RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:55 pm 




Forum rules


Posting now open to all registered forum users.



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:38 am
Posts: 6
 Post subject: Difference between Image Resource size and grid size.
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:56 am 
I am trying to replicate the Tomb of Horrors map in MapTool and I saw a post of a map that was using Torstan's Resources which I very much like the look of. When I introduce a door, or wall section, or anything else it is double the size it should be according to the resource description. An example would be the "Earth Backed Walls" name scheme Torstan has used. "Wall, 1 Square" is actually two grid squares long. "Wall, 2 Squares" is four squares long.

Did I screw up my initial config or is this a mislabeling issue?


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Demigod
 
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 3782
Location: MD
 Post subject: Re: Difference between Image Resource size and grid size.
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:56 pm 
Polish-Jack wrote:
I am trying to replicate the Tomb of Horrors map in MapTool and I saw a post of a map that was using Torstan's Resources which I very much like the look of. When I introduce a door, or wall section, or anything else it is double the size it should be according to the resource description. An example would be the "Earth Backed Walls" name scheme Torstan has used. "Wall, 1 Square" is actually two grid squares long. "Wall, 2 Squares" is four squares long.

Did I screw up my initial config or is this a mislabeling issue?


I can't answer your questions directly because I've never used those assets. But I have to assume that is you set the map right (Map>Edit Map>Pixels Per Cell) and it matches the resolution of the assets, that there is a labeling error.

But, that said, I thought I'd try and save you some time. The Tomb of Horrors is one of the most re-done maps out there given its history. Just briefly looking I found these:

I really like this one. Linking to the original share so the author gets credit. Click on the image further down the map it's updated:
https://www.cartographersguild.com/show ... hp?t=23513

Unfinished, but enough to play I think... you might like the look:
https://www.cartographersguild.com/show ... php?t=6783

This one has all the GM designations on it and would need some time in Photoshop to clean it up:
http://www.nerdist.com/wp-content/uploa ... 052015.jpg

This one is pretty clean, use the Download link to get the higher resolution version:
http://routinedelirium.deviantart.com/a ... -152736255

Says it's Roll20 ready so it could be used in MT as well. Not crazy about the white background and the rez is a little low:
https://imgur.com/ZxaODLq

This is free, but looks to be pretty basic and you might have to put it together:
http://www.rpgnow.com/product/86168/Tom ... rs-Map-Set

And probably the best of the bunch is not free, but it's not terribly expensive either. Very high rez:
http://www.dmsguild.com/product/193006/ ... _0_0_0_0_0

_________________
Maptool is the Millennium Falcon of VTT's -- "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:38 am
Posts: 6
 Post subject: Re: Difference between Image Resource size and grid size.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 12:44 am 
Wow, that is some awesome work with some of those maps. Thanks for posting those. And your comment about the pixels per cell made me look at my map options. The map I was working on was set to what I can only assume is the default of 50. I opened up a new map at double that because everything was double the size and now it all fits according to the labels, so thanks for that tip.

In regards to the maps you linked, while some a very nice maps, I would like to be able to manipulate doors and other objects while playing through it. I don't see how that would be possible with the picture type maps. I did find a map created in MT by the RPTools.net user Galneweinhaw (viewtopic.php?f=8&t=9763) that I would love to get my hands on as it seems to have exactly that functionality, from what I have been able to glean from that post, but the link he provides for the campaign file(s) on the second page is a dead link and his user profiles show that he has not visited the forum in a few years.

It looks like I am going to have to start remaking the map from a blank canvas again, this time at the correct cell size for the art assets.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:31 pm
Posts: 5412
 Post subject: Re: Difference between Image Resource size and grid size.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:38 am 
Polish-Jack wrote:
Wow, that is some awesome work with some of those maps. Thanks for posting those. And your comment about the pixels per cell made me look at my map options. The map I was working on was set to what I can only assume is the default of 50.


Yea.. bad assumption. There is no required size. Maptool will support whatever grid size you have artwork for. I know some people who have created their own artwork and used 200px grid squares for the resolution to zoom WAAAY in.

Generally, it depends upon your users(if remote) and your GM's internet speeds for upload/download and hard drive space as to what is the best option to use. For people like me who use Maptool on a projector with all LOCAL players, 200 would be fine if I had the artwork as there is never anything being sent or received anywhere. For those with really crappy internet, 50, 75 or 100 is best. One issue you will find is that most artwork is designed for a specific resolution(IIRC, Torstan has both 50 and 100 px objects, but I could be remembering wrong), so you will either need to downsize stuff to all match(which is easy for a few items, not so much for large numbers at a time) or do some manual monkeying in MapTool(but this only affects the displayed size, the FILE SIZE is still the large one, so if the original image actually IS 200 px per inch, you should actually edit in Paint or GIMP or PS to reduce the size VS just shrinking in Maptool so you reduce the file size as well!)

_________________
I save all my Campaign Files to DropBox. Not only can I access a campaign file from pretty much any OS that will run Maptool(Win,OSX, linux), but each file is versioned, so if something goes crazy wild, I can always roll back to a previous version of the same file.

Get your Dropbox 2GB via my referral link, and as a bonus, I get an extra 250 MB of space. Even if you don't don't use my link, I still enthusiastically recommend Dropbox..


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman