Ant Build XML Patch

Progress reports and musings from the developers on the current gaming tools.

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

Post Reply
osake
Kobold
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 2:53 pm

Ant Build XML Patch

Post by osake »

Wasn't really sure where to post this, but it's sort of a feature. When using NetBeans 6.9.1 (Mac OS X 10.5), I got errors on the Ant build scripts saying that they weren't valid build files. A little searching and I found that while there is no "official" DTD, that this works:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE project SYSTEM "http://ant.apache.org/ant.dtd">
<project>
...
</project>
Whereas, we currently have:

Code: Select all

<project>
...
</project>
So, I'd like to propose a patch to all the Ant build files to include the document type at the beginning. If you'd like something more formal, like a patch file, I can do that too.

Here's my source for the information: http://www.xmlblueprint.com/validate-ant-buildfile.htm if you are curious.

--Josh

User avatar
Azhrei
Site Admin
Posts: 12086
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:20 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: Ant Build XML Patch

Post by Azhrei »

Hi, Josh.

Yes, please send me a patch file if you can; I'd like to be able to track who contributed the patch as well as the content.

I'm a little surprised that ANT is being more picky on the NB platform, but perhaps NB runs ANT with a -pedantic option or something?

Edit: Moved to the Developer Notes forum as it's not a user feature.

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Re: Ant Build XML Patch

Post by Phergus »

Azhrei wrote:I'm a little surprised that ANT is being more picky on the NB platform, but perhaps NB runs ANT with a -pedantic option or something?
That is odd. Doesn't happen here with NB 6.9.1 under Vista.

Sure it is an "xml" file and so should have all that at the beginning but...

Created a brand new project in NB and it only includes the xml version element but not the doctype.

osake
Kobold
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: Ant Build XML Patch

Post by osake »

I would think that it is because Ant doesn't have a formal DTD. It's more of a placeholder it would seem.

Do you have anything documented on getting maptool up and running in netbeans? I'm still working through some other issues, but I think these are related to getting the project configured properly.

Phergus
Deity
Posts: 7132
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
Contact:

Re: Ant Build XML Patch

Post by Phergus »

osake wrote:Do you have anything documented on getting maptool up and running in netbeans?
I don't. I just fired up NB and told it to import the Eclipse projects out of where I had checked out the source. :D

And it just worked.

Didn't try getting the source directly through NB as I already had it.

osake
Kobold
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: Ant Build XML Patch

Post by osake »

Can't seem to PM a zip file, trying to load it up here.
Attachments
ant_patch.zip
Ant XML patch for rptoools project
(1.12 KiB) Downloaded 133 times

Post Reply

Return to “Developer Notes”