RPTools.net

Discussion and Support

Skip to content

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:23 pm 






Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 4:43 am
Posts: 13
 Post subject: Veggiesama bug?
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 5:04 am 
Hi,

I'm wondering if there's a bug in the Veggiesama framework.
I've tried to make a Thwarting Shot macro. But every time I run it, I get a StackOverflowError.

I've tried increasing the stack size (10m, 14m, 16m, 50m) with no luck. Looking at the stack trace, it looks like there's an infinite loop over the following functions:

at java.util.regex.Pattern$GroupTail.match(Pattern.java:4227)
at java.util.regex.Pattern$BranchConn.match(Pattern.java:4078)
at java.util.regex.Pattern$CharProperty.match(Pattern.java:3345)
at java.util.regex.Pattern$Branch.match(Pattern.java:4114)
at java.util.regex.Pattern$GroupHead.match(Pattern.java:4168)
at java.util.regex.Pattern$Loop.match(Pattern.java:4295)
at java.util.regex.Pattern$GroupTail.match(Pattern.java:4227)

Curiously, it seems to be the combination of "Use primary attack?" and "associated states" that cause the error. If I remove either one of these, the error disappears.

I'm running this on a mac. Latest OS with all updates.
veg 2.31 and maptools b74


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 12:18 am
Posts: 756
 Post subject: Re: Veggiesama bug?
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 1:48 pm 
Right-click on the token and save it, then attach it to a post. I'd like to see it.

_________________
My D&D 4e Campaign FrameworkMy Shadowrun 4e Campaign Framework
RPGA#: 5223846427 — Skype: Veggiesama — Fear the ferret.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 4:43 am
Posts: 13
 Post subject: Re: Veggiesama bug?
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 8:34 am 
Here it is.

The problem power is Thwarting Shot.

A similar bug seems to present itself if I ask a power to repeat itself more than 1 time.


Problem token.rptok [107.94 KiB]
Downloaded 70 times
Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 12:18 am
Posts: 756
 Post subject: Re: Veggiesama bug?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:14 pm 
Unfortunately, I can't replicate the problem. I can do your Thwarting Shot with 10 repetitions and a supplement power. Takes a little while, but it eventually spits out the results.

Stack overflows are notoriously hard to pin down, since what works on my system might not work on yours. A friend of mine on a Mac tried to use my Shadowrun framework and ran into similar stack overflows, whereas the PC users did not. Since I know my Shadowrun framework is nowhere near as intensive as the D&D framework, we decided at the time to blame the Mac.

Sorry, not what you want to hear. =\

Any Mac users have any insight into this?

_________________
My D&D 4e Campaign FrameworkMy Shadowrun 4e Campaign Framework
RPGA#: 5223846427 — Skype: Veggiesama — Fear the ferret.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 10:41 pm
Posts: 118
Location: Boise, ID
 Post subject: Re: Veggiesama bug?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:44 am 
Give me a chance to duplicate. I run a pretty powerful mac, and can also run a VM and compare to windows.

On a side note, Vegglesama, how do you get that nice "stat" or "power" window/frame to come up in your framework, I saw it in your screen shot. I can't seem to figure out where to bring that window up. The title showing in the frame is "Shielding Smite". Thanks.

_________________
--DOC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Kobold
 
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 4:43 am
Posts: 13
 Post subject: Solved
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 4:10 am 
Solved!

Okay, I found the cause of the problem:
I wasn't increasing my stack size after all. I was doing something else that had no effect on the stack size.

In the mac download for MapTools, there does not appear to be a "LaunchMapTool-OSX.command" file. It also seems that the default stack size is set to only 4M. The correct procedure for editing the stack size seems to be as follows:

1) Navigate to your MapTool application
2) Control (or right) click on the application and select "Show Package Contents"
3) In the window that opens, double click the "Contents" folder
4) Edit the "Info.plist" file
5) Search for the line that reads "<string>-Xss4m -Xms32m -Xmx768m</string>"
6) Replace "-Xss4m" with "-Xss10m"
7) Save the file and launch MapTools

I would suggest that the MapTools devs implement a more user-friendly means of editing the stack size for macs. Or if there is already one, that they make it more obvious ;)


Last edited by mystara on Wed Oct 06, 2010 4:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 12:18 am
Posts: 756
 Post subject: Re: Veggiesama bug?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 4:11 am 
Doc_Waldo wrote:
Give me a chance to duplicate. I run a pretty powerful mac, and can also run a VM and compare to windows.

Please do. My framework is really mean to Macs for some reason.

Doc_Waldo wrote:
On a side note, Vegglesama, how do you get that nice "stat" or "power" window/frame to come up in your framework, I saw it in your screen shot. I can't seem to figure out where to bring that window up. The title showing in the frame is "Shielding Smite". Thanks.

Click on one of your character's power macros and press OK. Then you'll see the name of the power as a link in the chat. Click the link to open up a new power frame. You can then dock that frame in MapTool anywhere you want.

_________________
My D&D 4e Campaign FrameworkMy Shadowrun 4e Campaign Framework
RPGA#: 5223846427 — Skype: Veggiesama — Fear the ferret.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Dragon
 
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 12:18 am
Posts: 756
 Post subject: Re: Solved
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 4:12 am 
mystara wrote:
Solved!

Excellent. Thank you, mystara. I'm going to put a link to your post in the FAQ for other mac users.

_________________
My D&D 4e Campaign FrameworkMy Shadowrun 4e Campaign Framework
RPGA#: 5223846427 — Skype: Veggiesama — Fear the ferret.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Giant
 
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 10:41 pm
Posts: 118
Location: Boise, ID
 Post subject: Re: Veggiesama bug?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 4:18 am 
Thanks. Appreciate the help.

Oh, sorry, I should have mentioned the stack change issue. Last week I search and find a spot in the forum where it talked about switching the stack,etc. I misunderstood the problem.

_________________
--DOC


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Deity
 
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:40 am
Posts: 9427
Location: Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Veggiesama bug?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:33 am 
Doc_Waldo wrote:
Give me a chance to duplicate. I run a pretty powerful mac, and can also run a VM and compare to windows.

On a side note, Vegglesama, how do you get that nice "stat" or "power" window/frame to come up in your framework, I saw it in your screen shot. I can't seem to figure out where to bring that window up. The title showing in the frame is "Shielding Smite". Thanks.


its a tooltip. which you can either create automatically by turning it on in the MT settings, or create yourself by using e.g. formattooltip

_________________
GETTING STARTED WITH MAPTOOLS - TUTORIALS, DOCS, VIDEOS, TOOLS, ETC

My stuff
Excel Tools: Table and Light editors
MT Tools: Bag of Tricks: Tools for Maptool, Dungeon Builder I, Dungeon Builder II,onMouseOverEvent and
DPI.
Frameworks: Dark Heresy, Rogue Trader, Deathwatch, Black Crusade, Only War, SET Card Game, RoboRally
Wiki: Debugging Tutorial, Speed Up Your Macros, Working With Two CODE Levels, Shortcut Keys, Avoiding Stack Overflow, READ THIS


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 243 on Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:14 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund

Style by Elizabeth Shulman