RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Wed May 24, 2017 4:38 pm 




Forum rules


PLEASE don't post images of your entire desktop, attach entire campaign files when only a single file is needed, or generally act in some other anti-social behavior. :)



Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
 Offline
Cave Troll
 
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:45 am
Posts: 28
 Post subject: Dropping token asks for value
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:31 am 
Hi. I'm having a bit of a problem.

I downloaded a .rptok, but every time I try to insert it in my campaign it starts asking me values for, I think, properties. Setting a value and clicking ok does nothing, the window keeps popping up. Same with pushing esc or clicking cancel. The only way out is by manually terminating the process.

Is there a way to fix it?

The token works wonderfully in a clean campaign file. I tried dropping it there and wiping its properties in case that's what's causing the conflict or something, but even that doesn't seem to help.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7698
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: Dropping token asks for value
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:36 am 
Could be that your "basic" properties have formulas while the token you're dropping on to the map was designed with a different token type. When tokens are dropped they default to basic I believe.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 3599
Location: MD
 Post subject: Re: Dropping token asks for value
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 11:19 am 
Adurna wrote:
I downloaded a .rptok, but every time I try to insert it in my campaign it starts asking me values for, I think, properties.

Share the .rptok file.


Also, is the campaign you're placing it in using some kind of token selection/change event? Something that's looking for a property that doesn't exist on the new token?

_________________
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Cave Troll
 
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:45 am
Posts: 28
 Post subject: Re: Dropping token asks for value
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 11:38 am 
aliasmask wrote:
Could be that your "basic" properties have formulas while the token you're dropping on to the map was designed with a different token type. When tokens are dropped they default to basic I believe.


Uhm, well yes, I use formulas. But I don't understand why maptool basically goes crazy for it and doesn't let me do anything but forcekill the process XD

Quote:
Also, is the campaign you're placing it in using some kind of token selection/change event? Something that's looking for a property that doesn't exist on the new token?


I have no idea what this means :cry:


Chimera Skeleton.rptok [59.47 KiB]
Downloaded 11 times
Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:59 am
Posts: 1572
Location: Chicagoland
 Post subject: Re: Dropping token asks for value
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:19 pm 
Usually when I have this issue is because I have "formulas" in my "Statsheet" and if those contain formulas that expect certain variables, it's gonna go wild.

Like, I add a new formula "Stealthy?: [r: dex+newStealthBonus]" in my statsheet and then load old tokens that don't have a "newStealthBonus" value, everytime you hover over it it's gonna prompt you for "newStealthBonus".


One solution is go to your preferences and turn off "Show Statsheet" until you get it fixed.

_________________
-Jamz
____________________
Custom MapTool 1.4.x.x Fork: maptool.nerps.net
More information here: MapTool Nerps! Fork | TokenTool Nerps! Fork
Custom TokenTool (version 1.0b33): TokenTool.exe


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 3599
Location: MD
 Post subject: Re: Dropping token asks for value
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:51 pm 
JamzTheMan wrote:
Usually when I have this issue is because I have "formulas" in my "Statsheet" and if those contain formulas that expect certain variables, it's gonna go wild.

It could be that... just looking at the token in a blank campaign file doesn't answer the question though because, as noted by Alias, it only opens with the "Basic" properties in a new campaign. And none of those are evaluated properties.

Adurna, you're going to have to share your campaign file for someone to really be able to figure out what the issue is.

_________________
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Cave Troll
 
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:45 am
Posts: 28
 Post subject: Re: Dropping token asks for value
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:08 am 
Full Bleed wrote:
JamzTheMan wrote:
Usually when I have this issue is because I have "formulas" in my "Statsheet" and if those contain formulas that expect certain variables, it's gonna go wild.

It could be that... just looking at the token in a blank campaign file doesn't answer the question though because, as noted by Alias, it only opens with the "Basic" properties in a new campaign. And none of those are evaluated properties.

Adurna, you're going to have to share your campaign file for someone to really be able to figure out what the issue is.



It might be a little heavy for the forum. I'll link a dropbox link if that's ok
https://www.dropbox.com/s/2u0hnvjaift0izb/Orilon%203.cmpgn?dl=0


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 3599
Location: MD
 Post subject: Re: Dropping token asks for value
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 1:50 pm 
The problem is that in the token you are dropping there is some code in one of the properties that is evaluating in the statsheet (i.e. why you touch the token and the statsheet pops up it tries to run the code):

Code:
HPMax: [R: 9d12 - 0 + (ConB * Level)]


You do not use the ConB or Level variables/properties in your setup.

So you need to do as Jamz indicated and turn off showing the stat sheet... then remove that HPMax value.

Edit>Preferences>Interactions>Tokens>Show stat sheet on mouseover


Also, keep in mind that the token you're importing is not particularly compatible with your campaign... it's using different properties and different values within them. Since you're not using the framework it was created for, you should probably look into building some kind of macro to stat new monsters properly for your campaign.

_________________
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Cave Troll
 
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:45 am
Posts: 28
 Post subject: Re: Dropping token asks for value
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 3:26 pm 
Thank you! That works.

uh, I knew the properties were different, but to use that particular token the fastest way was to download it, drop it in and then manually set the properties. :P Or at least it would have been the fast way if I didn't incurr in that little problem (Which made me lose half an hour of unsaved modifications. Yeah I should save more regularly XD).

Now I think I understand what caused the problem.

So, if I were to make sure my properties aren't sharing names, like in this case that "HPMax", they wouldn't be pasted in my campaign and so they wouldn't create issues, right?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests





cron

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman