RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:50 am 




Forum rules


PLEASE don't post images of your entire desktop, attach entire campaign files when only a single file is needed, or generally act in some other anti-social behavior. :)



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:22 pm
Posts: 585
 Post subject: Tooltips in broadcast...possible?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 8:21 pm 
If this is possible (to display tooltips within a broadcast message), could someone provide an example of this please?


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7855
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: Tooltips in broadcast...possible?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 3:01 am 
broadcast outputs raw text, so if you include the HTML with a tool tip (can't use the t roll option) it will show your tool tip.

Code:
[H: broadcast('<span title="this is my tooltip">This is my text</span>')]

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:22 pm
Posts: 585
 Post subject: Re: Tooltips in broadcast...possible?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 10:23 am 
Hmm...I'm thinking more like being able to see the breakdown of somewhat complicated roll results.

Right now, for example, if you mouse over the total to hit roll in my frame work, you see the tool tip which breaks down...

the die roll
the attack bonus
the state bonus
misc bonus

and like 4 other things.

I'm trying to figure out how I could put THAT into your example.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:22 pm
Posts: 585
 Post subject: Re: Tooltips in broadcast...possible?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 10:36 am 
Better example.

Current code puts together the output string like so...


[h : output = MisfortuneText + "<b>" + getName() + "</b> rolls a " + saveName + " save: " + "<b>" + sum(roll,saveValue,modifier,-stateMod,BuffSave) + "</b>"]
[g,s : ouput]


And when you mouse over this, you see the breakdown of the "sum" function.

Is that possible in a broadcast?


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7855
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: Tooltips in broadcast...possible?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 11:33 am 
Yeah, you just need to write the html for it. Here's an old example of an attack macro I wrote for someone along with some other useful tidbits. All the output is saved to a variable.

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=22886&p=233681&hilit=amsave+attack#p233681

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:22 pm
Posts: 585
 Post subject: Re: Tooltips in broadcast...possible?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 12:33 pm 
Good stuff AM, thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:22 pm
Posts: 585
 Post subject: Re: Tooltips in broadcast...possible?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 3:41 pm 
AliasMask, just wanted to give you a big "THANKS!" for pointing me the direction of that link. Although its going to take some work on my end, the end result of these changes are going to be great and there's no way I would have thought to do that without looking at the example you showed.

So again, THANKS!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7855
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: Tooltips in broadcast...possible?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 4:05 pm 
Glad to be of service ;)

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:22 pm
Posts: 585
 Post subject: Re: Tooltips in broadcast...possible?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 7:50 pm 
Now if you could just tell me where to get those "WotC Images" that are in your signature line and you'll be the Maptool hero of the week...:)


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7855
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: Tooltips in broadcast...possible?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 2:04 am 
xavram wrote:
Now if you could just tell me where to get those "WotC Images" that are in your signature line and you'll be the Maptool hero of the week...:)


I posted new links as the last comment of the thread.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:22 pm
Posts: 585
 Post subject: Re: Tooltips in broadcast...possible?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 2:34 pm 
Thanks again AM, these will be very useful when i start digging into my next campaign.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 4 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: taspoff and 3 guests





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman