RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 1:03 am 






Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
 Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 12:53 am
Posts: 115
 Post subject: Create tokens larger than their base?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 1:12 am 
Apologies if this has been covered somewhere, but I searched and couldn't find anything on it.

I have quite a few .png files in my "Creatures" folder with large/extended body parts/weapons. When they're placed in MapTool and set to the correct size for a 4e campaign, they get shrunk down and appear much smaller than their compatriots in different poses. Of course, I can just upsize the token, but that also upsizes the token's base, making it take up more ground space.

Essentially, I want the base of the token to be set by the size chosen in maptool, but sections of the token image (an extended sword, a dragon's wings, etc) to extend beyond that base. The .rptok files in the default resource directory do this, so I know it's possible... I'm just wondering how. Can it be done in tokentool, or does it require some other program. I've tried using tokentool, but all I'm getting is another png file, which of course gets resized the same way.

As is usual with me, there's probably an easy and obvious solution that I'm missing.

Some examples...
NOTE: All of the example images are set to medium size in Maptool.

Some of the tokens I want to fix:
Image


Examples of the way I want them to work:
Image


EDIT: I can't spell


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:37 am
Posts: 3108
Location: Germany
 Post subject: Re: Create tokens larger than their base?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 2:32 am 
You can fix these in MapTool.

Doubleclick the token and go to the tab "Config".

There is a small window called "Layout" that shows the token. You can position the token by dragging it with the mouse, you can zoom it using the mouse wheel.

_________________
HELP: GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC.

most complete list of my maptool stuff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 12:53 am
Posts: 115
 Post subject: Re: Create tokens larger than their base?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 2:52 am 
CoveredInFish wrote:
You can fix these in MapTool.

Doubleclick the token and go to the tab "Config".

There is a small window called "Layout" that shows the token. You can position the token by dragging it with the mouse, you can zoom it using the mouse wheel.


Thanks!

It took me a minute to figure out how to resize the image in the layout window (scroll the mousewheel, if anyone else was wondering), but it works great!

Now I just have to do that to about 3500 more topdowns... :P


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7888
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: Create tokens larger than their base?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 3:22 am 
If you're going to resize them all the same, then you can drop them on to one map, use copy token on your base token but use the images on the other map. To make things easier, you can rename all those tokens with a macro so it begins with "image:". so you can use Wiki: getImage(). Faster than doing it one at a time, although you'll have to save them one at a time. Too bad you can't just drag'n'drop from MapTool to explorer or save externally with macros.

Looking at your examples, it doesn't seem the re-sizing will be uniform. You probably could do something based on the size of the image, but that wouldn't be perfect either when considering the center of image may not be the center you want.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 12:53 am
Posts: 115
 Post subject: Re: Create tokens larger than their base?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 3:59 pm 
Yeah, the resizing isn't uniform, and the image centers are different on a lot of them. I think this will be a "change it as you need it" project, rather than trying to do all at once. Since I tend to prep my maps well in advance of a session, I'll have time to resize/recenter each token as needed.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 124
 Post subject: Re: Create tokens larger than their base?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 4:52 pm 
IMHO, it is easier to decide of a scale for maps and tokens and prepare them with a graphic program (GIMP, Photoshop,..) before dropping them into Maptool at native size. And once done you are sure that all your stuff shall stay compatible in all new campaigns without having to check.

_________________
Savage Worlds Toybox


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7888
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: Create tokens larger than their base?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 6:56 pm 
Yeah, I do that too. I'll add extra transparency so the token is sized correctly and in the correct position. I make them either 200x200 or 400x400 canvases.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 12:53 am
Posts: 115
 Post subject: Re: Create tokens larger than their base?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 12:09 am 
I'll have to try recentering a few in GIMP to see how it goes. I almost always use a 50-pixel square grid, so that at least is fairly uniform.

As an actual artist I'm hopeless, but I am at least able to do some basic alterations. Thanks for the suggestions :)


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Site Admin
 
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:20 pm
Posts: 12101
Location: Tampa, FL
 Post subject: Re: Create tokens larger than their base?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:47 am 
aliasmask wrote:
Too bad you can't just drag'n'drop from MapTool to explorer or save externally with macros.

This'll make it in there eventually. I've wanted to be able to do this myself. A lot. But a normal drag of a token moves it across the map, which means adding a modifier key to make this a special "drag off the map" operation. Not a big deal but we're already getting a bit crowded on the different modifiers + events (keystrokes, mouse clicks, etc) and I don't want to add a new one so close to (probably) revamping the UI. :?

But as I said, it'll make it in there eventually.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman