RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Mon Jun 26, 2017 2:00 pm 




Forum rules


This forum is LOCKED. If a thread belongs here, use the "Report" feature of the post to let a moderator know to move it. General discussion should occur in the User Creations or MapTool forums.



Reply to topic  [ 385 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 26  Next

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 9:27 pm
Posts: 1253
Location: NY
 Post subject: [Hero 5th ED] brad's Hero5thMacros.cmpgn
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:05 am 
This is the most current CAMPAIGN FILE Last updated 01/28/2011

Requirements
Set Stack Size to 3.
Included lib:gm token must be in every campaign file as an NPC, on a map that players can get to.

Video Tutorials
Builder Buttons
Attack Stuff
Defensive and Other Stuff

The campaign file contains an example token with all of the macros in it and the gm:lib token which must be present somewhere in any campaign file you use. Not on every map, just on one map in the campaign file, in a place that is visible to the players. MapTool also needs to be started with a 3MB stack size.

Future updates will only require the replacing of the gm:lib token in existing campaign files. Though there may be one or two updates early on that also require also updating the Campaign properties of current campaign files.


Features in Progress and Known Bugs:
-Explosion and AoE read out
-Macros to set light and vision
-Add Vulnerability multipliers

Other list:
-Targeting Option
-Add charges cost field
-Maintained defenses drop when Stunned
-multiple location chart types option
-Pretty up output

_________________
View MapTool video tutorials at RPToolsTutorials.net


Last edited by brad on Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:07 pm, edited 27 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 12:23 am
Posts: 2821
 Post subject: Re: Hero 5th ED macro set, brad's
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:41 am 
Thanks Brad! I'll try to play around with them over the next day or so.

_________________
You're just jealous 'cause the voices only talk to me.

ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 9:27 pm
Posts: 1253
Location: NY
 Post subject: Re: Hero 5th ED macro set, brad's
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:11 pm 
Just realized I never implemented the output of Penetrating damage for the Attack macro. Will get on that.

_________________
View MapTool video tutorials at RPToolsTutorials.net


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 3:18 am
Posts: 129
 Post subject: Re: Hero 5th ED macro set, brad's
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 1:45 pm 
What is "soak"? I know of the term from White Wolf, but it isn't a Hero term.

_________________
Commissions | Empty Room Studios | Savage Earth | Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 12:23 am
Posts: 2821
 Post subject: Re: Hero 5th ED macro set, brad's
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 1:52 pm 
He is using it in this context to mean "apply damage and subtract defenses."

_________________
You're just jealous 'cause the voices only talk to me.

ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 3:18 am
Posts: 129
 Post subject: Re: Hero 5th ED macro set, brad's
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 2:03 pm 
Thanks, RPMiller. I used "Apply Damage" in my automated DB, but "Soak" makes sense.

Here's an observation. When building a skill list, "other_list" was not immediately obvious in meaning, though I eventually figured out that it was meant to set the box to a null state. Could words be added to the dialog box text to the effect of "(There are two columns of skills to choose from)".

I understand the reasoning behind the layout (two lists are needed for the number of skills).

_________________
Commissions | Empty Room Studios | Savage Earth | Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 3:18 am
Posts: 129
 Post subject: Re: Hero 5th ED macro set, brad's
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 2:06 pm 
The attack Dialog box is daunting. I don't know how difficult it is to do such a thing, but could options be grouped for better clarity?

Is it possible to add small graphic icons to increase recognition? If so, I would volunteer to create any graphics.

When you have the preprogrammed powers, I assume they will front load the attack dialog with the appropriate options?

_________________
Commissions | Empty Room Studios | Savage Earth | Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 3:18 am
Posts: 129
 Post subject: Re: Hero 5th ED macro set, brad's
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 2:06 pm 
By the way, this is awesome work. I'm just poking around looking for problems. ;)

_________________
Commissions | Empty Room Studios | Savage Earth | Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 3:18 am
Posts: 129
 Post subject: Re: Hero 5th ED macro set, brad's
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 2:13 pm 
Initiative.

Currently, there is no way I see to track phases. Would it be possible to add a token that has a speed of 12 and dex of 99? You could call it "New Phase", since I assume giving each phase a distinctive name would be problematic. This would put a "New Phase" header before the characters that act in that phase. I would further assume that the sorting number cues you into what phase it was, but in reverse (12 down to 1)?
If this is so, could the sort order and number be modified to sort in an opposite direction, so that the first two digits would list the current phase?

_________________
Commissions | Empty Room Studios | Savage Earth | Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 3:18 am
Posts: 129
 Post subject: Re: Hero 5th ED macro set, brad's
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 2:16 pm 
What does "skills_sheet_roll" do?

No matter what I input, I get: "getStrProp() requires exactly 1 parameters."

_________________
Commissions | Empty Room Studios | Savage Earth | Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 12:23 am
Posts: 2821
 Post subject: Re: Hero 5th ED macro set, brad's
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 2:33 pm 
keithcurtis wrote:
Initiative.

Currently, there is no way I see to track phases. Would it be possible to add a token that has a speed of 12 and dex of 99? You could call it "New Phase", since I assume giving each phase a distinctive name would be problematic. This would put a "New Phase" header before the characters that act in that phase. I would further assume that the sorting number cues you into what phase it was, but in reverse (12 down to 1)?
If this is so, could the sort order and number be modified to sort in an opposite direction, so that the first two digits would list the current phase?


You are partially correct. It actually does track phases based on the character's speed, DEX, and INT. And yes, it does it in reverse order. There is quite a substantial discussion on it already somewhere in the forums. Do a search for the typical HERO characteristics and initiative terms and you'll probably find it. Basically we couldn't figure out how to reverse it in an elegant fashion due to the Initiative panel only sorting highest to lowest. The current method is about as close as we could get, and we've been using it for quite some time now without any headaches. It does take some getting used to initially, but I just focus on the fact that the numbers aren't as critical as the order. Everything else pretty much falls into place after that.

Oh, and we use a random number addition to initiative to make things interesting. I'm not sure if it is in this framework, but you may want to remove it if you want to stick to pure Hero initiative.

_________________
You're just jealous 'cause the voices only talk to me.

ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 9:27 pm
Posts: 1253
Location: NY
 Post subject: Re: Hero 5th ED macro set, brad's
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:24 pm 
keithcurtis wrote:
By the way, this is awesome work. I'm just poking around looking for problems. ;)


Poke as much as you can. My projects always turn out better when I get input. I may not be able to reply to everything just now as my game is starting shortly.

_________________
View MapTool video tutorials at RPToolsTutorials.net


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 9:27 pm
Posts: 1253
Location: NY
 Post subject: Re: Hero 5th ED macro set, brad's
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:32 pm 
keithcurtis wrote:
What is "soak"? I know of the term from White Wolf, but it isn't a Hero term.


That is from my gaming upbringing. :D From 4th grade through high school I was in a small town with one book story that only carried TSR gaming products. I didn't know that other role-playing games even existed. When I went to college White Wolf was the first non-D&D game I played and it made SOOOOOOO much sense that armor should absorb damage instead of making you harder to hit. And the term "soak" has just stuck in my head as the correct lingo for that ever since. "Apply Damage" would probably be more universally understood though.

_________________
View MapTool video tutorials at RPToolsTutorials.net


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 9:27 pm
Posts: 1253
Location: NY
 Post subject: Re: Hero 5th ED macro set, brad's
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:34 pm 
keithcurtis wrote:

Here's an observation. When building a skill list, "other_list" was not immediately obvious in meaning, though I eventually figured out that it was meant to set the box to a null state. Could words be added to the dialog box text to the effect of "(There are two columns of skills to choose from)".

I understand the reasoning behind the layout (two lists are needed for the number of skills).


I can change it to whatever. It is only returning the value of 0, not the words.

_________________
View MapTool video tutorials at RPToolsTutorials.net


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 3:18 am
Posts: 129
 Post subject: Re: Hero 5th ED macro set, brad's
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 7:05 pm 
brad wrote:
keithcurtis wrote:

Here's an observation. When building a skill list, "other_list" was not immediately obvious in meaning, though I eventually figured out that it was meant to set the box to a null state. Could words be added to the dialog box text to the effect of "(There are two columns of skills to choose from)".

I understand the reasoning behind the layout (two lists are needed for the number of skills).


I can change it to whatever. It is only returning the value of 0, not the words.

Perhaps something like:

"Choose a skill to add to:"
{Column_A}
"or"
{Column_B}

This wouldn't be macro syntax of course, just a way of indicating what part is dialog box text and what part is an input area.

_________________
Commissions | Empty Room Studios | Savage Earth | Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 385 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 26  Next

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman