RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:00 am 






Reply to topic  [ 68 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9419
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Wolph42's drop-in Dungeon Builder v1.4
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:49 pm 
Great news Drow has created an export function in his dungeon builder which can be pasted straight into this tool. With this you can create random dungeons in Maptool in a matter of minutes!! Here's the linkto his website.

Version 1.4
Lost most of my log and also track of what i was doing but this is what I remember:
  • lots of extra material added
  • split up the floor and atmoshphere build, this means it will take longer but the arrangement problem (floor to the back) is solved with this.
  • extended the settings for wallitems with layer (didn't work), size and rotation (be prudent in their use though!!)
  • menu settings of build dungeon are saved

edit: hmm ninja'd by a drow...

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Last edited by wolph42 on Wed Jan 12, 2011 2:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:37 am
Posts: 3108
Location: Germany
 Post subject: Re: Wolph42's drop-in Dungeon Builder v1.4
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:58 pm 
Awesome! Thx to you both!

_________________
HELP: GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC.

most complete list of my maptool stuff


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:37 am
Posts: 3108
Location: Germany
 Post subject: Re: Wolph42's drop-in Dungeon Builder v1.4
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:27 am 
While playing again with this wonderful tool I have one tiny request.

Would it be possible (and i think so, since Wiki: copyToken() would support it) to make it possible to specify a graphic source map in the settings - and so make the building process work cross map? So I wouldnt have to delete any stuff, just create a new map, fire up the rendering, export and voila. Done in seconds without any clutter.

Ah ... and I will probably make me some open/close macros on the (source) doors for very easy handling.

_________________
HELP: GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC.

most complete list of my maptool stuff


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9419
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Wolph42's drop-in Dungeon Builder v1.4
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:43 am 
CoveredInFish wrote:

Would it be possible (and i think so, since Wiki: copyToken() would support it) to make it possible to specify a graphic source map in the settings - and so make the building process work cross map? So I wouldnt have to delete any stuff, just create a new map, fire up the rendering, export and voila. Done in seconds without any clutter.

?That is one hell of a cryptic request, but after reading it 5 times I think I get what you want. Nice idea, will look into it. Reading the wiki though: I think so indeed.
Just to be sure: you mean that you copy the source token NOT on the current map where the source tokens are located but to another map, which already exists, but needs to be specified in the settings.

CoveredInFish wrote:
Ah ... and I will probably make me some open/close macros on the (source) doors for very easy handling.

Nice idea, when you've done that can you attach the tokens to this topic?

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:37 am
Posts: 3108
Location: Germany
 Post subject: Re: Wolph42's drop-in Dungeon Builder v1.4
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:21 am 
And it has read so clear to me :oops: Probably I'm even sicker than I thought.

Let my try again...

Currently there must be all graphic objects (used to render the dungeon) on the same map than the rendered dungeon shall appear.

I'd like it that I can switch to a new empty map and create the dungeon there. But for that the source map for copyToken() calls must be set properly - hence the settings entry.

I'm aiming for this workflow:
1) open dungeon builder cmpgn file
2) create a new, empty map
3) switch to that map
4) create the dungeon there
5) export map

Hope I made myself more clear this time.

Wolph42 wrote:
Nice idea, when you've done that can you attach the tokens to this topic?

As long as I come around with something useable it'll be a pleasure to share.

_________________
HELP: GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC.

most complete list of my maptool stuff


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9419
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Wolph42's drop-in Dungeon Builder v1.4
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 10:02 am 
Crystal!

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9419
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Wolph42's drop-in Dungeon Builder v1.4
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 10:58 am 
Nothing is ever as easy as it seems.
It seems that when you set a lib property while the lib is NOT on the current map, the lib token is duplicated to the current map. I call that a bug and will report it as such. Anyway: CIF's request can be downloaded here:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9052014/Dungeon ... 1.4a.cmpgn
Note that you must move the lib token to the map where you want to render the map, or you'll get an error...

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:37 am
Posts: 3108
Location: Germany
 Post subject: Re: Wolph42's drop-in Dungeon Builder v1.4
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 11:13 am 
Thanks for the quick work. lets hope this bug get fixed, it sounds like it would be a major annoyance for every framework/multiple map gaming situation.

Edit: works fine in b81. Great!

_________________
HELP: GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC.

most complete list of my maptool stuff


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9419
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Wolph42's drop-in Dungeon Builder v1.5
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:15 pm 
ok version 1.5 is up now. The rendering can now take place on any map. In the settings you can set where the lib token (and source tokens) reside. Defaults to "Dungeon Builder" map.

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
RPTools Team
 
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:05 pm
Posts: 5538
Location: Buffalo, NY
 Post subject: Re: Wolph42's drop-in Dungeon Builder v1.5
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:40 am 
Wow, this is impressive! I tried it and it worked! Very little learning curve.

Great job to all people involved!

_________________
How to use my bundled artwork (MT1.3B60+): http://forums.rptools.net/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=11759


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9419
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Wolph42's drop-in Dungeon Builder v1.5
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:51 am 
dorpond wrote:
Wow, this is impressive! I tried it and it worked! Very little learning curve.

Great job to all people involved!


Good to hear and thank you!! I could not help but notice something cynical in the 'and it worked!', is your experience that it usually doesn't? :wink:

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 7:51 pm
Posts: 2060
Location: Philadelphia, PA
 Post subject: Re: Wolph42's drop-in Dungeon Builder v1.5
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 4:40 pm 
Would it be possible to have the macro make the dungeon on a different map? This way it would be easier to export and place in a different campaign.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9419
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Wolph42's drop-in Dungeon Builder v1.5
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 6:03 pm 
neofax wrote:
Would it be possible to have the macro make the dungeon on a different map? This way it would be easier to export and place in a different campaign.

haven't you read the changelog?

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 8:28 pm
Posts: 337
 Post subject: Re: Wolph42's drop-in Dungeon Builder v1.5
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:52 am 
Wolph, this is pretty interesting. Seems like this could be adapted for city maps, too, which would be really useful for superhero games. What do you think?


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9419
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Wolph42's drop-in Dungeon Builder v1.5
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:20 am 
yes, someone already mentioned to drow to drop the corridors in his donjon builder so you can use the export with my tool to create villages.
Without that you could e.g. add roofs either free size or very large and randomly distribute them over an area. together with some trees. Then the atmosphere tokens can be changed for shrubberies, dirt, crud, straw etc etc.
iow: feel free to set it up :mrgreen: if you need help, here I am!

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 68 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman