RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:05 am 






Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:20 pm
Posts: 5
 Post subject: How to Open/Use TokenTool
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:27 pm 
I am using Windows 10 with Java 8 and when I download the file, I get the following options:

"lib" folder
"tokentool-1.0.b28.jar"

When I double-click or right-click-open on the second option, it shows a small black screen which rapidly disappears before I can read anything about it. How do I use this tool?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:30 pm
Posts: 202
 Post subject: Re: How to Open/Use TokenTool
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 2:00 am 
It sounds like that black screen is Java offering up an error, but the command line screen (the black screen) is being suppressed too quick to read it.

You can get the actual error by opening a command line screen, and running the .jar from there. If you need instruction on how to do that, feel free to ask.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:20 pm
Posts: 5
 Post subject: Re: How to Open/Use TokenTool
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:03 pm 
Yeah, I could use some aid as I am not the most technologically adept person. :?


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9411
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: How to Open/Use TokenTool
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 5:45 am 
place the unzipped files in your root: c:\ or d:\ (assuming c)
hit windows button + R on your keyboard. Enter cmd and hit enter
The black screen pops up
enter cd\ it now should say c:\ (if you want to swap to d: enter d:)
here type
tokentool-1.0.b28.jar
and hit enter. You now should get the error without the 'black screen' closing

afterwards you might want to place the unzipped files back to where you want them (don't leave stuff lingering in your root).

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:30 pm
Posts: 202
 Post subject: Re: How to Open/Use TokenTool
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 10:33 am 
The only thing I'd add is note the difference between the two slashes: / and \ (Wolph uses the correct one).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:20 pm
Posts: 5
 Post subject: Re: How to Open/Use TokenTool
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 2:24 pm 
How to you place unzipped files into your root?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:30 pm
Posts: 202
 Post subject: Re: How to Open/Use TokenTool
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:28 pm 
Shullen wrote:
How to you place unzipped files into your root?


Er, the same way you'd place them anywhere else? If you're trying to run it from the zip file, that's likely your problem. Create a folder somewhere convenient (like your desktop), and select everything in the zip file, right-click to copy, then right-click to paste it where you want it. Then try double-clicking on the TokenTool .jar.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:20 pm
Posts: 5
 Post subject: Re: How to Open/Use TokenTool
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:12 pm 
I made the folder on the desktop and copied the following into it:

abeille-formsrt-2.0
rplib-1.0.b87
tinylaf
tokentool-1.0.b28

None of them will open in the folder as I still get the small black screen which quickly closes itself.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9411
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: How to Open/Use TokenTool
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:46 pm 
your desktop is NOT the root of your hardisk.

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:30 pm
Posts: 202
 Post subject: Re: How to Open/Use TokenTool
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:46 pm 
You can try right-clicking in the folder and see if you have an option to "Open command window here". Apparently, Windows 10 includes that by default (earlier versions do not, and I don't have a Win10 computer handy to check).

If it's there, that will open up a command prompt (a black window) where you can type in the file name for the .jar (including the extension - it should be "tokentool-1.0.b28.jar" (without the quotes). Make absolutely certain that you type in in exactly right, or you'll get a "file not found" error. (It is very east to mistype file names that long.)

If that option isn't there, the easiest thing to do is copy the TokenTool files to the root directory of the C: drive:

Double click the folder you unzipped it all into to open it.

Select everything, and right-click to Copy.

On the left pane of the same window, click on the C: drive (it will be towards the bottom, under "Computer" or "This Computer" or something like that, but should have (C:) behind the name of the volume). This should get to the root directory.

Right-click and Paste.

Then follow Wolph's instructions.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:20 pm
Posts: 5
 Post subject: Re: How to Open/Use TokenTool
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 8:14 pm 
I copied everything into the C: directory and when I try to then open it in the black screen by typing:

C:\tokentool-1.0.b28.jar

, I get the message: "Error: Could not find or load main class C:\tokentool-1.0.b28.jar

(There wasn't an option upon right-clicking to "open command window here"; just an option as to what program I wanted to use to open the file [upon which trying to open it with Java gives me the quickly disappearing black screen]).


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9411
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: How to Open/Use TokenTool
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:55 am 
hmm, no clue, I'll report it to the dev and see what he's got to say.

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman