Questions about DnD

Talk about whatever topic you'd like, RPG related or not. (But please discuss things related to our software in the Tools section, below.)

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

E7AO
Kobold

Questions about DnD

Post by E7AO »

I am new to dungeons and dragons and have been looking for a way to get into the game but have been unable to find a steady local group with whom to attempt DnD games with, while looking for a way to play DnD online it seemed if maptools was one of the go to programs for playing DnD over the internet.

Now my question is what exactly is the best way to go about getting into DnD (Lets say 4e since I heard it was more new user friendly)

- What resources would I need to begin playing DnD via maptools (info books, rule books, basically what I would need to get out there and purchase and have in front of me)

- How to become familiar with using maptools to play DnD (Tutor games for new players, spectating games, basic interface and game interactions)

- How to learn DnD itself (I've watched Dnd tabletop games played and have experienced some of the older DnD games such as baldur's gate and neverwinter so I have a basic understanding of mechanics but I have never tried playing the tabletop itself)

Lee
Dragon

Re: Questions about DnD

Post by Lee »

I say the best way is to jump in and ride the lightning, so to speak. There's a section here called "Looking for Group", you'll find ]people looking for other people to campaign with. Try joining a 3.5 DnD/Pathfinder or 4e campaign and your answers will be answered quickly without needing to invest yet on physical materials. While I haven't tried them out myself, the DnD frameworks look robust enough to not need hands-on material right away.

wolph42
Winter Wolph

Post by wolph42 »

as for getting a bit familiar with maptool up front: http://rptoolstutorials.net/