RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 6:11 am 






Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
User avatar  Offline
RPTools Team
 
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:05 pm
Posts: 5496
Location: Buffalo, NY
 Post subject: Bug: Click Edit in Custom Properties
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 9:10 am 
I didn't add any custom properties but I was looking for a way to load them into InitTool (if it is even possible). While I was poking around, I clicked the edit button without having anything in the list and I got this in the Java Console:

TinyLaF v1.3.03
'Default.theme' not found - using YQ default theme.
Exception occurred during event dispatching:
java.lang.NullPointerException
at net.rptools.inittool.ui.game.CustomPropertyController$ListController.getName(Unknown Source)
at net.rptools.inittool.ui.game.CustomPropertyController$ListController.getName(Unknown Source)
at net.rptools.inittool.component.ListItemEditorController.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicButtonListener.mouseReleased(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Dialog$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Dialog$2.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.awt.Dialog.show(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.show(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.setVisible(Unknown Source)
at net.rptools.inittool.component.RPDialog.setVisible(Unknown Source)
at net.rptools.inittool.ui.InitToolActions$47$1.done(Unknown Source)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker$5.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 7:56 pm
Posts: 6300
Location: Las Cruces, NM
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 9:14 am 
Just so you know, custom properties are saved and loaded with the Game Settings.

_________________
Call me, Hex Boy.

Visit http://www.darkisle.com for photos of castles, cairns, standing stones, and other ancient sites in the British Isles.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
RPTools Team
 
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:05 pm
Posts: 5496
Location: Buffalo, NY
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 9:36 am 
Yeah, I kind of figured that but I see no way to load a default list.

I currently have nothing in my list at all - do I need to manually add them all? Also, could this be the reason why I do not see any custom properties for the D&D lookup monsters?

I am have debating if I should just remove the whole InitTool directory and do a fresh install but maybe this is good feedback for Jay so I won't do that yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Great Wyrm
 
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 5:50 am
Posts: 1897
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 9:46 am 
Can you create a new directory and install a fresh version there? Then it might be possible to figure out if this behaviour is due to old files left behind.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
RPTools Team
 
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:05 pm
Posts: 5496
Location: Buffalo, NY
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 9:51 am 
Actually, I use the Webstart so yeah, I could just download the zipped version and run it from there.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
RPTools Team
 
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:05 pm
Posts: 5496
Location: Buffalo, NY
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 10:01 am 
Nope, even when running from a different folder, it remembered all my previous settings so that is telling me it must be looking in my existing InitTool folder in my user profile.

Perhaps I will rename that folder and try again. I want to see how InitTool is supposed to run. Drat, I can't rename a .initttool folder..


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 7:56 pm
Posts: 6300
Location: Las Cruces, NM
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:13 am 
dorpond wrote:
Yeah, I kind of figured that but I see no way to load a default list.

You have to use the Open button while you have the correct Game Settings file selected in the list.

dorpond wrote:
I currently have nothing in my list at all - do I need to manually add them all?

Nope. Just do the above.

dorpond wrote:
Also, could this be the reason why I do not see any custom properties for the D&D lookup monsters?

Yes. Until you have a list of Custom Properties the Add Combatants dialog doesn't know what properties to display.

It shouldn't be affecting you but you could delete all the old prefs stored in the registry.

Close IT and use regedit to delete this key and its subkeys:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\JavaSoft\Prefs\/R/P/Tools\/Init/Tool

And of course deleting the .inittool folder under C:\Documents and Settings\<your username>\

That would take you back to a new user experience.

_________________
Call me, Hex Boy.

Visit http://www.darkisle.com for photos of castles, cairns, standing stones, and other ancient sites in the British Isles.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
RPTools Team
 
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:07 am
Posts: 1748
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:48 am 
torstan wrote:
Can you create a new directory and install a fresh version there? Then it might be possible to figure out if this behaviour is due to old files left behind.
I store a lot of settings in java preferences and the default files in the user directory. Just installing to a new directory doesn't help all that much. To reset everything on Windows you have to delete the directories C:\Documents and Settings\username\.inittool and C:\Documents and Settings\username\RPTools. Then run regedit and delete this key 'HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\JavaSoft\Prefs\net\rptools\inittool'. Be careful with regedit, messing up the registry could be very very bad.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
RPTools Team
 
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:07 am
Posts: 1748
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:56 am 
dorpond wrote:
Yeah, I kind of figured that but I see no way to load a default list.

I currently have nothing in my list at all - do I need to manually add them all? Also, could this be the reason why I do not see any custom properties for the D&D lookup monsters?

I am have debating if I should just remove the whole InitTool directory and do a fresh install but maybe this is good feedback for Jay so I won't do that yet.
It is good feedback, thanks for suffering through with me :)


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
RPTools Team
 
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:07 am
Posts: 1748
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject: Re: Bug: Click Edit in Custom Properties
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:05 pm 
dorpond wrote:
I didn't add any custom properties but I was looking for a way to load them into InitTool (if it is even possible). While I was poking around, I clicked the edit button without having anything in the list and I got this in the Java Console:

TinyLaF v1.3.03
'Default.theme' not found - using YQ default theme.
Exception occurred during event dispatching:
java.lang.NullPointerException
at net.rptools.inittool.ui.game.CustomPropertyController$ListController.getName(Unknown Source)
I'm having problems recreating this. Could you give me a little more info? The steps you took, the game settings you had loaded, etc. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
RPTools Team
 
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:05 pm
Posts: 5496
Location: Buffalo, NY
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 3:59 pm 
Again; probably related to the fact that nothing was loaded by default and older preferences were loading from versions of old.

I really think that you should have an option under help (kinda like Maptool) to RESET ALL FACTORY SETTINGS. This way we know we are getting a fresh InitTool. It would basically wipe out that registry setting and/or other things you think to make it factory reset.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
RPTools Team
 
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:07 am
Posts: 1748
Location: Austin, Tx
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 4:34 pm 
dorpond wrote:
Again; probably related to the fact that nothing was loaded by default and older preferences were loading from versions of old.

I really think that you should have an option under help (kinda like Maptool) to RESET ALL FACTORY SETTINGS. This way we know we are getting a fresh InitTool. It would basically wipe out that registry setting and/or other things you think to make it factory reset.
I've already created the tracker. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there are 0 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 0 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman