Warhammer 40k or Fantasy Wargame?

Talk about whatever topic you'd like, RPG related or not. (But please discuss things related to our software in the Tools section, below.)

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

Humble Apostle
Cave Troll

Warhammer 40k or Fantasy Wargame?

Post by Humble Apostle »

I've been peeking at WH40k since I started playing Warhammer online. I vaguely remember playing WH40k with a friend once, who stuck me with 5 squads of Imperium marines while he showed me his quite large Tyranid army :) It was amusing though and now that I'm a bit more familiar with the series, I'm curious as to how I would do as a Tau commander.

So if anyone who is either experienced with wargames or 40k, and a fair hand at maptools would like to help me get a game or two started that would be great.

(I'm also a total noob to the rules, so bear with me if we play :P)
"A Knight is sworn to Valour"
"His Heart knows only Virtue"
"His Blade defends the Helpless"
"His Might upholds the Weak"
"His Words speak only Truth"
"His Wrath undoes the Wicked"

Jshock
Dragon

Re: Warhammer 40k or Fantasy Wargame?

Post by Jshock »

I haven't played since 3rd edition, but I think 40k over Maptools would be awesome, so I'll pitch in what I can. Here's what I see as being the major hurdles:

1. Damage rolls: they're D6 rolls, but the target number varies by target's Toughness... I remember the damage chart as being mathematical though. Did they change the damage chart in the newer edition(s)?

2: Scatter: I don't think a scatter die could be emulated properly as just a roll- probably have to use a template connected to a table or something.

we'll have to figure out how the base sizes translate too, but that's not a major issue- IIRC it's just 25mm, 40mm & 50mm for infantry, and however big the actual vehicle is for vehicles (ooh, something else to figure out).

tektonik
Dragon

Post by tektonik »