[FIXED] Maptools won't display interface.

Thoughts, Help, Feature Requests, Bug Reports, Developing code for...

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

Forum rules
PLEASE don't post images of your entire desktop, attach entire campaign files when only a single file is needed, or generally act in some other anti-social behavior. :)
Post Reply
rfandom
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 12:46 am

[FIXED] Maptools won't display interface.

Post by rfandom »

Upon running either this line of code in a terminal, or trying to launch Maptools from launcher:

Code: Select all

java -Xms64M -Xmx512M -Xss2M -DMAPTOOL_DATADIR=../.maptool -jar maptool-1.4.0.0.jar run
(this applies to all versions, not only 1.4, I tried also 1.3.b84 and 1.3.b91). I'm using the zipfile from the official site.

All that is displayed is a grey-yellow window intead of Maptools interface. The interface seems to be responsive ie. if I click on it wildly enough, some pop-up window might appear. On the included screenshot you can see the closing window which is activated upon pressing the close-window shortcut (which is equivalent to alt+F4 on windows).
screenshot: https://nup.pw/Jq_5Fr.png


I'm using Linux. java -version output

Code: Select all

java version "1.7.0_91"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea 2.6.3) (Gentoo icedtea-7.2.6.3-r2)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 24.91-b01, mixed mode)
I have no idea what is the problem as I get no errors of any kind that might be related to a problem. Running the program with --verbose shows nothing significant. This is not related to my graphic drivers or a graphical configuration, as I can flawlessly run applications that use OpenGL, 3D or 2D, including java applications.
Last edited by rfandom on Sun Jan 24, 2016 2:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

paulstrait
Dragon
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 4:48 pm

Re: Maptools won't display interface.

Post by paulstrait »

Maptool doesn't work properly with OpenJDK. Usually it works better than you've described, but even if you can get it to open, lots of things will be odd. You should get the Sun JRE and uninstall openJDK. Also get Java 8.

rfandom
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 12:46 am

Re: Maptools won't display interface.

Post by rfandom »

The same thing is happening even though...

java -version

Code: Select all

java version "1.8.0_72"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_72-b15)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 25.72-b15, mixed mode)
Used the newest Java 8u72 as you can see in the output. Straight from the oracle website. So, what's the real problem?

paulstrait
Dragon
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 4:48 pm

Re: Maptools won't display interface.

Post by paulstrait »

Hmm. I'm not sure. Could you paste your log file?

rfandom
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 12:46 am

Re: Maptools won't display interface.

Post by rfandom »

What log file? I'm posting you the output of the command with -verbose enabled.

[Warning, long, over 5000 lines]
https://dpaste.de/2stW

paulstrait
Dragon
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 4:48 pm

Re: Maptools won't display interface.

Post by paulstrait »

There should be a log file in the .maptool hidden folder in your user directory.

rfandom
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 12:46 am

Re: Maptools won't display interface.

Post by rfandom »

https://nup.pw/6foNhb.txt
There it goes.

Okay I found the problem and it has been solved. It was matter of my Window Manager being a problem for java. Adding ` _JAVA_AWT_WM_NONREPARENTING=1 ` environment variable solved it completely. Thanks for the help.

User avatar
Jagged
Great Wyrm
Posts: 1306
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:27 am
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: [FIXED] Maptools won't display interface.

Post by Jagged »

That's interesting. Is the Windows Manager in this case a product of the OS or a third party solution?

Post Reply

Return to “MapTool”