RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:04 am 




Forum rules


PLEASE don't post images of your entire desktop, attach entire campaign files when only a single file is needed, or generally act in some other anti-social behavior. :)



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:50 am
Posts: 4
 Post subject: LAN game on Crouton
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 1:47 pm 
Is there any walkthrough available for running a LAN game on Crouton

I've done this with Crouton on Linux to Crouton on Linux, but the laptop that i was using as a server is not reliable due to hardware issues with the laptop screen. I bought a chromebook with the understanding that i could get maptools running on Crouton. I have done that, but have not been able to connect to a server or start a server that I can find.

Any help would be appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:50 am
Posts: 4
 Post subject: Re: LAN game on Crouton
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:53 am 
sorry I worded that first post incorrectly.

I have successfully played a LAN game on Linux to Linux, but not through Crouton as a server or as a client. Are there some ports that need to be open? How do I diagnose the problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 7:56 pm
Posts: 6347
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
 Post subject: Re: LAN game on Crouton
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 9:44 am 
If you are talking about having people outside of the servers LAN connecting then you will need a port open. The start server dialog shows you the Port that will be used. It is 51234 by default.

To test if your server is visible to the outside world, use one of the online port scanners to test if your server is visible.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:50 am
Posts: 4
 Post subject: Re: LAN game on Crouton
PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:57 pm 
Phergus wrote:
If you are talking about having people outside of the servers LAN connecting then you will need a port open. The start server dialog shows you the Port that will be used. It is 51234 by default.

To test if your server is visible to the outside world, use one of the online port scanners to test if your server is visible.


No, I'm just trying to do this within the LAN. I've been able to do it with Ubuntu Linux to Ubuntu Linux, but I'm unable to do with my crouton install. I have tried to do these steps here, https://github.com/dnschneid/crouton/wi ... in-crouton

I am now able to connect to a server in a seperate window on my crouton install by doing a direct connect, but not through the LAN tab.

One thing that is different on this operating system from the other ones is that when i start the server, I get a window that says,

looking for gateway devices on veth_android
looking for gateway devices on mlan0
looking for gateway devices on br0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:50 am
Posts: 4
 Post subject: Re: LAN game on Crouton
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 4:45 pm 
is there any sort of diagnostic tools that i can use? anything at all?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:30 pm
Posts: 238
 Post subject: Re: LAN game on Crouton
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 5:33 pm 
If it's looking for a gateway, that suggests that something in the network settings are either mis- or un-configured.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 7:56 pm
Posts: 6347
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
 Post subject: Re: LAN game on Crouton
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 8:30 am 
salt wrote:
I am now able to connect to a server in a seperate window on my crouton install by doing a direct connect, but not through the LAN tab.

Since direct connect works fine then it is just that your server instance isn't "discoverable" on the network from the LAN tab.

If you have a Windows PC, that you can test to see if your server is visible from an MT instance running on it that may provide some insight as to whether it is that your server it is that your server isn't visible or that your other instance can't see it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 4 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman