Adventure editor tool

Show off your RPG maps, campaigns, and tokens. Share your gaming experiences and stories under General Discussion and save this forum for things you've created that may help others run their own games. Use the subforums when appropriate.

Moderators: dorpond, trevor, Azhrei, Gamerdude

User avatar
wolph42
Winter Wolph
Posts: 9999
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:40 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Adventure editor tool

Post by wolph42 »

ok, the merger with the Bag of Tricks is done: http://forums.rptools.net/viewtopic.php ... 48#p259748

Biggest changes are:
- I've automated a title correction for frames that are incompatible with the title function.
- I've added a RADIO setting for the room descriptions:
1. send to chat (default);
2. force view on players screen;
3. do both.

the rest of the changes are described hereabove.

Nildik
Cave Troll
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 7:32 pm

Re: Adventure editor tool

Post by Nildik »

wolph42 wrote:
Are you still developing this,or is this finished?
Well, just now I posted a modification... maybe will do more... not sure really.

One thing that still unfinished is the parse of "special characters" like "ñ", that can cause errors, when copy-paste text from a pdf or a web to GM notes.

As well any good idea or feedback... I will try to implement to the code, but for now, don´t comes to my mind anything more.

User avatar
aliasmask
RPTools Team
Posts: 9024
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: Adventure editor tool

Post by aliasmask »

You may want to check out my edit notes function here: http://forums.rptools.net/viewtopic.php ... 56#p259656

It's a barebones example using form submit and writing to textareas. There are some filters you need to apply, although I'm not sure if I put the unicode filter in there. I think if you want to display and pass unicode you need to put an extra parameter in the MapTool start up process.

Nildik
Cave Troll
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 7:32 pm

Re: Adventure editor tool

Post by Nildik »

Full Bleed wrote:
Nildik wrote:Maybe the macros are updated, but I think that the name still the same... lib:frames both... I think...
Basically, I'm wondering if there will be compatibility problems when trying to use both. I doubt that I'm the only person using the original.
I think both are full compatibles because there are only minor changes.

Obiously you can't use a frame that is not in the table... I mean, you can't use frameOpen(15) if you dont have al least 159 entries in the table.

You can use the more entries table with the lib:token named "lib:frames" as well as with the "lib:fancyframes" table.

Nildik
Cave Troll
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 7:32 pm

Re: Adventure editor tool

Post by Nildik »

wolph42 wrote:
Full Bleed wrote:
Nildik wrote:Maybe the macros are updated, but I think that the name still the same... lib:frames both... I think...
It looks like there are a number of changes.

The version I have (probably Wolph's upgrade of your original) is named "lib:fancyframes" with the following macros on it:
yes I did the update. Rewrote a few bits to make it faster and the code a bit leaner. I haven't checked yet but @Nildik: did you use the original frames code or my updates?:
http://forums.rptools.net/viewtopic.php ... 24#p234324
Neither one nor the other. I use a modified version of your modified version... :?
And for now I'm writing another version 164% better and compatible... for more elaborated frames. When I will finish it, I will posted.

Nildik
Cave Troll
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 7:32 pm

Re: Adventure editor tool

Post by Nildik »

wolph42 wrote:for those interested, I've had a rough look at the code. translated most of the code from spanish to english (for better reading) and changed a few small things. Ill probly do more, but for now it works again (as it didn't right after the translation).
Here the link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/rgvy55nogfgcl ... cmpgn?dl=0

changes so far:
- translation and a few typos/grammar thingies
- changed the layout of the code a bit
- added a bit of comment
- removed the zoom buttons for web-images (as apparently they don't work for those)
- replaced the frame open/close code with the updates i did earlier (which also was not much, but easier to read and slightly faster).
- quite a bit of tiny unremarkable tweaks
- in the frames, some types go wrong when using the title option, fixed that for those frames

interesting things: if you're referring to a web image:
- <img src=http://etc.></img> if you leave spaces around the = it does not work (go figure).
- the 'size' option (that is the "-50" at the end of any asset id to indicate its height) does not work for external web images
- the code is really nifty !! kuddos to Nildik

Thanks wolph42. I appreciate your changes, and I change the links to use your modifications.

Nildik
Cave Troll
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 7:32 pm

Re: Adventure editor tool

Post by Nildik »

aliasmask wrote:You may want to check out my edit notes function here: http://forums.rptools.net/viewtopic.php ... 56#p259656

It's a barebones example using form submit and writing to textareas. There are some filters you need to apply, although I'm not sure if I put the unicode filter in there. I think if you want to display and pass unicode you need to put an extra parameter in the MapTool start up process.
Thanks!!

User avatar
wolph42
Winter Wolph
Posts: 9999
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:40 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Adventure editor tool

Post by wolph42 »

@nildik: if you want the code, let me know. on the other hand you can also download the latest bot.rptok file, that contains everything

User avatar
aliasmask
RPTools Team
Posts: 9024
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: Adventure editor tool

Post by aliasmask »

Also, here a thread on adding unicode support to MapTool: http://forums.rptools.net/viewtopic.php ... F8#p253945

You can probably also do a search for utf8 throughout the forums if that doesn't answer all your questions. I don't see how the launcher will allow this, so you may need to start with a batch file.

Code: Select all

java -Xms64M -Xmx2048M -Xss3M -Dfile.encoding="UTF-8" -jar maptool-1.3.b91.jar run

Nin
Cave Troll
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 8:17 am

Re: Adventure editor tool

Post by Nin »

aliasmask wrote:(...)I don't see how the launcher will allow this, so you may need to start with a batch file.(...)
Start the launcher, klick on "Advanced", type in...

Code: Select all

-Dfile.encoding=UTF-8
.
Hit Enter, start Maptool.

Hope this will work and help.

User avatar
aliasmask
RPTools Team
Posts: 9024
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Bay Area

Re: Adventure editor tool

Post by aliasmask »

Nin wrote:
aliasmask wrote:(...)I don't see how the launcher will allow this, so you may need to start with a batch file.(...)
Start the launcher, klick on "Advanced", type in...

Code: Select all

-Dfile.encoding=UTF-8
.
Hit Enter, start Maptool.

Hope this will work and help.
Yep, I recently found that little line hidden there on the Advanced tab, thanks.

Post Reply

Return to “User Creations”