RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Tue Jan 16, 2018 2:46 pm 






Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 8:18 pm
Posts: 4
 Post subject: Struggling With Resizing Tokens
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 8:38 pm 
I've been using TT for about a year now with no problems until today.
I accidentally added an extra 0 to the size of the token.
Now, I cannot reduce the size of the token because it's bigger than my screen. This includes being unable to scroll on the sidebar.
I have tried to navigate the window using the tab button.
I have tried to force quit TT and reload it.
I have even tried uninstalling TT, then resetting my computer before reinstalling, but it always reloads the last image I copied at the giant size.

How do I resolve this?


File comment: This is a screenshot of the issue.
Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 8.25.05 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 8.25.05 PM.png [ 387.51 KiB | Viewed 123 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7981
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: Struggling With Resizing Tokens
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:29 am 
I'm not sure this will work having not use the new version but try holding down the ctrl key and using the scroll on the mouse to change the size. This works for other applications, but I don't know about TT.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
TheBard
 
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 7:26 pm
Posts: 3494
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject: Re: Struggling With Resizing Tokens
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:04 am 
Did you try dragging another image in to clear the last one and then go back and drag in your original image?

_________________
ImageImage ImageImageImageImage
Support RPTools by shopping
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:30 pm
Posts: 236
 Post subject: Re: Struggling With Resizing Tokens
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 12:13 pm 
aliasmask wrote:
I'm not sure this will work having not use the new version but try holding down the ctrl key and using the scroll on the mouse to change the size. This works for other applications, but I don't know about TT.


That just changes the size of the image within the working pane, not the overall size of the window. (Same as without the <Ctrl> key.)

After fooling around with it, it would appear that the window size is based on the overlay size, which is stored in the registry, under

Code:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\JavaSoft\Prefs\net\rptools\tokentool\client]


The key names are "overlay/Width/Spinner" and
"overlay/Height/Spinner"

You will probably need to be signed in to an account with administrative privileges to edit the registry, regardless of which way you do it. I think. Also note that editing the registry can do bad, bad, bad things to your computer, including making it unable to book. It is best to make a backup copy of your registry before editing it, unless you are very, very confident in what you're doing, or like living dangerously.

(It appears to default to keeping the ratio between them the same, so set them both to a reasonable value, like 256, even though height is the one causing this. Otherwise, it may change it back to match the width when the app opens.)

If you don't want to fool with regedit, you can create a text file containing this (and only this):

Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\JavaSoft\Prefs\net\rptools\tokentool\client]
"overlay/Width/Spinner"="256.0"
"overlay/Height/Spinner"="256.0"


and rename it to end with ".reg" instead of ".txt". (If you don't see the file extension when you go to Rename, which you won't by default in windows, open it in Notepad, go to File-->Save As, and type in the file name, say, "TokenTool.reg" including the quotes, and save it. Then you can double-click on the .reg file to import the setting.)

I tested this on my Win 7 machine, and it worked perfectly, both manually editing the registry and using the .reg file. I do not have a Win 10 machine handy, but I've used .reg files without issue on them before.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:59 am
Posts: 1746
Location: Chicagoland
 Post subject: Re: Struggling With Resizing Tokens
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 2:44 pm 
Odd, the side panel should have added a scroll bar when needed so you could still scroll down to get at the controls.

Also, it should have maxed out at 1000x1000 but that could be too large I suppose.

I think I will add scroll bars to the portrait view instead of letting the window autosize as needed...

_________________
-Jamz
____________________
Custom MapTool 1.4.x.x Fork: maptool.nerps.net
Custom TokenTool 2.0 Fork: tokentool.nerps.net
More information here: MapTool Nerps! Fork


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:30 pm
Posts: 236
 Post subject: Re: Struggling With Resizing Tokens
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:50 pm 
JamzTheMan wrote:
Odd, the side panel should have added a scroll bar when needed so you could still scroll down to get at the controls.


I can confirm that it did not. (I was mildly concerned after I rendered mine in the same condition as the original poster.)

JamzTheMan wrote:
Also, it should have maxed out at 1000x1000 but that could be too large I suppose.


In fact, it did, based on what I saw in regedit. I suspect that if I (or the OP) had a widescreen monitor, it wouldn't have been an issue, but I have a 6 x 9, and based on the screen shot, so does OP.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:59 am
Posts: 1746
Location: Chicagoland
 Post subject: Re: Struggling With Resizing Tokens
PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:19 pm 
Yep, valid issue. And I'll fix it! The downside working on larger monitors...

I remember the days of having to make sure nothing went over 640x480... but with OS display scaling and all that, ya... sorry? :)

_________________
-Jamz
____________________
Custom MapTool 1.4.x.x Fork: maptool.nerps.net
Custom TokenTool 2.0 Fork: tokentool.nerps.net
More information here: MapTool Nerps! Fork


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 8:18 pm
Posts: 4
 Post subject: Re: Struggling With Resizing Tokens
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 11:01 pm 
taustinoc wrote:
Code:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\JavaSoft\Prefs\net\rptools\tokentool\client]


The key names are "overlay/Width/Spinner" and
"overlay/Height/Spinner"

You will probably need to be signed in to an account with administrative privileges to edit the registry, regardless of which way you do it. I think. Also note that editing the registry can do bad, bad, bad things to your computer, including making it unable to book. It is best to make a backup copy of your registry before editing it, unless you are very, very confident in what you're doing, or like living dangerously.

(It appears to default to keeping the ratio between them the same, so set them both to a reasonable value, like 256, even though height is the one causing this. Otherwise, it may change it back to match the width when the app opens.)

If you don't want to fool with regedit, you can create a text file containing this (and only this):

Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\JavaSoft\Prefs\net\rptools\tokentool\client]
"overlay/Width/Spinner"="256.0"
"overlay/Height/Spinner"="256.0"


and rename it to end with ".reg" instead of ".txt". (If you don't see the file extension when you go to Rename, which you won't by default in windows, open it in Notepad, go to File-->Save As, and type in the file name, say, "TokenTool.reg" including the quotes, and save it. Then you can double-click on the .reg file to import the setting.)

I tested this on my Win 7 machine, and it worked perfectly, both manually editing the registry and using the .reg file. I do not have a Win 10 machine handy, but I've used .reg files without issue on them before.

I tried to follow your advice as closely as OSX would allow. Alas, it was to no gain.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 8:18 pm
Posts: 4
 Post subject: Re: Struggling With Resizing Tokens
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 11:02 pm 
JamzTheMan wrote:
Yep, valid issue. And I'll fix it! The downside working on larger monitors...

I remember the days of having to make sure nothing went over 640x480... but with OS display scaling and all that, ya... sorry? :)

Take your time. I eagerly await.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:30 pm
Posts: 236
 Post subject: Re: Struggling With Resizing Tokens
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:29 am 
Evilgood wrote:
I tried to follow your advice as closely as OSX would allow. Alas, it was to no gain.


Unfortunately, I have no knowledge of OSX whatsoever.

If there's a registry editor like regedit, try just doing a search for "TokenTool." If you can find the registry entry at all, you should be able to fine the overlay entries. I would expect they're called the same.

You might also try a web search for something like "osx move window with keyboard." If you can make that work, try moving the TokenTool window off the top of the screen far enough that you can resize it with the mouse, and pull it down (and maybe to the right) far enough that you can get to what you need to update.

Or just hang on until Jamz gets the update done.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:59 am
Posts: 1746
Location: Chicagoland
 Post subject: Re: Struggling With Resizing Tokens
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 12:36 pm 
FYI: They are stored using the standard Java Preferences API so googling that it should be saved in a file in the user's ~/Library/Preferences

Look there for a token tool file/dir. You can safely delete the whole thing if you want to restore settings.

*not a mac users either
https://alvinalexander.com/java/java-pr ... os-x-where

_________________
-Jamz
____________________
Custom MapTool 1.4.x.x Fork: maptool.nerps.net
Custom TokenTool 2.0 Fork: tokentool.nerps.net
More information here: MapTool Nerps! Fork


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 8:18 pm
Posts: 4
 Post subject: Re: Struggling With Resizing Tokens
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 3:27 pm 
taustinoc wrote:
Evilgood wrote:
I tried to follow your advice as closely as OSX would allow. Alas, it was to no gain.


Unfortunately, I have no knowledge of OSX whatsoever.

If there's a registry editor like regedit, try just doing a search for "TokenTool." If you can find the registry entry at all, you should be able to fine the overlay entries. I would expect they're called the same.

You might also try a web search for something like "osx move window with keyboard." If you can make that work, try moving the TokenTool window off the top of the screen far enough that you can resize it with the mouse, and pull it down (and maybe to the right) far enough that you can get to what you need to update.

Or just hang on until Jamz gets the update done.


Followed this. Used VoiceOver. Solved Problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:30 pm
Posts: 236
 Post subject: Re: Struggling With Resizing Tokens
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 3:49 pm 
Evilgood wrote:
taustinoc wrote:
Evilgood wrote:
I tried to follow your advice as closely as OSX would allow. Alas, it was to no gain.


Unfortunately, I have no knowledge of OSX whatsoever.

If there's a registry editor like regedit, try just doing a search for "TokenTool." If you can find the registry entry at all, you should be able to fine the overlay entries. I would expect they're called the same.

You might also try a web search for something like "osx move window with keyboard." If you can make that work, try moving the TokenTool window off the top of the screen far enough that you can resize it with the mouse, and pull it down (and maybe to the right) far enough that you can get to what you need to update.

Or just hang on until Jamz gets the update done.


Followed this. Used VoiceOver. Solved Problem.


It's good to know I'm occasionally clever.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:59 am
Posts: 1746
Location: Chicagoland
 Post subject: Re: Struggling With Resizing Tokens
PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:15 am 
Noice! :) Thanks for posting a solution in case someone else comes across the same issue.

_________________
-Jamz
____________________
Custom MapTool 1.4.x.x Fork: maptool.nerps.net
Custom TokenTool 2.0 Fork: tokentool.nerps.net
More information here: MapTool Nerps! Fork


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman