RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:21 am 




Forum rules


Posting now open to all registered forum users.



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 11:25 am
Posts: 8
 Post subject: Help with MT 1.4.1.7 and BoT 42
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 2:00 pm 
I'm a brand new user for MT--just started working with it a couple weeks ago. I really liked the VBL doors in Bag of Tricks, so I tried to install it for that one feature, but I am having a real problem getting it to work. I downloaded MT 1.4.1.7 and unzipped it into the root of my D: drive, downloaded "Wolph42 - Bag of Tricks.rptok" from viewtopic.php?p=170978, created a new campaign, renamed the Map from "Grasslands" to BASE, and dragged the file I downloaded into the token layer. I created the SpecialPad property, downloaded "Wolph42 - Bag of Tricks - The Special Pad Tokens.zip", unzipped it to my desktop, dragged LiveEventMacros.rptok into the token layer, along with all .rptok and .png files in the "CORE" folder, and imported all four tables from the "CORE" folder. I opened the "selected" window and the "campaign" window, clicked on "Token Move", dragged the Black "Bag of Tricks Macros" from the "selected window" to the "campaign window", and clicked "OnCampaignLoad" in the "selected" window. After a fairly long pause I got:

Error: Stack Overflow

<html>A stack overflow has occurred.<p>This is commonly because a macro being used has exceeded the stack space specified when MapTool was executed.<br>Please run MapTool again and specify a larger stack size.

My "launch.properties" file looks like this:

# Lines that start with '#' and blank lines are comments and are ignored.
# The fields below may appear in any order.
# Field names are not case-sensitive but will always be written in uppercase.
# Leading and trailing spaces around field names or their values are ignored.
# Spaces inside a value are preserved (useful for directory names).
#
# Limited to approximately 1500MB on 32-bit systems; unlimited on 64-bit.
MAXMEM=4096
# Simply a starting point for memory allocation. The default is fine.
MINMEM=256
# Any value larger than 8-10MB is likely to cause memory problems for MapTool.
STACKSIZE=10
#DATA_DIRECTORY=
# Set this to force MapTool to use a particular directory for all file storage.
MAPTOOL_DATADIR=C:\Users\Jim\.maptool
# Directory where the MapTool .jar file is stored. (Also see EXECUTABLE.)
MAPTOOL_DIRECTORY=.
# Version of MapTool this configuration file is for; must exist in the MAPTOOL_DIRECTORY directory.
EXECUTABLE=MapTool-1.4.1.7-fat.jar
CONSOLE=false
PROMPT=true
RELATIVE_PATHS=true
# Any extra arguments that should be placed on the Java command line.
#ARGS=
# A comma-separated list of XML files with enabled logging.
LOGGING=
# Locale setting for executing MapTool (does not apply to this launcher).
#LOCALE=
# Directory containing the version of Java to use; must contain a 'java' executable.
JAVA_DIRECTORY=C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.8.0_45\bin
MAPTOOL_VERSION=1.4.1.7

I'm definitely no Java expert (I do a little VBScript, but that's about it), and I am not sure what's wrong. I both googled the problem and searched to forum, but the only thing I found was something about a button under "Utils" to turn Move Event on (I can't find the thread now...) but I can't find that button.

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong? It's probably something simple, but I'm just not familiar enough with the software yet to figure out what...

Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9248
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Help with MT 1.4.1.7 and BoT 42
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 2:57 pm 
Did you start the launcher, or maptool directly?

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 11:25 am
Posts: 8
 Post subject: Re: Help with MT 1.4.1.7 and BoT 42
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:02 pm 
I started the launcher and set the memory options, but when I clicked "Launch Maptools," the launcher closed, but the program never opened. So I launched it directly after that. BTW, I'm running Windows 7 Pro 64 bit on a Lenovo Thinkpad T530, if that matters.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 11:25 am
Posts: 8
 Post subject: Re: Help with MT 1.4.1.7 and BoT 42
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:03 pm 
I started launcher first, and set the memory options, but when I clicked "Launch Maptools", the launcher closed but the program never ran. So I launched it directly.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9248
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Help with MT 1.4.1.7 and BoT 42
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:25 pm 
well, thats at least your issue. you have to run maptool with a bat but you have to search this forum how to.

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 11:25 am
Posts: 8
 Post subject: Re: Help with MT 1.4.1.7 and BoT 42
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:32 pm 
I thought that with 1.4 you just launched the .jar?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:30 pm
Posts: 163
 Post subject: Re: Help with MT 1.4.1.7 and BoT 42
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 4:42 pm 
jjensen6823 wrote:
I started the launcher and set the memory options, but when I clicked "Launch Maptools," the launcher closed, but the program never opened. So I launched it directly after that. BTW, I'm running Windows 7 Pro 64 bit on a Lenovo Thinkpad T530, if that matters.


What you describe sounds like you have 32 bit Java (which is the default if you just go to java.com and click on the big red download button), and you set the memory to too high a setting for 32 bit Java (about 1400 MB is the absolute max, 1024 is safer).

Try this: Launch the launcher, set the max memory to 1024, and see if MapTool starts. If it does, then uninstall Java completely, reboot, then go to https://java.com/en/download/manual.jsp and download "Windows Offline (64-bit)" and install that. Then you can set your max memory to pretty much whatever is available on your computer.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman