fe80:0:0:0:200:5efe:1974:3c6a%net5

Display Name..: Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Interface Name: net7
Address...: fe80:0:0:0:0:5efe:c0a8:164%net7

Host Address...: 192.168.1.100
Default Gateway: 25.0.0.1

==== Locale Information ====
Country.: United States
Language: English
Locale..: English (United States)
Variant.:

==== Display Information ====
Number of Displays: 1
Display 1: 1360x768(32)

==== Internet Gateway Devices ====
No IGDs Found!



My name is not Jeremiah... I just can't figure out how to change my computers profile name, (the folder under C:). But there is the help>Debug info

User avatar
aliasmask
RPTools Team
Posts: 9024
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: Maptool keeps crashing on me

Post by aliasmask »

Looks like you have both java 7 and 8 installed. You should remove both, restart computer and re-install just one of them (64bit version). Your memory is really low, so you should increase it when you run the launcherXXX.jar file. I recommend either 1024 or 2048 (only if you install the 64bit version of java and have 4 gigs of system memory). Also, set your stack size to 3 in the launcher.

User avatar
Full Bleed
Demigod
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Location: FL

Re: Maptool keeps crashing on me

Post by Full Bleed »

aliasmask wrote:Looks like you have both java 7 and 8 installed. You should remove both, restart computer and re-install just one of them (64bit version).
He can't. He's running 32 bit windows.

I concur that he should go ahead and remove all Java versions and just reinstall one for clarity's sake.
Your memory is really low, so you should increase it when you run the launcherXXX.jar file. I recommend either 1024 or 2048 (only if you install the 64bit version of java and have 4 gigs of system memory). Also, set your stack size to 3 in the launcher.
Given his memory configuration, I suspect he is launching MT with the wrong file.

So, to be clear pandapentium94, please start MT using the launcherXXX.jar file.

Set your Max memory configuration to 1024. Min to 64. Stack to 3 or 4.

That should stop the memory problems you're having. If you run into more memory problems you can go up to around 1396 Max safely. Otherwise you'll need to install a 64 bit OS and the 64 bit version of Java.
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."

User avatar
aliasmask
RPTools Team
Posts: 9024
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: Maptool keeps crashing on me

Post by aliasmask »

Full Bleed wrote:
aliasmask wrote:Looks like you have both java 7 and 8 installed. You should remove both, restart computer and re-install just one of them (64bit version).
He can't. He's running 32 bit windows.
This line: C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.8.0_45\bin;

Seems to contradict that unless java 8 always puts the 32bit version in that path. Ah, that does seem to be the case. Java 7 didn't do it that way which is what threw me off, but I see OS Architecture: x86 is non-64bit.

pandapentium94
Kobold
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 7:00 pm

Re: Maptool keeps crashing on me

Post by pandapentium94 »

I do have both Java 7 and Java 8 installed. Its for various games I play on here. But when I need one active I just activate it and/or change the path to that jre file. The maptool launcher has fixed my problem so far. What I was originally doing is downloading the file using the RPTool Launch option on their site, downloading that jnlp file and using that in hopes it would do what the site said and increase the memory alotment. But it never did, in fact the one time it worked it decreased my max memory to 64 mb or so... But the Launcher has increased the memory I can use. Thank you guys for helping me out! :D

Post Reply

Return to “Bug Reports”