HERO Support

Thoughts, Help, Feature Requests, Bug Reports, Developing code for...

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

Forum rules
PLEASE don't post images of your entire desktop, attach entire campaign files when only a single file is needed, or generally act in some other anti-social behavior. :)
mudpyr8
Giant

HERO Support

Post by mudpyr8 »

You guys seem really receptive to input so I'm gonna make a pitch for Hero support. This has been very difficult to find - some tools handle it better than others. I've been trying out MapTool and I can tell you, honestly, that I really want to use this product.

I have used Klooge, WebRPG, OpenRPG, GameTable, Battlegrounds, and ScreenMonkey. I have written scripts for Hero support in ScreenMonkey, and written PHP & Python Dice rollers that support Hero. I have been running my weekly game in Klooge now for over 3 years, so I have had a lot of experience using tools like yours on a regular basis.

MapTool is clean, simple, and does its job well. All software has bugs, but I didn't encounter anything that I thought was an issue. This is the exact product I have been looking for for years, minus the Hero support.

Now, by adding Hero support you are directly/indirectly adding support for GURPS as well. Something to think about.

Main Features Needed, in order of priority:
1. Hex Grid Support. Even a staggered square grid would help, but a true hex. I know this is a more complex grid algorithm, but this is the main piece.
2. User specified grid units. Hero uses 2m per Hex. GURPS 1m per Hex. I can certainly deal with 5' per Hex, and know if the software says I've moved 35' I have moved 7 hexes, but it would be nice if the software reported whatever scale I require.