MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 82 (1.3-RC5)

New build announcements plus site news and changes.

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei, Craig

User avatar
francogp
Cave Troll
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: Mordor

Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 82 (1.3-RC5)

Post by francogp »

heres 2 bugs. they apear when i try to drag tokens or impersonate them (i dont know how to reproduce them).

Code: Select all

java.util.ConcurrentModificationException
	at java.util.HashMap$HashIterator.nextEntry(Unknown Source)
	at java.util.HashMap$ValueIterator.next(Unknown Source)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.ui.zone.ZoneView.getDrawableLights(ZoneView.java:332)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.ui.zone.ZoneRenderer.renderLights(ZoneRenderer.java:1144)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.ui.zone.ZoneRenderer.renderZone(ZoneRenderer.java:985)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.ui.zone.ZoneRenderer.paintComponent(ZoneRenderer.java:702)
	at javax.swing.JComponent.paint(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.JComponent.paint(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.JComponent.paintToOffscreen(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.RepaintManager$PaintManager.paintDoubleBuffered(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.RepaintManager$PaintManager.paint(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.RepaintManager.paint(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.JComponent._paintImmediately(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.JComponent.paintImmediately(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.RepaintManager.paintDirtyRegions(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.RepaintManager.paintDirtyRegions(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.RepaintManager.seqPaintDirtyRegions(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.SystemEventQueueUtilities$ComponentWorkRequest.run(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.swing.MapToolEventQueue.dispatchEvent(MapToolEventQueue.java:25)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
-------------------------------

Code: Select all

java.awt.IllegalComponentStateException: component must be showing on the screen to determine its location
	at java.awt.Component.getLocationOnScreen_NoTreeLock(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.Component.getLocationOnScreen(Unknown Source)
	at javax.swing.JPopupMenu.show(Unknown Source)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.ui.TokenPopupMenu.showPopup(TokenPopupMenu.java:497)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.ui.MapToolFrame$3$1.run(MapToolFrame.java:930)
	at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
	at net.rptools.maptool.client.swing.MapToolEventQueue.dispatchEvent(MapToolEventQueue.java:25)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)

User avatar
Azhrei
Site Admin
Posts: 12086
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:20 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 82 (1.3-RC5)

Post by Azhrei »

PinkRose wrote:Meta-shift-L
According to your list, that's not being used.
Okay, I've made that change. Anyone with source can update to revision 5611 to test it out.
Select a Vision Blocking Layer Tool, Any tool.
If you draw from anywhere on the map but the top left it draws fine, The crosshair shows up.
However, if you move the cursor to the top left, the crosshair changes into a standard arrow.
It will always turn into a mouse pointer, whether you start the VBL in the top left or end up there.
Hm, I'll check that out.

Edit: I see that dorpond has confirmed it.
jfrazierjr wrote:Dorpond, are you using Dev or b82? Didn't Azhrei just make changes to this code in the past few days(I can't remember if it was before or after the build of b82)?
Yeah, I think he's probably using the fixed code. Too bad we can't get anyone else to test what has already been checked into SVN... ;)
francogp wrote:heres 2 bugs. they apear when i try to drag tokens or impersonate them (i dont know how to reproduce them).

Code: Select all

java.util.ConcurrentModificationException
I have no idea how this could happen. The code being referenced at the time (ZoneView.java, line 332) is one location of only four that access the variable in question. I suppose it's possible that the rendering pipeline (the method where the exception occurred is part of that thread) could be executed simultaneously with a flush() request from another machine and that could cause the problem. But since I have no context as to what was going on at the time, any further analysis is conjecture.

Code: Select all

java.awt.IllegalComponentStateException: component must be showing on the screen to determine its location
This one is similar. It happens when the right-click popup menu attempts to be displayed but there's no GUI component to attach it to. Normally, for this particular exception, it would be attached to the JTree structure that is in the MapExplorer. Somehow you were able to trigger a right-click popup menu on the tree structure when the tree structure wasn't visible. I have no idea how that's possible. I've added some code to catch this situation and add extra information into the log file. Perhaps if it happens again that information will be enough to help track it down. Since the tree isn't visible, I suppose it could just be ignored too. But since I have no context as to what was going on at the time...

User avatar
Azhrei
Site Admin
Posts: 12086
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:20 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 82 (1.3-RC5)

Post by Azhrei »

PinkRose wrote:New or old campaign.
Select a Vision Blocking Layer Tool, Any tool.
If you draw from anywhere on the map but the top left it draws fine, The crosshair shows up.
However, if you move the cursor to the top left, the crosshair changes into a standard arrow.
This is fixed in SVN. It had to do with the typing notification panel not being visible but still absorbing the mouse events for entering and exiting the window.

Some other recent fixes:

--

Changes to the way grid cells are queried to determine whether a token can be moved into one. This was two separate patches applied individually. Required changing the API for adding/querying waypoints when dragging tokens.

Fix for token labels and distances not appearing in some circumstances when moving a token.

Lots of keys added to the translation files, plus more/better comments regarding how to do a translation.

Added Meta-Shift-L for locking player movement (global menu option, not the option on the initiative panel).

The performance monitoring tool now writes to log.txt if enabled via the XML configuration files.

Added handling of ConversionException errors so that loading XML files that are not understood produces a nicer error message.

Sorted light sources on the right-click menu (including auras). Tried to handle entries that start with digits intelligently by sorting them numerically, but it's rather fragile. What's really needed is a different data structure but that's way too much work. :|

--

I've had some family stuff going on this past week, but I'm going to try to get the last two bugs ironed out: some fog issues, and constraining the width/height ratio when resizing rotated tokens (badly broken currently). RC5 came out on Jan 22nd and it may be the end of the week before these other things are resolved, so I might do an RC6 build Monday (today) so people can try out some of the fixes. I'll get the ChangeLog updated later today as well, as some of these more recent fixes haven't been added to it yet. But it's after 3AM and I'm going to bed. More later. 8)

teejaydub
Cave Troll
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 82 (1.3-RC5)

Post by teejaydub »

Azhrei wrote:I've had some family stuff going on this past week, but I'm going to try to get the last two bugs ironed out: some fog issues, and constraining the width/height ratio when resizing rotated tokens (badly broken currently). RC5 came out on Jan 22nd and it may be the end of the week before these other things are resolved, so I might do an RC6 build Monday (today) so people can try out some of the fixes. I'll get the ChangeLog updated later today as well, as some of these more recent fixes haven't been added to it yet. But it's after 3AM and I'm going to bed. More later. 8)
Thank you very much, sir! Your dedication reminds me that I haven't donated in a while, so I'm going to go fix that.

User avatar
JonathanTheBlack
Dragon
Posts: 544
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 12:12 pm
Location: I'm the worm...

Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 82 (1.3-RC5)

Post by JonathanTheBlack »

Time to start a pool for which RC will be the last!

User avatar
thecyberwolfe
Dragon
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:57 pm
Location: The Great Wet North

Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 82 (1.3-RC5)

Post by thecyberwolfe »

JonathanTheBlack wrote:Time to start a pool for which RC will be the last!
Meh - it's been done :)

http://forums.rptools.net/viewtopic.php?t=5453
The Cyberwolfe
----------------
Them: "Name one thing a PC can do that a Mac can't!"
Me: "Right-click."

User avatar
JonathanTheBlack
Dragon
Posts: 544
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 12:12 pm
Location: I'm the worm...

Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 82 (1.3-RC5)

Post by JonathanTheBlack »

I know, I saw the thread. It probably shouldn't have ended since b63 wasn't the latest stable release. :D

User avatar
Azhrei
Site Admin
Posts: 12086
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:20 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 82 (1.3-RC5)

Post by Azhrei »

JonathanTheBlack wrote:I know, I saw the thread. It probably shouldn't have ended since b63 wasn't the latest stable release. :D
Actually, it as b66 that won the pool.

And we really were hoping it would stay there. But people find bugs and so we try to fix them. Sigh. :roll:

I won't have much time to work on MT this week so I'm thinking of doing RC6 tonight. There have been about a half-dozen bug fixes added so far and I'd like people to be able to try them out. But I won't be able to work more on the last two (the ones that are really holding up "Final") until next week, most likely.

User avatar
toyrobots
Dragon
Posts: 278
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 4:17 pm

Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 82 (1.3-RC5)

Post by toyrobots »

Anyone else experiencing weirdness with object rotation in b82?

CTRL-SHIFT-MouseWheel works fine, but the 45 degree movement from just SHIFT+MouseWheel locks up at the same degree (looks like 0 or 90 maybe) every time.

User avatar
Azhrei
Site Admin
Posts: 12086
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:20 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 82 (1.3-RC5)

Post by Azhrei »

toyrobots wrote:CTRL-SHIFT-MouseWheel works fine, but the 45 degree movement from just SHIFT+MouseWheel locks up at the same degree (looks like 0 or 90 maybe) every time.
Hm, first I've heard of this. And I've been playing with the rotate/resize of objects quite a bit lately as prep for b83 (but none of that code is checked into SVN yet as it's pretty broken right now).

It is broken on a brand new campaign with an image dropped on it? (Not an RPTOK, just a normal image.)

(Just tested: works fine here using the code in SVN.)

User avatar
CoveredInFish
Demigod
Posts: 3104
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:37 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 82 (1.3-RC5)

Post by CoveredInFish »

Are you sure you have both "On Edges" and "On Vertices" checked in the preferences -> Facing?

User avatar
toyrobots
Dragon
Posts: 278
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 4:17 pm

Re: MapTool 1.3 Release Candidate Build 82 (1.3-RC5)

Post by toyrobots »

That's probably it, I recall screwing with that now. False alarm! Sorry folks.

Post Reply

Return to “Announcements”