RPTools.net
http://forums.rptools.net/

Export Screenshot via macro
http://forums.rptools.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=27473
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Zuljita [ Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Export Screenshot via macro

Would it be possible to have a macro export a screen shot on a macro press?
Application: I have a turn advance macro I use, I'd love to be able to have it spit out an image for the state of the battle as we move along, then I can worry about blogging it later.
Bonus points if it could name each screenshot and export a tiny bit of log based on the chat above it.

Not sure if any of these are technically feasible, but I'd love to discuss it.

Author:  aliasmask [ Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Export Screenshot via macro

Not with in MT. There are some apps that allow you to take progressive screen shots that save it immediately to your drive. I don't know any off hand, but I'm sure they exist.

Author:  taustinoc [ Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Export Screenshot via macro

Screenpresso will do that, in a fairly sophisticated way (it's pretty smart about identifying various parts of a window), but I don't know of any way to automate it.

Author:  JamzTheMan [ Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Export Screenshot via macro

I've added it as an issue to track and will probably add it to my fork.

https://github.com/JamzTheMan/MapTool/issues/38

Author:  Zuljita [ Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Export Screenshot via macro

Thanks!

Author:  Phergus [ Fri Dec 08, 2017 8:46 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Export Screenshot via macro

As a workaround...

If you are on Windows (maybe other platforms) and use Dropbox, then you can take screenshots the normal way (Print Screen key) and they will get dropped in your Dropbox/Screenshots folder time/date tagged.

Author:  Zuljita [ Fri Dec 08, 2017 4:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Export Screenshot via macro

I like the idea, would drop huge 2x1080p pictures into dropbox... I'd love it if it could just snap a picture of my maptool view. Thanks though, I may fall back on that.

Author:  JamzTheMan [ Fri Dec 08, 2017 4:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Export Screenshot via macro

Alternate alternate solution, bind an external macro (to mouse, keyboard, etc) that does a Control+Shift+S to bring up the dialog and (hopefully) enter after a delay to create export using last settings?

Author:  taustinoc [ Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Export Screenshot via macro

OK, here's a way to do, more or less, what you want:

There is a program (Windows and iOS only) called ScreenPresso. https://www.screenpresso.com/ There is a free version (which is what I've tested this with).

It will run in portable mode, without being installed.

Start up ScreenPresso and minimize it with the Close button (it will minimize to the system tray).

Get MapTool running.

<PrintScreen> will now activate ScreenPresso's function that lets you select a portion of the screen to copy with the mouse. Do this at the beginning, and select the map area of MapTool (or whatever you want).

When you want to do an a new screen shot, use <Shift><PrintScreen> to capture the same area as the last time.

By default, it saves them to the ScreenPresso folder in My Pictures, but this can be changed in the Settings windows (the wrench in the top right corner). The file names are the date and time.

My test captures are 1064 x 867 pixels, and run about 174 kb each.

It defaults to only saving 40 images, and the ScreenPresso windows pops up when you do a capture, but both of these can be changed in the Settings window (under Screenshot), as can the file name pattern, the image format, hot key definitions, and some other stuff. There is also an option to have it start automatically with Windows (I suspect you have to install it for that, rather than using portable mode).

This is all the free version. The $24 version probably has additional capabilities.

Author:  Phergus [ Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Export Screenshot via macro

Zuljita wrote:
I like the idea, would drop huge 2x1080p pictures into dropbox... I'd love it if it could just snap a picture of my maptool view. Thanks though, I may fall back on that.


If you use Alt-PrtScrn it just captures the active Window. That would be the whole MapTool gui if you aren't using Full-Screen in MapTool.

Author:  Zuljita [ Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Export Screenshot via macro

Some neat ideas here. I'll try to get some testing done and maybe have a cooler summary for my players/readers. Thanks!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/