Just curious...

Talk about whatever topic you'd like, RPG related or not. (But please discuss things related to our software in the Tools section, below.)

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

Emryys
Dragon

Just curious...

Post by Emryys »

Just curious...

I know you guys are doing this project out of fun but, I was wondering how helpful it is to prgressing your skills in the programming field. Is this like a project, where your bosses (us ;) ), can't seem to be happy with anything, or is this experience similar to having a professional project (except it's fun!)

Just curious... :)
Game On!

trevor
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)

Post by trevor »

This is very different than a professional project :)

I've been a software developer for over ten years now. The top reason I work on rptools is for the fun of it as a creative outlet. Here are the perks that aren't always found in a professional setting:

- Write interesting code that I find personally compelling
- Get to tell the customer where to go if I don't like what they are asking for :)
- No hard time frames other, which boils down to pressureless coding (big, big win)
- Explore new technologies
- Be creative
- Work with some really sharp people (giliath and mrice)

And it certainly helps skill polishing. For example, I really enjoy writing swing apps (the graphics part of Java) but don't typically find the opportunity to do it in a professional setting, so rptools lets me learn more about it.

You'll also notice that one of the requirements is Java 5. We started this project not long after Java 5 was released. We made that requirement so that we could learn how to use all the new features effectively. And this has certainly been the case.

In summary, it's a creative outlet that let's me/us polish our technical skills and work on something fun.
Dreaming of a 1.3 release

Fobbo
Giant

Post by Fobbo »

This is somewhat off topic but how hard was it to learn Jave?