RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 9:00 am 






Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 9:01 pm
Posts: 800
Location: Beneath the Aurora Borealis
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:38 pm 
Steel Rat wrote:
They could be used in other mapping programs, like Dundjinni and CC3 as well, though


And Dungeonforge :)

_________________
Game On!
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 3:46 pm
Posts: 189
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 11:24 pm 
Fairly sure they won't look good in Dundjinni or CC3 (Although I don't have either program so who knows) as they're made for MapTool's default of 40DPI.

Dundjinni uses what, 200 standard?
What about CC3 or Dungeonforge?


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:55 pm
Posts: 1801
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 11:34 pm 
Vry wrote:
Fairly sure they won't look good in Dundjinni or CC3 (Although I don't have either program so who knows) as they're made for MapTool's default of 40DPI.

Dundjinni uses what, 200 standard?
What about CC3 or Dungeonforge?


Hmm, yeah 40dpi won't look good zoomed in. Though would be fine for distance work. DJ is usually 200 dpi, though I've switched to doing 300 dpi.

_________________
Steel Rat
-----------
Helm's Deep RPG Network
Infinite Realities - RPG Supplements.
RPGMapShare.com - RPG Maps and Mapping objects.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 3:46 pm
Posts: 189
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 11:38 pm 
300!? :shock:

That's crazy, I have a hard enough time keeping my computer from choking working at 150 on my normal maps.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
 
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 11:41 pm 
Vry wrote:
they're made for MapTool's default of 40DPI.


As a side note, 40dpi was very arbitrary. I needed a square, and 40 sounded good. Have to remember, this was when we didn't have anything but a window, and a map :)

I'm fully open to re-evaluating this decision.

_________________
Dreaming of a 1.3 release


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 3:46 pm
Posts: 189
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 11:48 pm 
Considering all of these pieces will have to be sent to everyone connected to the server, small is probably good.

If we were going to pick a new default though, I'd prefer some power of 2, like 64, 128, whatever.

I got into the habit of having to use those when doing sprite design a decade ago and it's just stuck with me.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:55 pm
Posts: 1801
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 11:50 pm 
Vry wrote:
300!? :shock:

That's crazy, I have a hard enough time keeping my computer from choking working at 150 on my normal maps.


lol, I'm sure some others go higher. I don't really have a problem with lots of 200 and 300 dpi objects on a map. I guess I have enough RAM and a decent vid card.

_________________
Steel Rat
-----------
Helm's Deep RPG Network
Infinite Realities - RPG Supplements.
RPGMapShare.com - RPG Maps and Mapping objects.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:55 pm
Posts: 1801
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 11:52 pm 
Does Maptool do any image scaling along with resizing?

_________________
Steel Rat
-----------
Helm's Deep RPG Network
Infinite Realities - RPG Supplements.
RPGMapShare.com - RPG Maps and Mapping objects.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
 
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 12:25 am 
Steel Rat wrote:
Does Maptool do any image scaling along with resizing?


Actually, it only does scaling, it doesn't resize anything.

_________________
Dreaming of a 1.3 release


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:55 pm
Posts: 1801
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 12:32 am 
Ok, so, please forgive my graphics ignorance. If a stamped image starts out at 300 dpi, 640x480, what is it scaled down to? Will it still have the same size in memory as the original image?

_________________
Steel Rat
-----------
Helm's Deep RPG Network
Infinite Realities - RPG Supplements.
RPGMapShare.com - RPG Maps and Mapping objects.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
 
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 12:36 am 
Steel Rat wrote:
Ok, so, please forgive my graphics ignorance. If a stamped image starts out at 300 dpi, 640x480, what is it scaled down to? Will it still have the same size in memory as the original image?


For clarification, MapTool loads the images in their "native" resolution. That is, if the image is 640x480, the image in memory is 640x480. Java2D is then able to scale the image as it draws it to whatever size you want. And it does it really fast because it can use your gpu to do it :)

The nice thing about stamps is that no matter how many times you use it, it doesn't take any extra memory more than the first one.

_________________
Dreaming of a 1.3 release


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 7:56 pm
Posts: 6309
Location: Middle of Nowhere, NM
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 1:22 pm 
So what is the native dpi/resolution of stamps going to be? (Those terms are sooo imprecise when talking about these things.)

I guess what I am saying is, if I have a 5' square table, for convenvience sake, and it is 200px/5ft (a Dundjinni object). When I load it into MapTool as a stamp will it show up on the map as a 25' table (200/40 x 5') or what?

Will MapTool scale it to fit some predetermined size and if so what will it be?

The info is probably somewhere but when MapTool is set at a view of 1:1 does it mean that 40px = 5 feet?


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
 
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 2:12 pm 
Phergus wrote:
So what is the native dpi/resolution of stamps going to be? (Those terms are sooo imprecise when talking about these things.)

I guess what I am saying is, if I have a 5' square table, for convenvience sake, and it is 200px/5ft (a Dundjinni object). When I load it into MapTool as a stamp will it show up on the map as a 25' table (200/40 x 5') or what?

Will MapTool scale it to fit some predetermined size and if so what will it be?

The info is probably somewhere but when MapTool is set at a view of 1:1 does it mean that 40px = 5 feet?


To be precise, there isn't any concept of px per feet, there is just what I call "native" or "natural" pixel size. That is, if your map is 1000 x 1000 and you have 200x200 cells (this is very large is MapTool terms), and if you have a chair that is 200x200 pixels, then the chair will fill exactly one cell, regardless of zoom.

_________________
Dreaming of a 1.3 release


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:55 pm
Posts: 1801
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 2:54 pm 
DJ maps are primarily intended to be printed, I think that's the reason for the higher density and scale of those objects in general.

the question is, do we want maximum compatibility with actual mapping programs?

_________________
Steel Rat
-----------
Helm's Deep RPG Network
Infinite Realities - RPG Supplements.
RPGMapShare.com - RPG Maps and Mapping objects.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Codeum Arcanum (RPTools Founder)
 
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 4:05 pm 
Steel Rat wrote:
DJ maps are primarily intended to be printed, I think that's the reason for the higher density and scale of those objects in general.

the question is, do we want maximum compatibility with actual mapping programs?


The easier the experience the better :) The only thing to watch out for is memory.

_________________
Dreaming of a 1.3 release


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman