RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:57 pm 




Forum rules


Posting now open to all registered forum users.



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 5:29 am
Posts: 2
 Post subject: Android Support
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2017 6:10 am 
Hi all,

me and my group have tried playing with the MapTool two times now instead of doing tabletop d&d.
For our last session I did a quick-and-dirty android tool for moving tokens so that every player can move its token using his android mobile phone.

I don't know whether such a tool already exists (or why not) but if someone is interested in it - here it is:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/qzjefg138evquqm/MapToolPlus.zip?dl=0
There is a short readme in the zip file. At least for us it has worked quite well :)


After one session we are quite happy with it but there are some things to be done.
Maybe it will be continued or put on github. Depends on our and your needs :)

Cheers,
Tobi




It is not super intuitive, so here is a short user manual:

1. Use maptool-1.4.0.5_modded for the server
2. Install MapToolInput on an android device (E.g. copy via usb to the android mobile device and follow http://www.wikihow.tech/Install-APK-Files-on-Android to install it)
3. Start server
4. insert IP on in MapToolInput, press CONNCET, enter your username(remeber it)
--> On the server: You should see a message that this username has connected
5. On the server: Strg+E for enforce the current map to the client(s)
--> On the MapToolInput: MapLoaded should be checked now
6. On the server:
a) Create a token with the exact name as the connected user.
or
b) Create a token with the name "ALL". Every client can move this one if he does not have a token with his exact username.
[Maybe 7. On the MapToolInput: update the GridSize field and press updateGrid according to your maps gridSize]

Controll your token via MapToolInput:
Move: Up, Down, Left, Right
Create waypoints
Execute the move

You can change the map by opening it on the server and repeating all steps from 5.


For advanced users:
The android client:
1. has to connect
2. has to receive a enforceZone message
3. has to receive a putToken message with token's name equal his username or 'ALL' (Without ')


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9413
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Android Support
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2017 3:34 pm 
very cool! much thanks for sharing. I'll inform the DEVs of this, maybe they'll pick this up.
EDIT:
I've got network issues (my problem) so I can't test. I did had some questions though:
1. to what should the player password be set on the server?
2. what port are you using
3. after a minute the app exits automatically ('stopped working')

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:59 am
Posts: 1684
Location: Chicagoland
 Post subject: Re: Android Support
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2017 3:47 pm 
Interesting concept. Although I could not get it to work. The app did not seem to connect (and there was no option for port so not sure if you are defaulting the port number?)

If you would like to share, it would be better to fork this on GitHub and share your work and submit pull requests to the official repo.

_________________
-Jamz
____________________
Custom MapTool 1.4.x.x Fork: maptool.nerps.net
More information here: MapTool Nerps! Fork | TokenTool Nerps! Fork
Custom TokenTool (version 1.0b33): TokenTool.exe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 5:29 am
Posts: 2
 Post subject: Re: Android Support
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:34 am 
Hi,

Yea - I forgot about that, so its default port (guess 51234) and no password.
Ofc that could be changed quite easily.

Maybe it crashes from time to time - don't know. It works fine for me.
I'll try to figure out why it crashes.

I already forked if. But on this stage I don't want to pull request it :P


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman