RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Fri Feb 23, 2018 3:36 pm 






Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 5:10 pm
Posts: 439
 Post subject: (Nolgroth) Dice Frame
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 9:46 pm 
Drop-in Resource

I was really impressed with Rumble's diceBox Drop-in. So much so, that I wanted to modify it so that it filled out a couple of features that I thought were missing. Sadly, I am not nearly as conversant in MTScript as Rumble is and had a hard time following the code from one step to another. Not to be dissuaded by such little things, I decided to move forward in my own way. The result is Diceframe. While not technically as sophisicated as Rumble's, I am quite proud of my brute force methodology. :)

Files:
Diceframe token:
Attachment:
Diceframe_v11.rptok [70.29 KiB]
Downloaded 115 times

Rumble's Dice Table

Install:
1. Download and put the Diceframe_v11.rptok into a Library Folder. From there, drag it onto the map.
2. Download Rumble's dice table. Put it in a Library Folder. From the Tables window, Import the dice table.
3. Select the Diceframe token. Click on the diceFrame macro.
4. Once the dice frame pops up, position it to where you like. I place it high in the window, almost exactly center of the screen. I have a widescreen monitor so horizontal space is abundant.

If something does not work, please let me know and I will fix it. I hope that you may find a use for this.

Attachment:
ss.jpg
ss.jpg [ 165.49 KiB | Viewed 1730 times ]

Features:
  • Individual die roll output.
  • Shadowrun 4 style Glitches and Edge re-rolls. (I think WoD uses these too, just for d10 instead of d6.)
  • Hide dice total output if you don't want it cluttering the chat.
  • Some small help text. For the moment, it outputs to chat. I could not figure out why the dialog() command was not working. I will look more closely at that and see if I can figure out why.


Last edited by nolgroth on Sun Oct 23, 2011 12:05 am, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 2:35 am
Posts: 1001
Location: California
 Post subject: Re: (Nolgroth) Dice Frame
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:11 pm 
Looks pretty cool I'll give it a try. Thanks

_________________
DCI/RPGA# 7208328396 Skype ID mfrizzell77
Characters:
Strabor - Dwarf Avenger 5th Level
Tikkanan - Human Warlock 2nd Level
----------------------------------------------------
"People are more violently opposed to fur than leather because it's safer to harass rich women than motorcycle gangs."


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 5:10 pm
Posts: 439
 Post subject: Re: (Nolgroth) Dice Frame
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 4:38 am 
Realized that I had messed up on the way mods are applied. Most games apply mods after the die are rolled. While updating that, I made a couple of small changes.
  • Updated modifier to stack with dice totals.
  • Updated output to indicate modifier.
  • Added the » symbol as a separator between the base dice and re-rolled Edge dice. Also made separator a conditional output item.

New file in first post.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 5:10 pm
Posts: 439
 Post subject: Re: (Nolgroth) Dice Frame
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 4:42 am 
mfrizzell wrote:
Looks pretty cool I'll give it a try. Thanks
I was building it for myself, but I thought others might find a use for it. Honestly, for sheer spiffiness, I think Rumble's is pretty cool what with being able to roll multiple kinds of dice and remembering die rolls. Still, no sense in not putting out another resource. Somebody may find it useful for their game.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 2:38 am
Posts: 323
 Post subject: Re: (Nolgroth) Dice Frame
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 3:01 pm 
Ok... you know I gotta ask. Does it handle Hero Dice? :D


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 5:10 pm
Posts: 439
 Post subject: Re: (Nolgroth) Dice Frame
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 3:58 pm 
pmbruner wrote:
Ok... you know I gotta ask. Does it handle Hero Dice? :D
Nope. I could build in simple Hero functionality for Stun dice, Killing Stun Multiple, Knockback and possibly Hit Locations. As I said earlier though, I built it mostly for myself and being that I already have a whole framework for Hero, didn't see a need. I want to be careful that I don't end up trying to support a lot of game systems. That would bloat this thing up to something more than I originally envisioned it to be.

If you want though, I'll look into it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman