Page 1 of 1

Memory issues

Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:05 pm
by Taranis
Hi guys,
I need to export a very huge map (very huge!) and when i try to export the entire map, maptool doesn't save the file neither give error messages or anything else...
I tried than with smaller dimensions and got this error:
I tried to export maps every time smaller than the previous, until it send me this error message:

"screenCapture () caught: out of memory
java.lang.outofmemory: java heap space"

It hasn't problems with small maps, it can export them.

now, i tried to change the max value of heap memory in file .bat, but it seems it doesn't work.
i can't launch with maptoollacuncher.exe because of this error "Error: Unable to access jarfile maptool-*.jar " and need to launch with maptool-1.4.0.4.jar

what should i do?
thanks

Re: Memory issues

Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 3:27 pm
by wolph42
you need to run the launcher and in the laucher you need to maximize your max mem. Now if you are running java x32 that max is ~1500mb (and probly not enough) if you run java x64 you can set it to a much larger amount. Depending on the amount of memory you have in total you can raise it to 4096 or even 8182. If you don't know which java version you have: then you have version x32 !! You need to actively download the x64 edition. Uninstall the old one and then install the new one.

Re: Memory issues

Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 4:07 pm
by Full Bleed
Taranis wrote:i can't launch with maptoollacuncher.exe because of this error "Error: Unable to access jarfile maptool-*.jar " and need to launch with maptool-1.4.0.4.jar

what should i do?
What OS are you running? Is it 64 bit?

Re: Memory issues

Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 6:21 am
by Taranis
Yes. win10. java version too

Re: Memory issues

Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 6:55 am
by wolph42
so you need to up the max mem.

Re: Memory issues

Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:48 am
by Taranis
i can't set the max memory nor in the file .bat neither in maptoollauncher.exe, cause this one don't work :(

Re: Memory issues

Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 10:54 am
by wolph42
ah right, I've been working with the dev version for so long now i forget that the current version still works without the wrapper...

have you tried this in the bat:

Code: Select all

set STACK=4M
set MAXMEM=4096M
set JAVA=javaw
set VERS=1.4.0.4

start "MapTool" %JAVA% -Xmx%MAXMEM% -Xss%STACK% -jar maptool-%VERS%.jar run

Re: Memory issues

Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 3:41 pm
by Taranis
ok, i solved!! thank you guys :D