Page 1 of 1

Bug: Start new encounter

Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 8:52 am
by dorpond
I started a new encounter and the list of combatants vanished.
I got this in the Java Console:

TinyLaF v1.3.03
'Default.theme' not found - using YQ default theme.
Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NullPointerException
at net.rptools.inittool.ui.InitToolActions.enableActions(Unknown Source)
at net.rptools.inittool.ui.InitToolActions.valueChanged(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultListSelectionModel.fireValueChanged(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultListSelectionModel.fireValueChanged(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultListSelectionModel.fireValueChanged(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultListSelectionModel.removeIndexInterval(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicListUI$Handler.intervalRemoved(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractListModel.fireIntervalRemoved(Unknown Source)
at net.rptools.inittool.model.InitEncounter.startEncounter(Unknown Source)
at net.rptools.inittool.ui.InitToolActions$5.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.doClick(Unknown Source)
at de.muntjak.tinylookandfeel.TinyMenuItemUI.doClick(TinyMenuItemUI.java:569)
at de.muntjak.tinylookandfeel.TinyMenuItemUI$MouseInputHandler.mouseReleased(TinyMenuItemUI.java:421)
at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.mouseReleased(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)

Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 9:00 am
by dorpond
OK, I think I figured out why.

I removed the Default Init Tool from the game settings because I didn't think I needed it since I also loaded Init Tool Default D&D.

Jay, if we need Default Init Tool for InitTool to function properly, I wouldn't allow the user to delete it. Actually, I probably wouldn't even have it on THAT list at all; either hard code it or if that will screw up with other game systems, put it on a different list all togehter.

I can see people deleting it after loading the D&D list like I did. Maybe you can append the needed default name with (Do not delete this rule)

Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:15 pm
by jay
dorpond wrote:OK, I think I figured out why.

I removed the Default Init Tool from the game settings because I didn't think I needed it since I also loaded Init Tool Default D&D.

Jay, if we need Default Init Tool for InitTool to function properly, I wouldn't allow the user to delete it. Actually, I probably wouldn't even have it on THAT list at all; either hard code it or if that will screw up with other game systems, put it on a different list all togehter.

I can see people deleting it after loading the D&D list like I did. Maybe you can append the needed default name with (Do not delete this rule)
You do not need Default Init Tool. It is there for people who aren't running a D&D encounter. When you do switch game settings it does create a new encounter and a new group, since the properties are not likely to be the same between different games. If the encounter was a new one or had been changed it should ask you if you want to save it before it clears it. If it does not, that is a bug.

Re: Bug: Start new encounter

Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:19 pm
by jay
dorpond wrote:I started a new encounter and the list of combatants vanished.
I got this in the Java Console:

TinyLaF v1.3.03
'Default.theme' not found - using YQ default theme.
Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NullPointerException
at net.rptools.inittool.ui.InitToolActions.enableActions(Unknown Source)
at net.rptools.inittool.ui.InitToolActions.valueChanged(Unknown Source)
I've not been able to recreate this, so could you give me a little more information? I know that it has to do with a start encounter, but what settings were you using? What items did you have loaded? Is this still happening to you? Thanks

Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 3:55 pm
by dorpond
I am 100% convinced that all of my problems today stemmed from not having the right list loaded and having older prefs from older versions loaded.

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 1:16 am
by jay
I found this bug (finally :)). It will be fixed in build 17.