RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:37 pm 




Forum rules


Discussion regarding lmarkus001's framework only. Other posts deleted without notice! :)



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:37 pm
Posts: 358
 Post subject: Adding Attack/DMG Bonuses on the fly
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 12:39 pm 
Hello,

Is there anyway to make so a window will pop-up when attacking with a particular weapon that will allow you to add attk/dmg bonuses on the fly?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7885
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: Adding Attack/DMG Bonuses on the fly
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 1:12 pm 
Not without rewriting the macro. I suppose you can make a request. I've done some work in creating a new attack macro, but didn't consider that. If I ever get back to it, I'll keep that in mind.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:37 pm
Posts: 358
 Post subject: Re: Adding Attack/DMG Bonuses on the fly
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 4:59 pm 
aliasmask wrote:
Not without rewriting the macro. I suppose you can make a request. I've done some work in creating a new attack macro, but didn't consider that. If I ever get back to it, I'll keep that in mind.


Thank you for the head's up. Please post if you are able to work it out.

Best.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7885
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: Adding Attack/DMG Bonuses on the fly
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 5:48 pm 
Yeah, the reason I stopped is because it was turning in to a bigger project than planned. I wanted to include feats and a different weapon creation system and possibly have the option to apply damage to a token automatically.

I also wanted to do cleave attacks on the fly, switch targets during full attack, select target progression, have a generic mod system in which to define feats which would include such things as having mods only on first attack or apply mod only for this set of attacks and turn it off... stuff like that.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:13 am
Posts: 3
 Post subject: Re: Adding Attack/DMG Bonuses on the fly
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:16 am 
I don't know if this helps any, but I made an attack button that mirrored the attack macro code, but I just added undefined variables for modAttack and modDamage and it would just do a quick pop-up box to ask for the variable. You can just hit enter if you don't have anything. Worked fine for me!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 7:51 pm
Posts: 2060
Location: Philadelphia, PA
 Post subject: Re: Adding Attack/DMG Bonuses on the fly
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 5:11 pm 
If you want to add these to the input dialog, you can so that you don't have three pop-up dialogs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 9:12 pm
Posts: 14
 Post subject: Re: Adding Attack/DMG Bonuses on the fly
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 8:57 pm 
What we did was modify the attack macro in the library as follows.

Locate the section that begins (it should be towards the top):
Code:
[H:inCC =


Under the line:
Code:
   + "sneak|" + json.get( jCC, "sneak" ) + "|Sneak Attack Damage|TEXT|WIDTH=10" + "##"


add the following lines:
Code:
   + "MiscATK|" +MiscATK+ "|Miscellaneous Attack Bonus|TEXT|WIDTH=10" + "##"
   + "MiscDMG|" +MiscDMG+ "|Miscellaneous Damage Bonus|TEXT|WIDTH=10"


What that does is add a text box to the attack UI to input miscellaneous attack and damage values. You have to be mindful that these are persistent, so if they should only be applied for a single attack, next time you run the macro you need to remember to zero them out again. I've found it works fairly well though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 7:51 pm
Posts: 2060
Location: Philadelphia, PA
 Post subject: Re: Adding Attack/DMG Bonuses on the fly
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 4:58 pm 
At the top of the macro, you can do a [H: MiscATK = 0] [H: MiscDMG = 0] to set the Miscellaneous Attack and Damage to zero before the input dialog pops up. This way you only have to remember to apply it not unapply it. I am more a Opt-In instead of Opt-Out person.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Cave Troll
 
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 5:13 pm
Posts: 93
 Post subject: Re: Adding Attack/DMG Bonuses on the fly
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:07 am 
Aren't those particular variables used for the Mod Sets and other macros? Won't this interfere with other things that use those variables?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 7:51 pm
Posts: 2060
Location: Philadelphia, PA
 Post subject: Re: Adding Attack/DMG Bonuses on the fly
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 3:00 pm 
Yes, they will if you start applying mod-sets that include these. However, you can change them to MiscAtk2 and MiscDmg2. This will not affect anything and will only save during the current attack as there is no property set for them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 9:12 pm
Posts: 14
 Post subject: Re: Adding Attack/DMG Bonuses on the fly
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:03 pm 
Voltang wrote:
Aren't those particular variables used for the Mod Sets and other macros? Won't this interfere with other things that use those variables?


Kind of. That's why in my case we refer back to the modifiers. Since they are miscellaneous attack and damage macros, they should only come into play when one is attacking or doing damage. Rather than setting it to 0 we use the logic of setting it to whatever the current value is. So if outside of the attack macro you have set a +2 to attack when you run the attack macro the value is +2 (what it currently is). If for that attack you need to adjust it, you can change it to something else, which resets the miscATK value to whatever you enter. If it should only apply to that attack, you can either re-run the mod macro to change it or simply adjust it again next time you attack (e.g. if it was +2 and when you attacked you set it to +3, next time you attack it will still be +3 so just set it back to +2). I know that sounds like a lot, but remember it's happening in the same attack UI you already have open and are using.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman