No feats or powers - blank pop-up message

Discussion of and support for D&D 4e.

Moderators: dorpond, Azhrei

geekomancer
Kobold

No feats or powers - blank pop-up message

Post by geekomancer »

Hi guys, I am brand new to Map Tools, and trying to figure out CharacterTools (v 1b11, Mac OS X, Java v 6se (64bit)). I am not a programmer, so please be patient in your replies.

When I created a character, and tried to add feats or powers, I got a blank pop-up message. The warning said nothing, and I couldn't add any feats or powers. I'm guessing this is because I don't have the dnd4e.rpgame file installed correctly.

I looked for a data file inside the program (read package contents???), but found nothing like a .rpgame file. I downloaded the data file "dnd4e.rpgame" (from the link in this thread), but wasn't sure how to load it so that CharacterTools could read it.

I am working my way through the video tutorials, but there doesn't seem to be anything specifically for Character Tools. Looks like a very powerful suite of programs.

A few other things (bugs?) I noticed: clicking on the empty portrait on the character sheet didn't do anything. Also, when I changed data in the "property table" view of the character sheet, it didn't change them in the character sheet view.

The source book feature (in character tools) sounds like a nice idea, especially with wiznerds prolific output.

Please help a noob, and keep up the good work.

Thanks!

Tinmanjr
Kobold

Re: No feats or powers - blank pop-up message

Post by Tinmanjr »

The blank pop-ups when adding a feat or power is likely caused by you using the webstart function thing. DL the program and run it that way. Solved the problem for me.

Tinmanjr
Kobold

Post by Tinmanjr »

As for the property table, I believe that you have to assign ownership and put the type as basic for it to work.

geekomancer
Kobold

Post by geekomancer »