Move blocking for grid maps - a solution?

Talk about whatever topic you'd like, RPG related or not. (But please discuss things related to our software in the Tools section, below.)

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

evilC
Cave Troll

Move blocking for grid maps - a solution?

Post by evilC »

I am new to MT, so forgive me if I make some wild assumptions etc, but it seems to me that there is a not so bad solution to this problem.

The aim is:
For a square grid based game, allow the player full control of moving their token in a VBL / FOW environment, whilst eliminating the possibility that they could reveal any view that they could not have seen, and only allowing "legal" moves (ie not into or through a wall). Ideally this should include not exceeding their move allowance for that turn.

My proposed solution:
(Only really thought through so far for dungeon type environments)
Use the technique Wolph42 used in his drop-in Difficult Terrain code to instead draw a line of move-blocking tokens ("impossible terrain"). This square of "terrain" is so difficult to enter, it costs infinity movement points to move onto - viola, a move blocking layer.

This idea could be extended in all sorts of ways.
I propose maybe the system of using tokens to represent the data could each square could be refined.
How about using the state system to our advantage?
For example, you position two tokens, one at the top left of your dungeon, one at the bottom right, and click an "edit mode" button. It then creates a token for each square inside the box - one token per square of the dungeon.
Each square has the "Wall" state set by default. You drag a box to select all tokens inside a room and right click>change state to "Walkable".
This way, you could easily give each square one or more states, and the state icons stack, so with clever layout we can represent lots of states for each square through just one token.