RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Thu Jul 20, 2017 11:40 pm 






Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 6:28 pm
Posts: 2
 Post subject: Background Map Blacks Out
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:21 pm 
I've got a map that I'm working on.

Every now ant then when I re-position the map, the background map disappears and all I see is all of the tokens / objects and the original black background.

Any thoughts on what is causing this to happen?

(The map shows back up if I exit the campaign and re-load it, but this wouldn't be any fun!)

Thanks,

Chuck


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 4:51 am
Posts: 302
 Post subject: Re: Background Map Blacks Out
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:42 am 
Next time that happens try zooming in and out. Sometimes I find some tokens don't display until I do that. It's a rendering issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:52 am
Posts: 1
Location: suncoast of Florida
 Post subject: Re: Background Map Blacks Out
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:01 am 
I had similar issues, you may need to use the launcher to resize the memory allocation for maptools. Something like 1400 max, 64 min and 12 stack.
that setting seems to have solved my map problems.

_________________
Don't feed the trolls.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Posts: 7749
Location: Bay Area
 Post subject: Re: Background Map Blacks Out
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:08 am 
Sjotakollr wrote:
I had similar issues, you may need to use the launcher to resize the memory allocation for maptools. Something like 1400 max, 64 min and 12 stack.
that setting seems to have solved my map problems.

Raising the max mem to 1400 for a 32bit OS AND java is what did the trick. Having a higher stack actually uses more memory but doesn't affect graphics that much. It's more for the macros. I used to use stack of 2 with WinXP, but later Windows OSs needed a stack of 3.

Many people have 64bit system but don't take advantage of higher memory options because the java default download is 32bit. If you removed the old java and do a manual download of the lastest 64bit java then you can up your max mem to 2048 for a smoother running campaign. I always recommend using the latest version of MT. Also, the launcher jar file is what you want to run otherwise it uses the really sad and pathetic default settings that won't work with hardly anything other than to open up the program.

_________________
Downloads:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests





cron

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman