OS X LAN Connection Issue

Developer discussion regarding MapTool 1.4

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei

Forum rules
Posting now open to all registered forum users.
Post Reply
gordon831
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 1:06 am

OS X LAN Connection Issue

Post by gordon831 »

Hi everyone,

Looking for some troubleshooting help on having other players connect to a local Maptool server.

1. OS X El Capitan (10.11.2)

2. JRE 1.7.0_71-b14

3. ifconfig output
Spoiler
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
options=3<RXCSUM,TXCSUM>
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
gif0: flags=8010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280
en0: flags=8963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
options=10b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_HWTAGGING,AV>
ether 10:9a:dd:67:97:6a
nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
media: autoselect (none)
status: inactive
en1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether e4:ce:8f:04:9f:c8
inet6 fe80::e6ce:8fff:fe04:9fc8%en1 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5
inet 192.168.0.103 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.0.255
nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
media: autoselect
status: active
en2: flags=963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX> mtu 1500
options=60<TSO4,TSO6>
ether d2:00:1b:47:7b:60
media: autoselect <full-duplex>
status: inactive
fw0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 4078
lladdr 70:cd:60:ff:fe:b4:77:b6
nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
media: autoselect <full-duplex>
status: inactive
p2p0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 2304
ether 06:ce:8f:04:9f:c8
media: autoselect
status: inactive
bridge0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
options=63<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,TSO4,TSO6>
ether 12:9a:dd:76:13:00
Configuration:
id 0:0:0:0:0:0 priority 0 hellotime 0 fwddelay 0
maxage 0 holdcnt 0 proto stp maxaddr 100 timeout 1200
root id 0:0:0:0:0:0 priority 0 ifcost 0 port 0
ipfilter disabled flags 0x2
member: en2 flags=3<LEARNING,DISCOVER>
ifmaxaddr 0 port 6 priority 0 path cost 0
nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
media: <unknown type>
status: inactive
bridge100: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
options=3<RXCSUM,TXCSUM>
ether 12:9a:dd:76:13:64
inet 192.168.2.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.2.255
inet6 fe80::109a:ddff:fe76:1364%bridge100 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0xb
Configuration:
id 0:0:0:0:0:0 priority 0 hellotime 0 fwddelay 0
maxage 0 holdcnt 0 proto stp maxaddr 100 timeout 1200
root id 0:0:0:0:0:0 priority 0 ifcost 0 port 0
ipfilter disabled flags 0x2
member: en0 flags=3<LEARNING,DISCOVER>
ifmaxaddr 0 port 4 priority 0 path cost 0
nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
media: <unknown type>
status: inactive
4. Maptool version 1.4.0.0 (not sure if Java web start... downloaded from RPTools site, maptool-1.4.0.0-osx.zip

5. Local address is 192.168.2.1

6. I am able to start a new instance of Maptool and connect to my own server on the same machine, but I cannot get local clients to see my machine on the LAN tab nor can they direct connect to the local address I gave in step 5 (I use the default port 51234... it's not set up to port forward but since we are all on the same network I don't think it's necessary). The players that use Windows PCs are able to set up a server on my local network, and the rest of us can successfully connect (they did add an exception to their Firewall after being prompted by Windows). I have gone into the OS X settings and disabled the Firewall, still no luck.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks!

gordon831
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 1:06 am

Re: OS X LAN Connection Issue

Post by gordon831 »

Sorry for the double post. Manage to solve this issue on my own, hope my answer will help others down the line.

Not sure if this is a bug, but I found out that the local IP address reported by the Maptool's connection information window is incorrect. To find the local IP address on OS X, go to

System Preferences > Network

and your local IP address is proudly displayed beneath the status area of the window.

If you want to exercise your command line kung fu, you can also type into the console

Code: Select all

ipconfig ifaddr en1
where you use en1 for Airport (wireless adapater) or en0 for an ethernet connection. This is a one-liner that displays your IP address. You could also use ifconfig, but I find it annoying because it vomits a huge amount of irrelevant information.
Reference

User avatar
Full Bleed
Demigod
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Location: FL

Re: OS X LAN Connection Issue

Post by Full Bleed »

gordon831 wrote:but I found out that the local IP address reported by the Maptool's connection information window is incorrect.
Out of curiosity, what does your local IP look like? If MT was reporting incorrectly, I'd be shocked if we hadn't heard of this before.
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."

gordon831
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 1:06 am

Re: OS X LAN Connection Issue

Post by gordon831 »

what does your local IP look like?
Not sure what you mean by "look like."

In my original post, Maptool reported my IP address as:
192.168.2.1
but, scanning the ifconfig output, the address should be:
192.168.0.103

User avatar
Full Bleed
Demigod
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Location: FL

Re: OS X LAN Connection Issue

Post by Full Bleed »

Can you tell a little bit more about your setup?

Do you have a dual band wireless router?

Does your computer have a wireless and wired connection?

Do you have a wireless bridge?
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."

gordon831
Kobold
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 1:06 am

Re: OS X LAN Connection Issue

Post by gordon831 »

I'm using a TL-WR841N wireless router, which is not dual band. I don't have a wireless bridge.

My computer, as well as the players' computers, are using a wireless connection. IPv4 configured using DHCP (and using a dynamic IP). No proxies.

User avatar
Azhrei
Site Admin
Posts: 12086
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:20 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: OS X LAN Connection Issue

Post by Azhrei »

Sorry for the late post...

Since you have multiple active interfaces, MT didn't know which one to select and just grabbed the first one it found that had a router capable of supporting UPnP. (My guess is that both of those networks go to the same router, so it's a toss up as to which one it used.)

However, that by itself shouldn't have been a problem. It would have listened on <IPaddr:port> and it would have used UPnP to program the router to send incoming packets to that location, so connections coming in should've worked.

I suppose it's possible that it chose one IP address when there was a higher priority route configured for the other IP address, but that seems a little unlikely (although possible).

Thanks for posting how you resolved it as that may help someone else in the future. And be aware that there's an option on the Help menu to dump out a bunch of platform/network info so that others can help you diagnose connection problems. (In case you're wondering, it doesn't display anything that isn't already accessible information.)

Post Reply

Return to “MapTool 1.4”