RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Tue Jul 25, 2017 11:50 am 




Forum rules


PLEASE don't post images of your entire desktop, attach entire campaign files when only a single file is needed, or generally act in some other anti-social behavior. :)



Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 1:50 am
Posts: 4
 Post subject: Green lines - Draw Tool Problem - b90/91
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 3:00 am 
EDIT BY MODERATOR. BELOW ISSUE IS SOLVED BY TAKING THE FOLLOWING STEPS:
In the .maptool directory (usually c:\users\[username]\.maptool) go into mt.cfg and change "MAPTOOL_DATADIR=../../.maptool" into "MAPTOOL_DATADIR=.maptool". You should notice that the problem is gone.


Whenever I use the draw tool, it creates a large grid square around any points where I used the draw tool. The squares never disappear unless I undo whatever I drew. Does anyone know how to stop this grid from appearing? Thanks!


grid.png
grid.png [ 101.36 KiB | Viewed 3218 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 12:33 am
Posts: 3
 Post subject: Re: Draw Tool Problem - b90
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 4:10 am 
I am having this same problem. Spent several hours combing through every setting in b90 for something that got rid of it when turned off. Extremely frustrating, considering my gaming group lost half the session last week to MapTool-related technical issues which we (hopefully) have finally resolved, only for me to open MapTool up in preparation for our game today to find this.

This was not a problem last week (Thursday the 17th) when we switched over to b90 initially. I don't know why it's shown up all of a sudden, and it affects both new drawings and drawings which were already on the map. PLEASE respond with information on how to get this off my screen. Thank you!


File comment: The problem in question.
DrawGridProblem.png
DrawGridProblem.png [ 220.61 KiB | Viewed 3184 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9268
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Draw Tool Problem - b90
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:14 pm 
This is completely new and unprecedented. I've been using b90 for over a year now without issue and others as well we've never seen this.

Can you provide debug info (menu help debug info)

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 12:33 am
Posts: 3
 Post subject: Re: Draw Tool Problem - b90
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 6:57 pm 
Sure:

Quote:
==== MapTool Information ====
MapTool Version: 1.3.b90
MapTool Home...: ..\..\.maptool
Max mem avail..: 1,820M
Max mem used...: 379M
Custom Property: -DMAPTOOL_DATADIR=..\..\.maptool

==== Java Information ====
Java Vendor.: Oracle Corporation
Java Home...: C:\Program Files\Java\jre7
Java Version: 1.7.0_65
Result of executing 'java -version':
............: Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_65-b20)
............: Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 24.65-b04, mixed mode)


==== OS Information ====
OS Name........: Windows 7
OS Version.....: 6.1
OS Architecture: amd64
PATH...........: C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin;C:\Windows\Sun\Java\bin;C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live;C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live;C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Common;C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Live\Shared;.
Number of Procs: 8

==== User Information ====
User Name: Kyral
User Home: C:\Users\Kyral
User Dir.: D:\My Documents\D&D Materials\Maptool-1.3.b90\MTB90-TEST

==== Network Interfaces ====
Display Name..: Software Loopback Interface 1
Interface Name: lo
Address...: 127.0.0.1
Address...: 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1

Display Name..: Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Interface Name: eth3
Address...: 192.168.254.30
Address...: fe80:0:0:0:50e9:fa7a:db9e:a569%11

Display Name..: Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Interface Name: net4
Address...: 2001:0:9d38:90d7:189b:2e7b:3f57:1e1
Address...: fe80:0:0:0:189b:2e7b:3f57:1e1%12

Host Address...: 192.168.254.30
Default Gateway: 192.168.254.254

==== Locale Information ====
Country.: United States
Language: English
Locale..: English (United States)
Variant.:

==== Display Information ====
Number of Displays: 1
Display 1: 1600x900(32)

==== Internet Gateway Devices ====
Device Name.: NETGEAR DSL Router
Model Name..: Broadcom Versalink
Manufacturer: NETGEAR, Inc.
Model Number: B90-755044-15
Model Desc..: NETGEAR DSL Router
Firmware....: Linux/2.6.21.5 UPnP/1.0
External IP.: 173.87.189.169


This issue does not occur in the b91 beta included with the b90 download, so I used that as a workaround to get done what I needed to and I'm going to see if (hopefully) my group can use that without too many issues tonight. My campaign uses a template, one designed for Pathfinder, though I can't remember which. Original problem occurred with 1024 max mem, however due to some memory issues I ran into working on the campaign last night I bumped it up to 2048; issue looks to still be there either way (not that I'd expect the memory change to do anything). Thanks for the help, let me know if you need anything else!


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9268
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Draw Tool Problem - b90
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 2:50 am 
well...im not the dev here (at least not of maptool), so there's little I can do save telling you that I did not see anything funky in your debug info. In short I'm really clueless. Im happy that b91 serves as a workaround, but I have to warn you that not even I have come round to testing it. Now the changes are not severe in 91. Few patches applied, from the top of my head: json.sort and light. Especially the light issue is something you should test. Let me know if you find anything.

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7750
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: Draw Tool Problem - b90
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 3:37 am 
If I were to take a wild stab in the dark I would guess it's related to debugging. Perhaps a setting in logging.xml in the .maptool folder is causing it. If you don't have logging.xml, then I don't know. But if you do, try renaming it so it isn't run, but don't delete it. If it's the cause, I would be interested as to what's inside. My other guess would be the java library, but that doesn't seem likely.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 1:50 am
Posts: 4
 Post subject: Re: Draw Tool Problem - b90
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 7:39 pm 
I've (kind of) solved my problem. It's something in the .maptool folder.

Foxbat: try going into mt.cfg and changing "MAPTOOL_DATADIR=../../.maptool" to "MAPTOOL_DATADIR=.maptool". You should notice that the problem is gone. I also think that is why using the b91 version fixed your problem: you were probably opening b91 directly rather than using the maptool launcher (which uses mt.cfg and reads the required maptool data directory).

I don't really know how the stuff in .maptool is used, but I assume that something at some point was saved to that folder which messed everything up for us. I have no idea what triggered it. I have certainly never gone tinkering in there directly.

Aliasmask: I have a few logging xml files in my old .maptool folder, but none of them are specifically called "logging.xml". Did you want fileio-logging.xml or parser-logging.xml, etc?


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7750
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: Draw Tool Problem - b90
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:58 pm 
No, those contain extra flag for debugging, but unless you have "logging.xml" then it's not adding any extra info to the debugging log. They're renamed like that to let you know what kind of extra info they provide, like macro-logging.xml gives details on macro runs. To use, just copy file and rename to logging.xml.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9268
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Draw Tool Problem - b90
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:05 pm 
Stickied this thread as it Turns out more peeps have this issue! Also changed the subject a bit.

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Cave Troll
 
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 12:24 am
Posts: 30
 Post subject: Re: Draw Tool Problem - b90
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:47 pm 
acote wrote:
I've (kind of) solved my problem. It's something in the .maptool folder.

Foxbat: try going into mt.cfg and changing "MAPTOOL_DATADIR=../../.maptool" to "MAPTOOL_DATADIR=.maptool". You should notice that the problem is gone. I also think that is why using the b91 version fixed your problem: you were probably opening b91 directly rather than using the maptool launcher (which uses mt.cfg and reads the required maptool data directory).

I don't really know how the stuff in .maptool is used, but I assume that something at some point was saved to that folder which messed everything up for us. I have no idea what triggered it. I have certainly never gone tinkering in there directly.

Aliasmask: I have a few logging xml files in my old .maptool folder, but none of them are specifically called "logging.xml". Did you want fileio-logging.xml or parser-logging.xml, etc?


I think acote in onto the right idea. I was having the same green grid problem, and what solved it for me was 1) deleting the .maptool folder on my computer and letting maptools recreate it, and 2) when running the launcher, going to the "advanced" tab and unchecking the "Use pathnames relative to..." option. Between the two of those the green lines are gone for me. Hope this helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 10:36 pm
Posts: 15
 Post subject: Re: Green lines - Draw Tool Problem - b90/91
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 8:45 pm 
Seems deleting the .maptool folder is unnecessary. Was having the same problem, read this thread, then simply went into the launcher and unchecked the specified option, and the grid went away. This seems to be easily reproducible, at least on my end. WHY this setting is in any way related to this weird grid, on the other hand, is beyond me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 10:22 am
Posts: 14
 Post subject: Re: Green lines - Draw Tool Problem - b90/91
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2015 4:20 am 
Dear All
Seems not solved totally

I have done the manual adjustment in mt.cfg
for me Win7 x64 the file is in a folder where all the file are but not into .maptool
Code:
# Les lignes de ce genre sont des commentaires et donc ignorées.
# Les champs peuvent apparaître dans n''importe quel ordre.
# Les noms de champs ne sont pas sensibles à la casse mais apparaîtront toujours en capitales.
# Les espaces entourant les noms de champs ou leurs valeurs sont ignorés.
# Les espaces contenus dans une valeur sont conservés (utile pour les noms de dossiers).
#
# Limité à environs 1500 Mio avec des systèmes 32 bits. Virtuellement illimité en 64 bits.
MAXMEM=1024
# Allocation mémoire de base. La valeur par défaut est adaptée.
MINMEM=128
# Toute valeur supérieure à 8-10 Mio sera vraisemblablement à l''origine de problèmes dans MapTool.
STACKSIZE=15
#DATA_DIRECTORY=
# Cocher pour obliger MapTool à utiliser un dossier spécifique pour stocker ses données.
MAPTOOL_DATADIR=.maptool
# Dossier dans lequel se trouve le fichier MapTool .jar
MAPTOOL_DIRECTORY=C:\Users\Nico&Stef\Desktop\maptool-1.3.b91
# Version de MapTool concernée par ce fichier de configuration; doit exister dans le dossier MAPTOOL_DIRECTORY.
EXECUTABLE=maptool-1.3.b91.jar
CONSOLE=false
PROMPT=true
RELATIVE_PATHS=false
# Tout argument supplémentaire à placer dans la ligne de commande Java.
#ARGS=
# Liste de fichiers XML, séparés par des virgules, spécifiant les traçages à mettre en place.
LOGGING=macros-logging.xml
# msg.info.comment.LOCALE
LOCALE=fr
# Dossier contenant la version de Java à utiliser; doit contenir un exécutable ''java''.
#JAVA_DIRECTORY=


I have checked and all map where a drawing has been made are impacted


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 10:22 am
Posts: 14
 Post subject: Re: Green lines - Draw Tool Problem - b90/91
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2015 3:37 pm 
any idea ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 5:32 pm
Posts: 6
 Post subject: Re: Green lines - Draw Tool Problem - b90/91
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 10:57 am 
I'm experiencing this problem using version 1.4.0.0 and its driving me nuts!

I tried the fix listed above and nothing changed.
Using Windows 7 64 bit

Any suggestions?


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 3632
Location: MD
 Post subject: Re: Green lines - Draw Tool Problem - b90/91
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 11:11 am 
DougFungus wrote:
Any suggestions?

It seems that something can get jacked-up in a small subset of people's data directories.

You could create an entirely new data directory by adding a different flag in the launcher... something like:

-DMAPTOOL_DATADIR=c:\temp\mt1400

Or you could go in and delete your current data directory and see if that works.

_________________
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 5 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 5 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman